We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A second nice find”

Amanda's Bakery & Bistro
Ranked #4 of 34 Restaurants in Abilene
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A second nice find”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

This was a second good lunch find in Abilene, along with Dish. Eclectic surroundings and freshly made sandwiches were enjoyed by my wife and me. Swing by.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    18
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arrow Rock, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Onions on the grilled cheese was great! Shopped while we waited for our food which was nice. Small menu yet a good variety. The food tasted wonderful! Three women ordered three different things and all of us were satisfied!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucas, Kansas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cute....but disappointing”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Having never been to Abilene before, we chose what looked to be a small, trendy appearing restaurant in the heart of downtown, which caters to the tourist trade. Upon entering, we found it to be very inviting, with small lights, a combination of antiques and art deco items. About eight 2-top and 4-top tables helped to create a very personable and comfortable atmosphere.

With only one table filled at the pre-lunch time of 11:45, and only one person ahead of us, we were anticipating a prompt turn-around on our order. Having just attended a funeral, I was feeling a bit weak around the edges, and knew eating was soon necessary. Pleasantly received by the order taker, we chose to not fuss (to ourselves) about the $7.50 for a 'Grilled Cheese Supreme'....and the same amount for my husband's 'Grilled Ham and Cheese'.

We found a table and took our seats at 11:50. At 12:28 we were still waiting. Not too many others had come in (does that say something?), so we have no idea what the delay might have been. It appeared to be a family run business, but whatever on earth would take more than 30 minutes to make a grilled cheese sandwich with grilled onions? My plate came with the option of cottage cheese, chips or chili. I opted for the chile. Another total disappointment!! It tasted so similar to Hormel canned chili, that I can only assume the same.

Since we were getting back on the road to travel, we bought a large cookie to take with us. Wrapped individually but not labeled, the cashier did not know what they were. She offered up one that was 'probably gingerbread'. We took it to share. It was pumpkin spice. Not bad...very soft, but good taste....and a good size for the $1.50 price tag.

Even though it wasn't a good experience, we may chalk it up to 'a bad day', and give it another chance....mainly because others seem to have had a very different experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Snurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic food in charming little place”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Stopped here on our trip across Kansas on I-70...was worth the few minutes from the interstate to downtown. The original address u pulled up was outdated, it had moved a few blocks but so glad we found it. Probably the best chicken salad sandwich I've ever had. Took awhile to get our food but they were busy-again-worth the wait. Great staff, kid-friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jrs2429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the search...”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The staff was pleasant and welcoming. A limited but quality lunch menu - we ordered the grilled chicken salad, chicken salad sandwich and Tuscan chicken wrap. Tables are set amongst boutique items for sale. Shop while you wait for your order!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amanda's Bakery & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Amanda's Bakery & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing