We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very cordial staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Taktsang

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thimphu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Taktsang
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Thimphu
Mumbai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very cordial staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Simple clean rooms and very cordial staff.The rooms have only 1 light so it could get a little dark. They are always willing to help. The location of the hotel is just perfect and central. They can be a little slow on room service. The food at the restaurant is alright, however the chef is a gentleman. He was ever ready to serve us the bhutanese delicacies.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiy0mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    19
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
8
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed there during Christmas time. It was a good stay. Food quality in restaurant is very good. Liked it! Room heaters are available. Room service available. Location is very nice - centre of the town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahul_Kayal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geelong, australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I travelled to Bhutan with my University group in October/November 2013 and we stayed at Hotel Taktsang for about 10 nights and it was our home away from home.

The staff were very friendly, and always had a smile on their face. The food was fantastic, and the beds were warm.

Some of the rooms had cold showers most times, but I luckily didn't have too much trouble getting some hot water (Room 202). There was no wi-fi in the room, and it was patchy at times in the lobby, but it did work most times, and really, travellers don't go to Bhutan to use internet (and with 12 university students using the internet, it didn't last long anyways!).

The location was VERY central to everything. I would stay here again anytime!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kbainbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed here for a week on business and mixed reviews to the hotel. It is in a good location - center of town and everything is accessible. The rooms are basic - clean but dark, room heater available. But the downside was that hot water in the bathrooms - seems that they have a common water heater so its the early riser who catches the hot shower. There were a couple of days that there was not water water in the showers.They promise internet in the room but does not work. Also erratic in the lobby as well. the restaurant has a good selection of dishes and provides breakfast in the morning inclusive to the bill. They could do better in terms of management which would be perfect to the cost of the room. But at this price, there are better choices.

Room Tip: Rooms to the street would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kolyn_666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We chose this place after inquiring several hotels nearby. We found the rooms and bathroom much cleaner and ventilated than other hotels for the same price. The hotel is situated hardly 100 meters from the main junction and market in Thimpu. Apart from that the room was pretty clean and staff were very friendly. The rates were very reasonable. The reception staff were very helpful (like almost everyone in Bhutan :) and provided lots of details about places to see around to help us plan the days we were in Thimpu.

Although they offered free WiFi, they only turn it on during the day (till 10pm) and even then, we had to request them several times to turn it on as it was turned off most of the times, which became quite irritating after few times

We didn't use the restaurant as it was being used for some small exhibition cum sale event but it didn't really matter to us as we go to try out many other restaurants in the vicinity.But we did have breakfast in Taktsang, and we liked it. Also remember that they do not serve breakfast in the rooms to prevent guests from dirtying the rooms and beds, but they did serve us as the restaurant was occupied by some event.

Being hospitable and very reasonably priced I would definitely choose this place again on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivek Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

They might still be honing professional skills, but the staff is very warm, welcoming and perceptive. We stayed for two nights in Dec 2013, faced a few glitches but cherished every warm gesture to make our stay comfortable. Rely on CM - as he is called - who mans the reception and every willing to help. Try chat up with the master chef Karma Tenzing who apart from Bhutanese food can also serve interesting insights into life and culture in Bhutan.

Room Tip: Hotel Taktsang is in the city centre - surrounded by bazaars and other hotels. But if you have a cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidsikdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stayed in October 2013 Yes the hotel needs a bit of work. The phone line was cut from the wall in our room. We had workers banging above our room late at night. To inform the reception we had to walk down stairs. We stayed on the 3rd floor The staff very pleasant Sonam would go out of her way to make sure all was ok . The food was plenty infact too much served it just kept coming and coming. The hot water you had to wait for it to arrive. Beds were comfortable a luxury to some places we had stayed at in Bhutan. Yes I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bwisetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thimphu
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dorjee-Ling
Hotel Dorjee-Ling
#15 of 16 in Paro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bhutan
Hotel Bhutan
#33 of 36 in Thimphu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gakyil
Gakyil
#10 of 36 in Thimphu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Peaceful Resort
Peaceful Resort
#15 of 36 in Thimphu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Norbuling
Hotel Norbuling
#4 of 36 in Thimphu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wangchuk Hotel, Thimphu
Wangchuk Hotel, Thimphu
#23 of 36 in Thimphu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taktsang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taktsang

Property: Hotel Taktsang
Address: Chang Lam, Thimphu, Bhutan
Region: Bhutan > Thimphu District > Thimphu
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Thimphu
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing