We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pet the doggies!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greyhound Hall of Fame

Greyhound Hall of Fame
Ranked #4 of 8 things to do in Abilene
Attraction details
Newton, Kansas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pet the doggies!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

This was a racing museum. Don't expect anything else. It's about greyhound racing and pretty much all about the dogs and the trainers. The dogs are walking around in the museum and greet you at the door. They are well behaved and won't jump on you! Don't expect anything else. What they do is excellent.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joegilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clay Center
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“BORING!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Okay, I don't care two sticks about dog racing, but this place was really boring. It didn't make me any more interested than I was.

Helpful?
2 Thank DAHMCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

When I first walked in the dogs (I think one of their names was Jade) came right up to us. Walked around a bit and saw all of the neat trophies and art but had to leave soon to get on the road for home. Enjoyed the quick visit very much.

Helpful?
1 Thank Moonstarwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

I enjoyed the staff and the dogs. The place was very clean and very informative. The torphies and awards that were on display were magificent. The walk through the halls was very informative to America's past.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bucksterdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
400 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Check this out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

Right across the street from the Eisenhower Library, this is worth seeing. They were setting up for an event that evening so Gary and Jade were being kept in the front office but you could still pet them over their little fence, great dogs! There is a lot to see in the museum and it's easily laid out. We are big horse racing fans and it was nice to see this aspect of racing and learn more about the animals. No charge, just donations. Allow about an hour or so.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RKAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Greyhound Hall of Fame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing