We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Unintentionally Kitsch, But Clean!!!”
Review of Diamond Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Diamond Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Abilene
Rosebud, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good Value, Unintentionally Kitsch, But Clean!!!”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The Hotel sign is really cool. So we thought we'd check it out and found it to be suitable. My room was clean and comfy and had added appeal for me - some original vintage fittings in the bathroom and a really cute vintage mini fridge (probably very collectable!). This motel room may have looked like it had been furnished by Goodwill, but it was all good, and I had a good night's sleep.
I like to have a shower at night before bed but could not get any hot water. I wondered if they turn it off at night, as it was fine in the morning. There was no alarm clock and I had some windows that wouldn't lock, but otherwise, it was fine for the night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catwic57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    21
    5
    3
    8
See reviews for
7
20
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Checkin was quick, the new owners and staff are great, clean room, it was quiet. Wifi and cable tv was nice and they have a little breakfast in the morning with coffee. Price was good too. Will stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetsoma79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica F, General Manager at Diamond Motel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review! As you mentioned, we are under new ownership and management, and are working very hard to improve our property. Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed here on April 12, 2013 for the Eisenhower Marathon. The hotel was affordable, and included a small discount for visiting for the marathon. We waited in the lobby for someone else to finish checking in, and she was asked if she had any pets. We were not asked this (we didn't have any) although one step into our room proved that this particular room was a pet-friendly one. It reeked of pet urine and mold (I was actually awakened several times in the night because of the stench) The night was exceptionally chilly, and so was our room. We discovered that the heating vent was a floor vent, which actually turned out to work pretty well after about 4 hours of warming up. The room was rather small, but functionable. The TV was small (not a big deal) but the refrigerator would not work. Carpet felt dingy all throughout the room. The bathroom was scary to use...very out of date with traces of mold in the shower. There was a huge stain of some sort on the bottom of our mattress that appeared to be blood...which made for a long night. Disgustingly so, I decided to skip a shower because I was too scared. Husband took one after the run and said that it was constantly hot/cold off and on. The second we returned home, we made sure to get all of our clothing in the washer just as a precaution. It was a cheap room, but you might as well splurge for the Super 8 up the road and at least give your sinuses a break! Thanks but no thanks. Loved the marathon but will not stay here. Ever. Again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skw_1061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westby, Montana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We have stayed here 4 times in the last 2 years, a different room each time. Rooms are very clean and well cared for. We now plan to stay here when we go through. Quiet, out of the way along old Hwy 40 (3rd St); we have had a good experience each time we have stayed here. We had a king size bed, TV, fridge, and microwave. Probably and early 60's motel in style, but it is kept immaculate!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norskman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolla, Missouri
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2012

The room was very clean and i was very happy with the service that they provided for the PRICE! The motel did not have very good internet connection and the mattresses could use an update but again I am so impressed with the room being VERY CLEAN and that is very important to me and my family. GOOD VALUE!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gene2668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenexa, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed in a deluxe room at the Diamond Motel last weekend. Our room was impressively clean, which is most important to me, the beds were comfortable, and the room spacious. The room had a king and queen bed, microwave, and frig. It would have been nice to have a coffee pot but the owners are very kind and will make you a fresh pot of hazelnut coffee in the lobby. The motel is located in a residential area so it is quiet with a quick shop across the street for any essentials you might need. As other reviewes have stated it is a bit older but almost in a nostalgic way. If we ever find ourselves in Abilene again we will defintely be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We just stayed in the Diamond Hotel this weekend! It was older, yes, but VERY CLEAN! We got a non smoking room and I was impressed at how clean it was. There is a mini fridge, microwave, hair dryer, and clothing closet. There is body/hand soap. Bring Shampoo & such of your own. We were not disappointed because it was a great price and all we needed was a place to stay overnight.

Room Tip: Bring extra blankets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aspaustat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abilene
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Abilene
20.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salina
22.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Junction City
Hampton Inn Junction City
#1 of 15 in Junction City
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 31 in Salina
272 reviews
1.5 mi away
Budget Lodge Inn
Budget Lodge Inn
#3 of 4 in Abilene
21 reviews
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Abilene KS
Super 8 Abilene KS
#2 of 4 in Abilene
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Motel

Property: Diamond Motel
Address: 1407 NW 3rd St, Abilene, KS 67410-3511
Region: United States > Kansas > Abilene
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Abilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Diamond Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.3 miles south of I70, exit 275, then one mile west. Attractive and well maintained rooms. Rooms include cable TV with movies, refrigerators, and microwaves. Small pets only, major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Diamond Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Hotel Abilene
Diamond Motel Abilene, Kansas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing