We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amankora of Bhutan”
Review of Amankora Thimphu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thimphu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amankora Thimphu
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Thimphu
Certificate of Excellence
Southeast Asia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amankora of Bhutan”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Aman Resort really knows too well how to pamper their guests effortlessly. Everything was just smoothly run accordingly, they anticipated what you need even before you open your mouth! This is what I called excellent service...... Our stay at three properties of Aman Resort in Bhutan confirmed what we have experienced before at their other properties in other countries. This hotel group has such excellent training of their staff and standards are really high. We are certainly great fan of them!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveladdict12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    15
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
52
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed at this property for three nights as part of a multi-city Bhutan trip. Everything at this property was very efficient (airport transfer, arrival/check-in, check-out, etc.).

Service was top-notch (staff anticipated our needs and came and went silently
The room was spacious and had luxe décor/furnishings (although the bath took up a lot of space and the shower overflowed onto the wood floors each day). Also, our room was dark due to a lack of windows, but had plenty of lighting.
The restaurant was very good (delicious food, top service).

I would offer two complaints (and both of these are really matters of personal preference): (1) the property is very small (<15 rooms, maybe) and thus it feels sparse and has limited services in some areas (that said, the spa is great, the restaurant is great, etc.); and (2) the service can feel very cold/sterile. I think the latter is a common observation of Aman hotels. I prefer a bit more warmth.

If staying in Thimphu, I would choose this property again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reston10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The hotel is set in extensive grounds, with just a wonderful feeling from the moment you arrive you are enveloped into a caring family, namely the charming staff until you leave for your onward journey with a blessing from a Buddhist Priest, which really sets the tone for the rest of your vacation.
Service throughout is exemplary ,at every level. The food is a delight and of the finest quality,both european local and asian,and changing every day>my wife who has food allergies had her own special menu with her name on,such kindness and concern
At night the log burners in the rooms warm you whilst you relax and read in the beautifully appointed accommodation with all mod cons except NO TV what a pleasure
For us alovely touch were the ground mans dogs roaming around for us a another homely tpouch
A must stay at

Room Tip: All the rooms are of the same quaility and similar views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Aman Kora in Thimphu by far topped the many many hotels and resorts we have stayed in internationally! The price you pay to stay at an Aman property is worth every penny (don't think of increasing the prices if management is reading this!) . Being in Thimphu with not much else to do, the resort made sure guests were entertained most nights with performances and lectures.

The attention to detail by the management is impeccable and commendable! Within a few hours, majority of the staff you will come across would have known your name and the names of our children! There was a welcome gift for everyone in my family and the book is about a canadian in Bhutan! Now, I am not sure if this was done intentionally knowing we are from Canada or its just a coincidence . IF it was planned , the amount of attention they put into their guests is next to none.

Food at the restaurant was international with a heavy thai influence. My kids loved their wonton soup and with 2 gluten intolerant parties in my family, they thoroughly enjoyed the chef's special gluten free muffin . It was free flow of food with no limit and it was cooked on the spot . Servings are decent and most likely you won't need to order a second.

The "best thing" by far was when my daughter and I got sick , my husband and sons were totally surprised when everyone of the staff would ask how we were whenever they see them. They would bring us warm rice porridge and sent a doctor at our request from the town. Doctor Goh (I think) was such a professional and very worldly individual having been educated in Germany and Harvard. We felt totally secure under his care.

It was an excellent property to convalesce , taking in the fresh air and surrounded by the pine filled air. It was heaven on earth with all the luxuries you can ask for. oh yes, and no TV!

In mixed company, I don't suggest sharing a room as showers have NO doors.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConneyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Aman was for years the only luxury property in Bhutan and worth every penny. With the new Uma properties they are giving A man a run for their money though very very different. Having stayed in both chains in Bhutan, it is a matter of choice. This property is buy far the best Aman. Very resort like with a fabulous spa, large rooms and bathrooms and dining at your leisure. After many excellent Bhutanese meals, it is a pleasure to have other excellent choices. The small pool is great for a refreshing dip however too cold in December. That being said the sky is a perfect blue and the view beautiful. Service can be a bit spotty but does not take away from the experience. They have unique touring options. Treat yourself but be sure to stay at least 2 nights!

Room Tip: Ground floor so you have a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveller1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This lodge had the largest rooms compared to the other 4 lodges, the best cuisine and the largest public spaces. We loved the architecture which is similar to the lodge at Bumthang. It is in a suburban area but has extensive grounds with pine trees and the river and forest on the other side.We would definitely spend at least two days in future to have time to simply enjoy the resort itself and allow ourselves to be spoilt rotten by the staff.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the river are the most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidaygirlBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenview, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Retreat like. No set time for meals. Light colored wood. Rooms very spacious. Room #10. Did have concern over hot water. They suggested ½ hour between showers. No TV or clock. Did have screens on windows which allowed us to open the windows. House wines included! Bathroom – had to exit shower to obtain shampoo, soap, etc. Could not figure out how to empty bathtub which had been filled while we were at dinner. They do this to give humidity to the room. There is no set time for meals. On arrival night, they offered semi-private meeting with reincarnated Llama Mynak Trulku (12th reincarnation Mynak Rimpoche.) At dinner, sneezed and they brought a box of Kleenex! Turndown service: book on bed, warming pads and water in tub. No TV.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thimphu hotels
1.6 mi away
Taj Tashi
Taj Tashi
#3 of 36 in Thimphu
701 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Meridien Thimphu
Le Meridien Thimphu
#1 of 36 in Thimphu
235 reviews
4.0 mi away
Terma Linca Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Norbuling
Hotel Norbuling
#4 of 36 in Thimphu
320 reviews
1.5 mi away
Osel
Osel
#6 of 36 in Thimphu
170 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ramada Valley Thimphu
Ramada Valley Thimphu
#13 of 36 in Thimphu
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amankora Thimphu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amankora Thimphu

Property: Amankora Thimphu
Address: Near Kuenga Chhoeling Palace Upper Motithang, Thimphu, Bhutan
Region: Bhutan > Thimphu District > Thimphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Thimphu
#11 Spa Hotel in Thimphu
Hotel Class:5 star — Amankora Thimphu 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining aman, the Sanskrit-derived word for 'peace', and kora or 'circular pilgrimage' in Dzongkha, the Bhutanese language, Amankora, is a series of lodges in the Kingdom of Bhutan's central and western valleys. The sole surviving Himalayan Buddhist Kingdom, Bhutan is one of the most remote and pristine environments on earth. To best experience all that Bhutan has to offer, Amankora can tailor journeys that include a combination of its lodges located in the valleys of Paro, Thimphu, Punakha, Gangtey and Bumthang. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amankora Thimphu Hotel Thimphu
Amankora Hotel Thimphu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing