We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's spotless!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Abilene
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Abilene
Certificate of Excellence
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
746 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 628 helpful votes
“It's spotless!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I were part of a group of seniors traveling to the Colorado Rockies and stayed overnight here. We received a warm and cheery welcome from management and all our rooms were ready for us. This was an excellent, spotless hotel with excellent amenities. We had fresh bacon and "real" eggs, pancakes, bagels and bananas. There were a variety of other breakfast items fit for a king. My husband traveled in his job before we retired and always stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. Go figure! They're doing something right. It's nice to have a clean room with a good mattress and pillow. Breakfast is an added plus especially when it is fresh and hot. The breakfast attendant made sure everything was available and kept refilling the food. It doesn't get any better than this! Stay here and you will see why we love it! Room 207 was great. A/C worked great!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room at this hotel! There were 25 of us and we all had a wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryannF650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    77
    35
    12
    3
See reviews for
57
67
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Back for another long weekend we found the Holiday Inn was still a good place to stay. Mike had everything ready to go for us even though it was very late.
There were no problems through out the stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_traveling_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrensburg, Missouri
Level Contributor
227 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Air conditioning worked very well on a 99 degree evening, wifi worked well, nice flat screen TV, shower had good water pressure, and of course the beds were comfortable. Breakfast (standard HIE breakfast) worked efficiently despite a tour bus group there at the same time. Staff made good restaurant recommendation and know their town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Old_Drum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

As my wife and I traveled through Kansas on Interstate 70 we decided to visit the " Eisenhower Presidential Library, Museum, and Boyhood Home" in Abilene, Kansas. We stayed for the night at the Holiday Inn Express located just off the main highway. The hotel was one of the nicer Holiday Inn Expresses we have stayed at. This multi story hotel was newer and located very near the museum grounds as well as large scale stores, restaurants and other services you may need while traveling. Situated about 75 yards in front of the hotel is a newer Dairy Queen that is also exceptionally clean. Parking was convenient and plentiful at the hotel. The hotel has an indoor swimming pool. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. A nice buffet breakfast is served in the morning at no additional cost. Hot and cold cereals, eggs, pancakes, breads, yogurt, a variety of juices, cinnamon rolls and milk are some of the foods offered. We would not hesitate to return and stay at this nice hotel. The Eisenhower exhibits were wonderful.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms offer some views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeniorExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cole camp
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Located north off exit in Abilene Kansas, Holiday Inn has clean well kept rooms in the motel less than year old in built 2013. I think Holiday Inn has a winner here the staff is well informed in the events in town and helpful on motel problems so your concerns should be handled without any delays or problems. We stayed three days with no issues with rooms the swimming area was clean, hot tub clean. I used the sauna it was adjustable and nice overall no problems so enjoy your self we did.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed one night and got in late. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room was comfortable and clean. The pool area and also the breakfast room were clean as well. This hotel is right off the highway and there are a few places to eat near by.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed a single night after having traveled from Kansas City to visit Abilene to purchase a bird at the local pet shop downtown. Fabulous pet shop btw. Also did some of the other tourist attractions including the Eisenhower Museum.

The Holiday Inn Express is reasonably new, and for certain a nicer facility than any other hotel available in Abilene. Reasonably new building, though the furniture in our room showed some obvious signs of wear. The common areas of the hotel were very clean and well kept. There is a swimming pool, sauna, plus a whirlpool that made all sorts of strange noises but did seem to work okay.

The room itself was adequate. No view to speak of, the exhaust fan in the bathroom didn't work and the beds were a little soft but were not sunken in the middle. Lots of hot water and plenty of water pressure, full size towels and toiletries were provided. Fridge and microwave in the room, along with a coffee maker, and an iron/board. The room was small, your basic rectangle with a bathroom stuck in the front corner.

Included a hot breakfast that was very good.

My only real complaint surrounds the cost. Abilene is a town where a piece of pie in a restaurant can be had for $1.75 and prices in general are very low. Not so the Holiday Inn Express. The $114 per night rate (over $130 once tax was added in) is WAY out of line with the local cost of living, and smacked me as rather opportunistic. Just my opinion, but the room was worth about $30 a night less than that, or about $85 plus tax even with breakfast added in.

Were we to visit again, would probably stay in Junction City or Salina, both about 20 miles away, where the hotel markets are much more developed and MUCH more competitively priced.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princeofwaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abilene, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear princeofwaldo,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a detailed review about your stay. I am happy that you found the breakfast served to have suited your liking and our modern ambiance suited your needs. However, I apologize if you found the rates offered to be steep. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abilene
2.2 mi away
Diamond Motel
Diamond Motel
#4 of 4 in Abilene
40 reviews
22.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salina
20.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Junction City
Hampton Inn Junction City
#1 of 15 in Junction City
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites
24.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 30 in Salina
264 reviews
21.6 mi away
Quality Inn near Fort Riley
Quality Inn near Fort Riley
#3 of 15 in Junction City
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Abilene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Abilene

Property: Holiday Inn Express Abilene
Address: 110 E. Lafayette Ave., Abilene, KS 67410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Abilene
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Abilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Abilene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Abilene Kansas is a new, award- winning hotel with 61 comfortable rooms, including 15 spacious one room suites. We invite you to come visit historic Abilene Kansas, we are near the Fort Riley Army Base, Eisenhower Center, Duckwall Alco and the Russell Stover Candies plant. We invite you to come experience the Holiday Inn Express in Abilene Kansas and enjoy our award wining services our hotel provides. We have an indoor heated pool, whirlpool, exercise room and sauna. Additionally, we offer free High Speed Internet in all guest rooms as well as a complimentary Express Start breakfast bar. Visit Abilene, KS and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Abilene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Abilene Hotel Abilene
Holiday Inn Abilene
Abilene Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Abilene Kansas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing