We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice central place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pedling Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Thimphu
Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice central place”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Room are good size, clean & the hotel is very centrally located. You can walk down to main market anytime. Staff is very hospitable, courteous & always there to help you with your demands. The best thing is that food is superb. The only negative point I can think that there is no lift, so if you choose higher floors you have to use stairs.

Room Tip: First floor rooms as there is no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    87
    38
    6
    2
See reviews for
25
32
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El calafate
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel last night, the foyer was very attractive got to our room 108 which was also well renovated and soft bed. We remembered someone saying discotheque night was Wednesday and tori day in Thimphu. Low and behold we looked out of the window and there was the entrance to the club., we then changed room to 101which was on the corner of both roads. Not as good small beds, smaller room next to the road but thought would be possibly better. We were very wrong, cars, dogs, people until at least 3..00am.
The service was good and the resturant served good food,so if you want great nights sleep do not come here,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heleca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel on several occasions, this place always treats me well, any time I travel to Bhutan. They've undergone renovation, and now the hotel has really a much higher standard than before, also I think the staff must have undergone some training, overall improved a lot. Not to forget that the location in the very centre couldn't be better. That's why I give it 5 stars and keep going back there.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SangyeDorje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at Pedling Hotel on our honeymoon and we just loved this place.

The hotel has the most picturesque and idyllic location.The room was cosy and spotlessly clean with a modern décor, Breakfast was a feast with our choice of lots of variety.

I definitely recommend this place to stay and enjoy the sojourn to Bhutan.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeetiMittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights - our first stop in Bhutan in mid April. Location is very central - literally on the high street in Thimpu. All shops and restaurants are a short walk away. We had a corner room on the third floor. No lifts so the climb can be a bit of a pain. The room was large, spotlessly clean as were the room and bathroom linen. Very basic toiletries available, if u aren't carrying your own. LCD TV. Helpful staff and very reasonably priced. Would certainly use and recommend the hotel. We didn't eat in the hotel at all, preferring instead to eat at different places on the high street. Not having a safe is inconvenient, but none of the hotels in Bhutan seem to offer one. Would say it's a decent 3 star hotel and very good value for money. Stayed on a Friday and Saturday night. First night sleep was brilliant. Second night - we were woken up constantly by .....not dogs.....but incessant groups of drunks stumbling out in phases from some place outside. Great mountain views from our room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shikhaDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Centrally located in the heart of Capital City, Hotel Pedling is the best hotel we could find at affordable price for normal tourist like me. I stayed their for two nights on March 2014 with my two friends, The rooms are need and clean with big TV, continuous hot shower, great view from the room. Food was better than any other hotel that we used during our tour.(esp, buffet Breakfast is supper) Staffs are helpful and lovely. Free WIFI even in the rooms are just what travelers need it to connect with friends and family's back at home. It just take 2 minutes of time to reach near by handicraft for shopping.
overall i loved all but maintenance work was going on which was disturbing us sometime but nothing much since they are working hard to provide better service. Thumps up to the management for such hard work you are putting in to meet the tourist need. I will definitely visit again and use your hotel.
thanks.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Pedling hotel was our first stay in Bhutan and the standard was set high. It's a standard hotel with 5 star service. We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel. The meals there were excellent breakfast consist if juice, toast, eggs (made to your specification), cereal, tea or coffee. Dinner consist of soup to start then 4-5 different dishes and a big bowl of rice. Dessert at the end. More than we can eat. What made them different instead of buffet style they service us at our table. I notice everyone had the dishes but individually served. Their meals were the best compare to all the other places.
The rooms decent size, nice and clean. Bathroom alittle worn but everything worked. Internet was in the room and worked great.
The service by the staff were great. Always ready to answer questions or serve us tea.
Location was great. Easy to get anywhere in Thimphu. We walked around to hit some of the local shops and souvenir shops. Overall the best hotel for us in Bhutan all around.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thimphu
0.3 mi away
Hotel Norbuling
Hotel Norbuling
#4 of 36 in Thimphu
321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Osel
Osel
#6 of 36 in Thimphu
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Thimphu Towers
Hotel Thimphu Towers
#2 of 36 in Thimphu
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taj Tashi
Taj Tashi
#3 of 36 in Thimphu
702 reviews
14.9 mi away
Olathang Hotel
Olathang Hotel
#8 of 17 in Paro
312 reviews
14.2 mi away
Gangtey Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedling Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedling Hotel & Spa

Property: Pedling Hotel & Spa
Address: Norzin Lam, Near Swiss Bakery | P.O.Box # 976, Thimphu, Bhutan
Region: Bhutan > Thimphu District > Thimphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Thimphu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedling Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the business and shopping areas of Thimphu, Hotel Pedling is one of Thimphu's most popular hotels for international travelers- a superior first-class hotel built on "comfort and convenience" as its base. The Pedling Hotel is ideally located and caters both business and leisure travelers, with modern contemporary design incorporating tasteful local art to provide a healthy and comfortable living environment for hotel guests with the highest expectations and standards. Our staff is geared to foster high levels of customer retention, through understanding customer needs and providing genuine courtesy and service. The concept of Pedling’s authentic and genuine Bhutanese hospitality is deeply rooted in local values, at the heart of the customer offering. The passion for protecting the environment through the "PEDLING Green," program together with a commitment to promoting healthy living also form the cornerstones of core values. Hotel Pedling is owned by a Buddhist Institute and all proceeds from the hotel go to meeting the daily expenses of 400 monks at Gangteng Sangha Chholing Monastery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and BhutanBookings so you can book your Pedling Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing