We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pet friendly hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Abilene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Abilene
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Abilene
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax County, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good pet friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I stayed in a small king suite which was very clean and quiet on the third floor. As a single woman traveling alone I found the town very safe to walk around in and enjoyed the Eisenhower Museum and Memorial. Good salad bar at Pizza Hut for vegetarians.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    76
    34
    12
    3
See reviews for
56
66
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, ks
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I had good hopes as it has been many years since I'd stayed in a Holiday Inn, but I couldn't ignore the blatant uncleanliness. The halls smelled like smoke even though we did have nonsmoking rooms. Fortunately, the rooms we were in didn't smell of smoke though.

The bathrooms were most offensive. The bath mat towel was so soaking wet it was dripping. One of the hanging hand towels had a mouth print on it as if a previous guest had wiped their mouth on it. These towels had clearly not been changed out. Hair on the floor and in the toilet were truly disgusting. These things made us wonder what wasn't clean that we couldn't see.

Unfortunately this experience will not inspire us to stay in a Holiday Inn anytime soon.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lgpfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abilene, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Lgpfive ,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here for a night while driving cross country. Convenient to I70. Hotel was newer and nice. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was standard Holiday Inn Express but very nice and more than adequate. We arrived on Saturday evening and found it difficult to find a place for dinner. There is a Dairy Queen nearby but other than that not much available. There is a famous chicken restaurant within walking distance but it closes at 7:30!! On a Saturday night! We drove around before finally finding somewhere to eat a decent meal (other than fast food or DQ). But this is not a fault of the hotel. More of a statement on nearby Abilene.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HikingisHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I haven't stayed in a small town for years, but I think this hotel is on par with the best motels/hotels in a town of this size. Overall, the hotel room was clean and the breakfast was excellent. I'd probably give the hotel 3 stars in a city, but for a road-side hotel it's closer to a 4 star.

For some reason, we were placed in a smoking room and there weren't any non-smoking rooms available. The room smelled really bad, but the hotel tried their best by giving us a air purifier. Ideally, they'll convert more rooms to non-smoking over time.

Room Tip: Be sure you ask for a non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelV2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
754 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Abilene is a pretty small town-it was shut down on july 4. Literally! 3 restaurants open that night.

This property was clean and totally acceptable- but it is an older property and could use an updating.

Did not understand the flannel like sheets when it was 101 degrees outside tho.
Friendly people manning the place-best place in town to stay if visiting Eisenhower museum.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfadds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abilene, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear jfadds,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

A clean and comfortable stay. Very friendly staff, smooth check-in and good suggestions for local dining. Complementary breakfast was acceptable, similar to what you'd find at any HIE. They did have an automated pancake machine, which I had not seen before.

Our first floor room was a little noisy at times. It sounded as though the occupants in the room above were bowling. The room also had a connecting door, and we were somewhat disturbed by children in the adjoining room. Would suggest you request a 2nd floor room with no connecting door for maximum quietness.

Several amenities which we didn't use: dry sauna, hot tub and indoor pool.

This is probably the best choice in Abilene.

Room Tip: As for a 2nd floor room with no connecting door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rj2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flowery branch
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

The room was clean but the air conditioner never got cold even when we put it down to 64 degrees, and the shower head didn't let out a full spray of water. Breakfast was good but not as great as we would expect for the price we paid. It was the first time I saw a tip box at the free continental breakfast!
Okay place if there are no better options.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lcrkcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abilene, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear lcrkcr,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your review. I am glad that you liked our clean rooms. It is always our goal to provide the best possible service and create memorable experiences and on this occasion we apologize for the disappointment you had with the air conditioning unit. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope you do choose to give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Sincerely,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abilene
2.1 mi away
Diamond Motel
Diamond Motel
#4 of 4 in Abilene
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Junction City
Hampton Inn Junction City
#1 of 14 in Junction City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
22.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites
21.6 mi away
Quality Inn near Fort Riley
Quality Inn near Fort Riley
#3 of 14 in Junction City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
24.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 30 in Salina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Abilene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Abilene

Property: Holiday Inn Express Abilene
Address: 110 E. Lafayette Ave., Abilene, KS 67410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Abilene
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Abilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Abilene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Abilene Kansas is a new, award- winning hotel with 61 comfortable rooms, including 15 spacious one room suites. We invite you to come visit historic Abilene Kansas, we are near the Fort Riley Army Base, Eisenhower Center, Duckwall Alco and the Russell Stover Candies plant. We invite you to come experience the Holiday Inn Express in Abilene Kansas and enjoy our award wining services our hotel provides. We have an indoor heated pool, whirlpool, exercise room and sauna. Additionally, we offer free High Speed Internet in all guest rooms as well as a complimentary Express Start breakfast bar. Visit Abilene, KS and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Abilene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Abilene Hotel Abilene
Holiday Inn Abilene
Abilene Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Abilene Kansas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing