We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aman Convert!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amankora Thimphu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thimphu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amankora Thimphu
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Thimphu
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Aman Convert!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Aman Kora in Thimphu by far topped the many many hotels and resorts we have stayed in internationally! The price you pay to stay at an Aman property is worth every penny (don't think of increasing the prices if management is reading this!) . Being in Thimphu with not much else to do, the resort made sure guests were entertained most nights with performances and lectures.

The attention to detail by the management is impeccable and commendable! Within a few hours, majority of the staff you will come across would have known your name and the names of our children! There was a welcome gift for everyone in my family and the book is about a canadian in Bhutan! Now, I am not sure if this was done intentionally knowing we are from Canada or its just a coincidence . IF it was planned , the amount of attention they put into their guests is next to none.

Food at the restaurant was international with a heavy thai influence. My kids loved their wonton soup and with 2 gluten intolerant parties in my family, they thoroughly enjoyed the chef's special gluten free muffin . It was free flow of food with no limit and it was cooked on the spot . Servings are decent and most likely you won't need to order a second.

The "best thing" by far was when my daughter and I got sick , my husband and sons were totally surprised when everyone of the staff would ask how we were whenever they see them. They would bring us warm rice porridge and sent a doctor at our request from the town. Doctor Goh (I think) was such a professional and very worldly individual having been educated in Germany and Harvard. We felt totally secure under his care.

It was an excellent property to convalesce , taking in the fresh air and surrounded by the pine filled air. It was heaven on earth with all the luxuries you can ask for. oh yes, and no TV!

In mixed company, I don't suggest sharing a room as showers have NO doors.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConneyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
48
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Aman was for years the only luxury property in Bhutan and worth every penny. With the new Uma properties they are giving A man a run for their money though very very different. Having stayed in both chains in Bhutan, it is a matter of choice. This property is buy far the best Aman. Very resort like with a fabulous spa, large rooms and bathrooms and dining at your leisure. After many excellent Bhutanese meals, it is a pleasure to have other excellent choices. The small pool is great for a refreshing dip however too cold in December. That being said the sky is a perfect blue and the view beautiful. Service can be a bit spotty but does not take away from the experience. They have unique touring options. Treat yourself but be sure to stay at least 2 nights!

Room Tip: Ground floor so you have a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveller1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

This lodge had the largest rooms compared to the other 4 lodges, the best cuisine and the largest public spaces. We loved the architecture which is similar to the lodge at Bumthang. It is in a suburban area but has extensive grounds with pine trees and the river and forest on the other side.We would definitely spend at least two days in future to have time to simply enjoy the resort itself and allow ourselves to be spoilt rotten by the staff.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the river are the most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidaygirlBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenview, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Retreat like. No set time for meals. Light colored wood. Rooms very spacious. Room #10. Did have concern over hot water. They suggested ½ hour between showers. No TV or clock. Did have screens on windows which allowed us to open the windows. House wines included! Bathroom – had to exit shower to obtain shampoo, soap, etc. Could not figure out how to empty bathtub which had been filled while we were at dinner. They do this to give humidity to the room. There is no set time for meals. On arrival night, they offered semi-private meeting with reincarnated Llama Mynak Trulku (12th reincarnation Mynak Rimpoche.) At dinner, sneezed and they brought a box of Kleenex! Turndown service: book on bed, warming pads and water in tub. No TV.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
975 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,033 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

The 'real' Bhutan experience is to be had in the provinces (Bumthang, Punakha, Gangtey, etc), but should you stay in Thimphu for whatever reasons (see friends, business - otherwise there isn't much to do or see), the Amankora would be an excellent choice. Same outstanding service as the other Aman properties (the staff ratio is also an amazing 95 to 16 rooms) - even more efficient (maybe because we're in the capital.) The restaurant is above average for an Aman, with an inclination for Thai cuisine (but it's still not great - we haven't seen an Aman anywhere with superior food); for lunch don't miss out on the interpretation of Ema datze - it's a sandwich with toasted chili bread, resembling a croque-monsieur! Good effort at (paying) activities, especially since there is less to do in Thimphu; however, the private Buddhist lecture was conducted by a monk who was more of a worldly politician in spite of his robes!

One general comment about the Amankoras for when they renovate the properties: please have master switches in rooms; have more electric outlets that work!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

The Amankora Thimphu was the first hotel we stayed at in Bhutan and it was a good place to recover from jet lag and adjust to the altitude. The rooms were comfortable and the meals were delicious. The hotel buildings are rather large and imposing and one feels removed - perhaps a little too removed - from the noise and people of Thimphu. The lounge/lobby did not feel as comfortable as the lounges at the Amankora Punakha, Gangtey and Paro hotels, perhaps because the Amankora Thimphu did not have a view and was rather dark among all of the trees.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alaskatravel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

This was the first of five Aman properties that we stayed in during our two-week tour of Bhutan. And very impressive it was too. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming and, above all, highly efficient. The ‘welcome drink’ was hot apple tea/cider … and was really excellent.

The rooms at the five Amankora lodges in Bhutan are of two designs, both of which are very large and beautiful. There was a great shower and a fabulous bath, and the beds were extremely comfortable (although they do have quite sharp corners!). There was a wonderful gift left on the bed each night, which meant that souvenir shopping was not necessary. My only gripe was the system of light switches, which I found all rather confusing and there’s no master switch. There could also have been a few more plug sockets by the bench seat … if you are like me and travel with laptop, iPad, mobile phone, two cameras etc., which all need regular charging.

We visited the Dzong in Timphu and the ‘folk and heritage museum’, which was most interesting. And the tarkin reserve is also worth a visit, if you’re into wildlife. And we were very privileged to have Nawang and Ugyen as our guides for all our excursions … some of the best guides I have ever encountered. The hotel also arranged a meeting with a Buddhist monk, which was wonderful and a great introduction to the religion if you are unfamiliar with it. There was also a good display of local dancing one night. I don’t normally like this sort of anthropological tourism, but on this occasion it was done with such friendliness and warmth that I was totally beguiled.

Be warned that Timphu is quite high, and I suffered with the altitude for a couple of days (dizziness and extreme fatigue). There are medications that can help so it might be worth a trip to your doctor if you think you might be affected.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mark121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thimphu hotels
2.1 mi away
Le Meridien Thimphu
Le Meridien Thimphu
#3 of 37 in Thimphu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
2.1 mi away
Taj Tashi
Taj Tashi
#2 of 37 in Thimphu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Norbuling
Hotel Norbuling
#4 of 37 in Thimphu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Thimphu Towers
Hotel Thimphu Towers
#1 of 37 in Thimphu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
4.1 mi away
Terma Linca Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Osel
Osel
#6 of 37 in Thimphu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amankora Thimphu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amankora Thimphu

Property: Amankora Thimphu
Address: Near Kuenga Chhoeling Palace Upper Motithang, Thimphu, Bhutan
Region: Bhutan > Thimphu District > Thimphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Thimphu
#7 Spa Hotel in Thimphu
Hotel Class:5 star — Amankora Thimphu 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining aman, the Sanskrit-derived word for 'peace', and kora or 'circular pilgrimage' in Dzongkha, the Bhutanese language, Amankora, is a series of lodges in the Kingdom of Bhutan's central and western valleys. The sole surviving Himalayan Buddhist Kingdom, Bhutan is one of the most remote and pristine environments on earth. To best experience all that Bhutan has to offer, Amankora can tailor journeys that include a combination of its lodges located in the valleys of Paro, Thimphu, Punakha, Gangtey and Bumthang. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amankora Thimphu Hotel Thimphu
Amankora Hotel Thimphu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing