We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value in Lusaka”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chita Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chita Lodge
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Lusaka
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good value in Lusaka”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

Wow, Lusaka is an expensive place! This place was recommended to us and a welcome change in price (although still not cheap) from the Intercontinental which was very nice but really too expensive. This place had a lovely large room, well decorated, a nice pool, and a nice outdoor bar/restaurant. The plumbing wasn't quite right in the room but I can' t fault them for that because I never complained about it!! Dinner was very nice and we enjoyed meeting some other travelers (also at breakfast). I see from other reviews that people found it noisy but this was NOT our experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisMVSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    13
    7
    10
    3
See reviews for
3
8
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

So, I've traveled to over 20 countries in Africa and have stayed in numerous different kinds of hotels and lodges and guest houses. (You can see some of my other reviews on TripAdvisor to determine my expectations and standards.)

I am still at the Chita Lodge, unfortunately, and really dislike it. I am here for 1 week with 3 colleagues and we are paying USD $122 per night. This rate is supposed to include wifi internet access.

While the lodge looks nice from the outside - with a pretty garden area and small pool - upon closer inspection, the lodge is dirty, old and rundown. The price far exceeds the value and services offered.

I have had ants in my bed for 3 nights in a row (even though they came yesterday, removed and replaces all the sheets, sprayed the entire room and cleaned it again), the light bulbs in my bathroom have been out since I arrived (even though I have asked 3 times to have them fixed), the internet does not work (even though the "technician" tried to fix our laptops), and the DSTV has been down for a day.

Worst of all, the lodge appears to be a local hangout spot and is incredibly loud at all hours of the night. There is a small bar near the pool where many men hang out and drink until very late. They are blasting music and hosting dance parties all night. It's extremely stressful and very disturbing.

The only positive about this lodge is its location. It is right down the road from the Manda Hill Shopping Mall so we can walk to dinner and access the WORKING internet at the internet cafe. Also, the guard is nice and helps us negotiate good taxi fares.

I would never stay here again - spending $188 per night to stay at one of the Protea hotels would be worth it. We would do that but all the Proteas are booked due to a major conference in town this week. In fact, we tried to move our first day here but could not find another available room in town. So, we are stuck here for 3 more nights.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexfi24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lusaka hotels

Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2010

This was our first time in Africa. My husband and I were came here on business. This hotel was booked for us by our sponsors. We did not know what to expect, but were relieved and content upon arriving to the hotel. Our room was clean and spacious. We had a fridge and remote controlled air-conditioner. I don't know how much it costs to stay here, but if it is similar to the Hilton and newer hotels in Lusaka, then don't stay here. If the price is considerably cheaper, then this hotel is great. The location is tucked back in a residential area. There was a guard on duty 24 hours. We never felt unsafe. The room was clean and we did not experience any insects, bugs, or pests. There is one small bar that serves a small selection of food at the hotel. There is a canopy over the bed to protect against mosquitos. We were not in Zambia during the high mosquito season, so that was not an issue for us. We went to Livingston to see Victoria Falls and a safari area. If you have a lot of leisure time, it is worth traveling to Livingston. There are A LOT of high end resorts and hotels there.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crystalite729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

We stayed in Chita lodge over the weekend after a trip in Zambia.

Rooms are clean and the lodge has a friendly atmosphere. The Chita bar and pool however seem to be public. The place therefore is extremely busy and noisy, with drinking guests till late night. Not really a peaceful environment and place to relax.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adriaandenbakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2008

We had two nights in Lusaka before travelling on to Luangwa National Park and wanted a place away but not too far from the centre. Chita Lodge was recommended by one guide, but got mixed reviews from the two citations on tripadvisor, so we were a lttle apprehensive. We thought it very pleasant, staff helpful (maybe a little shy & reserved at first, but that's understandable) and although the rooms were quite spartan, they were clean and - important enough - the A/C and mosquito nets worked. Garden and swimming pool/bar area great place to relax and food OK - pleasant local ambience, even including a Zambian wedding reception. A far better place to stay than supposedly fancy "intercontinental" hotels!

  • Liked — Friendly laid-back atmosphere, out of town centre
  • Disliked — Noisy A/C
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2008

Chita Lodge is not cheap, we paid $130 for a nights stay. The room was spartan to say the least, staff poorly trained and the food so-so to poor. This does not meet western standards of comfort or service you would expect for this price. Best avoided.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Service and room
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ohenedjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2008

While arranging a trip to Zambia, I had great difficulty finding a centrally-located hotel in Lusaka that wouldn't break the bank. (We were flying through Lusaka on the way to Victoria Falls, and weren't planning to spend much time there.) The Chita Lodge turned out to be a great find! Rooms were around $100/night for a room with two double beds. Furnishings were simple but comfortable with lots of animal print decor, room had satelite TV, fridge, and AC. The biggest bonus of the place, however, is a wonderful pool and bar/restaurant area - it was quiet, peaceful, food was excellent, and there was a nice locale clientele who drifted in and out and were very frlendly. We also found the hotel staff to be extremely helpful.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SkyeSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
2.8 mi away
Cresta Golfview
Cresta Golfview
#9 of 31 in Lusaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.9 mi away
Southern Sun Ridgeway
Southern Sun Ridgeway
#3 of 31 in Lusaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lusaka Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Goldenzambezi Hotel Lodge
Goldenzambezi Hotel Lodge
#14 of 31 in Lusaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chamba Valley Exotic Hotel
1.7 mi away
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
#2 of 31 in Lusaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chita Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chita Lodge

Property: Chita Lodge
Address: 25 Chakeluka Rd., Lusaka, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Lusaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chita Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing