We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“staff are nice,”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ro-Chog Pel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ro-Chog Pel Hotel
Ranked #10 of 27 Thimphu B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“staff are nice,”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

This is a very good hotel but you can still categorize this hotel into a budget hotel as per their pricing. The good thing about this hotel is that it is very centrally located. After your work you can stroll the Thimphu main street up and down in the evening till the shops and restaurants close. You can opt to. my tour company booked at this hotel from Nepal, place is good & perfect sleep,

Room Tip: room front side,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    9
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

the hotel is simple but clean and very nice. We stayed for two nights in the suite that has living room and spacious bathroom. Despite the cold weather outside, the room was so warm and cozy. The staffs are friendly and very helpful.

If I go back to Thimphu, i will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I recommend staying in the suite. Its a lot bigger and nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maewmii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

This hotel was disappointing. Rooms are characterless and lacking in amenities - no cupboard or wardrobe, no handtowels, no shower curtain. We asked for dinner at 7.30pm but at 7pm were phoned in our room and asked to come down to eat. Nevertheless we had a drink before dinner and saw another group also being harrassed to eat. When we did eat it was the least good meal we had in Bhutan - very overdone chicken, undercooked vegetables etc and breakfast was no better. There was a conference in the hotel at the time and I think this hotel is perhaps more geared to conferences than tourists. It is better to stay in Thimpu itself as the hotel has no amenities and there is nothing to do after you have been rushed through your dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

Amazing property, nicely & newly build with bhutanese architecture. Suite rooms are very spacious . Comfortable beds to sleep. Nice view from rooms. Food was excellent ,service was exceptional. Owner of resort took us for nice trek to monastery. We had a wonderful stay in this resort. Would recommend ,if somebody wants to stay away from town.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dimpleNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

I stayed two nights in April, 2013, had a fabulous view from my window in a clean and spacious room. Food was excellent - by far the best I had in Bhutan - and the staff were incredibly friendly and accomadating. Walking distance to the city gate and a large stupa where each morning I met local and expats doing their morning prayers and exercises.

Room Tip: Top floor room had amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank divinedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

The hotel is not within Thimphu but just outside the city limits. It's kinda convenient if you are coming from Paro Airport because it is along the way. It is built on a hillside and the views from the rooms are limited. However, the staff there were very friendly and they agreed to bring a group of us up to a nearby monastery at 6am in the morning. The food there was not bad. Selection was limited as one might expect but it is pretty decent and good. The rooms were large and clean. A portable electric heater was provided. The toilet is quite large and clean too but the water heater is spotty and a little challenging to use. It was working in some rooms but not in others. It is also counter-intuitive because 'H' stands for cold water whereas 'C' stands for hot water. But it is really quite okay and worth it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that starts with 1 or 2 and not 3 because rooms that start with a 3 are tucked int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wesley95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

The hotel is new, and provides an awesome view of the valley below. However, the hotel has extremely poor room service for which they require 1 HOUR to serve you your order. The prices are a bit high, looking at the standards and the room service is not very efficient. The bathrooms were clean and so was the linen. Overall, it was a satisfactory stay. My next visit to Bhutan will surely not find this hotel in the itinerary!

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the 1st block so as to avoid walking on the strenous stairs that seem to be nev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CompulsionToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thimphu
0.0 mi away
Hotel Norbuling
Hotel Norbuling
#4 of 36 in Thimphu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Olathang Hotel
Olathang Hotel
#8 of 16 in Paro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Phuntsho Pelri
Hotel Phuntsho Pelri
#20 of 36 in Thimphu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tashi Namgay Resort
Tashi Namgay Resort
#2 of 36 in Paro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.0 mi away
Metta Resort & Spa
Metta Resort & Spa
#1 of 36 in Paro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jambayang Resort
Jambayang Resort
#8 of 27 in Thimphu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ro-Chog Pel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ro-Chog Pel Hotel

Property: Ro-Chog Pel Hotel
Address: Post Box No. 828 | Rama, Chang, Thimphu, Bhutan
Region: Bhutan > Thimphu District > Thimphu
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Thimphu
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BhutanBookings so you can book your Ro-Chog Pel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing