We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Abilene
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Diamond Motel(Abilene)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Junction City(Junction City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Junction City(Junction City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
80
88
43
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
80
88
43
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrookville hotelfront deskcinnamon rollsking suitebreakfast roomhot tubeisenhower museumfried chickenroom was clean and comfortablebreakfast staffpancake makerjunction cityfitness centergreat place to stayfree breakfastfirst flooran overnight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This Holiday Inn Express was very well maintained...clean and welcoming. I travel with a small dog and the choices of pet friendly hotel that are up to our standards are sometimes challenging. This hotel fit perfectly for us and there was lots of areas to walk after being in the car all day. Thank you Holiday Inn Express Abilene for being pet friendly and adult approved!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The only reason to stay here is this is the least worst dump nearby. If it was not for family 5 minutes away, I would never EVER stay here. If you are just looking for a stop-over for a night, drive another 30 minutes or stop 30 minutes earlier at another city. As far a guests saying "friendly" or "nice" staff, that staff must have been on vacation for our several day trip! There appears to be no maintenance staff. Our AC had a 10 degree swing, so go from freezing to hot. Had to set thermostat on 62 degrees to average 74, simply the cheap unit AC was broke! Then, the commode stopped up, stopped by the front desk, asked for maintenance to fix. Front desk said "just a moment, I'll get YOU a plunger". I asked if someone could fix it, was told "we just typically give the plunger to the guest, it happens often". Tried to open window for fresh air, windows were broke, took two people to open as the counter-weight was broken off inside the door frame. Had to use ice bucket to hold open 6 inches.

Breakfast was horrible!! They had as minimal as they could get, and still call it food. The "famous" cinnamon roles were still in original packaging, looks like they heated up or maybe left under the heat lamp, still in shipping tin. Fake scrambled eggs, something that was supposed to look like bacon (only certain days), spoiled bananas and toast.

Rooms had rock hard beds - had to take 4" mattress off couch/bed to help sleep.

Paper thin walls, could hear normal conversations from both neighboring rooms.

Internet was horrible, I gave up and used my cell phone data due to hotel Internet being so slow.

I travel 40 plus weeks a year, usually Marriott, but sometimes Holiday Inn Express, many in very rural towns. This is the worst I have ever encountered, needs complete new management from top down.

HOLIDAY INN REGIONAL MANAGEMENT - if you read this, you need to get there very soon and get control. As a frequent traveler, this is chasing away your business clients - I will now only use HI as a LAST resort anywhere I travel!

I highly encourage anyone NOT to use this as a night stop-over, there are real hotels 30 minutes each way in other towns. The prices were ridiculous for what we got, especially since there is no known maintenance staff seen the week we were here. The only reason to choose this hotel is if you absolutely HAVE to stay in Abilene. The other hotels are worse, 30 year old dumps.

It's a shame, Abilene is a nice, friendly town.

Drink another cup of coffee, speed to next exit - don't stop here!

Room Tip: Best room choice - next exit!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raff98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abilene, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear raff98,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at our property, As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. I would like to apologize for the problems that you had experienced regarding the room amenities, maintenance service and noise challenges encountered. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate department where great attention will be paid to the matter.

Again, thank you for taking your time to inform us with this information. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This Holiday Inn Express is always nice, clean, and welcoming. We usually have a special request of two rooms, connecting, with one a handicap room. They are very good about having this set up just as we need. Their breakfast are always good and the staff is quite efficient.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigilau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We were there to attend a wedding and needed to check in early in order to change clothes and get to a 3:00 PM wedding. The terrific lady at the front desk and a really great housekeeper made sure we could get into a room by 1:00 which gave us plenty of time to get ready. The hotel was swamped with a bicycle touring group and lots more people there for the wedding but the staff went out of their way to help us. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Everything here looked fresh and clean. Lady at reception very polite and friendly.
Breakfast was good - and try the pancake machine!
Only downside (staying here as a group) was that there was only one washer/drier in the laundry. Try getting 10 people doing their washing... we ran it non-stop from 5pm to 10pm. Another guest staying there long-term gave up in the end...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeDocklands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews