We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bird Nest Backpackers
Ranked #18 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Lusaka
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Been here for two weeks and counting! Bird nest is great whether you are here for a night or a month. The people that work and run the place are extremely helpful and lovely, and the location is petty good, it is in a nice neighbourhood. Beds are comfortable enough, and there is a well stocked bar, a lovely outside television area and a good kitchen with cereal always stocked for breakfast. You can get stuff cooked for you pretty cheap or do it yourself. Also has laundry facilities and warm showers (mostly). The premises is really secure and nice and quiet so if you are staying long term (like me) this place is ideal. I'm here for two months and I couldn't be more happy so far, would definitely recommend this place to anyone and if you are here before mid-September come say hi, I am josh :D

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJJOOSSSHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirdNest S, Owner at Bird Nest Backpackers, responded to this review, 2 June 2015
Hi Josh,

Thanks for the fabulous comments, we were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Lusaka.

Best wishes, Sakala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    6
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
5
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stone Town, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed for two nights just before Bird's Nest was officially opened and were extremely happy with everything while we were there. The staff were helpful, respectful and went out of their way to help us at every possible opportunity. I wish Birds Nest all the best and hope they do well.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starkaloptus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirdNest S, Owner at Bird Nest Backpackers, responded to this review, 2 June 2015
Wow, we are forever grateful for this awesome feedback! It is kinds of comments keep Birdnest driven and aware that we are doing it right. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We do hope you return to Lusaka in the future, to explore further, and look forward to seeing you then.

With warm Regrads,

Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sogndal Municipality, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I stayed here for two nights with 6 friends, after booking through hostelworld.com.
The staff were friendly from day 1 and we had a great stay. The sleep quality wasn't the best the first night ('cause of the pillows) but the place is in a peaceful area and right next to Independence Ave. where you can go for a morning run (the best place to run in Lusaka).
We got offered breakfast and watermelon by the staff, and since they were just starting the backpacker they wanted some tips.
All of us think this is a good place to stay if you're in Lusaka for a short time.
Perfect service, value is the best in Lusaka! If I'm staying in Lusaka again, I will stay here.
Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirdNest S, Owner at Bird Nest Backpackers, responded to this review, 2 June 2015
Thank you so much for your great review of The Birdnest Backpackers. We are so happy you liked our Hostel.
Our guests are the best thing about The Birdnest and we are so glad you thought so too.

We look forward to welcome you on your next visit to Lusaka

Kind Regrads,

Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
2.4 mi away
InterContinental Lusaka
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Lusaka Grand Hotel
3.4 mi away
Cresta Golfview
Cresta Golfview
#9 of 32 in Lusaka
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
#1 of 32 in Lusaka
659 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Zambezi Lodge
Golden Zambezi Lodge
#16 of 32 in Lusaka
1 reviews
2.8 mi away
Southern Sun Ridgeway
Southern Sun Ridgeway
#3 of 32 in Lusaka
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird Nest Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird Nest Backpackers

Property: Bird Nest Backpackers
Address: United Nations Avenue | Plot 413 Independence Avenue, Lusaka 10101, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Lusaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bird Nest Backpackers is newly established backpackers with a mission to satisfy your stay in Lusaka. We welcome you with the warmest Zambian smile. Your comfort and satisfaction during your stay with us is our priority and we will ensure that you leave as a happy guest, that's our promise. We have come to know how tourists are ripped off, especially on safaris. And to Those who are coming for internship at university teaching hospital (U T H) this is the place to stay. we are 2 Kilometers away from the hospital. Next to woodlands shopping Mall. 1 minute O'Hangans Pub (Irish Pub), 7 minutes to Kabulonga Shopping Mall. Government Ministries and Accredited Embassies in Zambia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bird Nest Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing