We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No "drive by's" here”

Brookville Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Abilene
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No "drive by's" here”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

If you are ever going West on I-70 from K.C. or etc. plan to stop in Abilene Ks. for one of the "Best" home style chicken dinners you will ever eat. Chicken is all they serve; but it is cooked in cast iron skillets. They serve all you can eat, (served to the table)mashed potatoes, corn, cole slaw,(all made with CREAM!! I never go by without stopping. One bad thing is you need to make reservations; reason being is that they have busses and so many people stop that they are always full. Just call on your way; 785-263-2244. If you ever stop; you will be "hooked"!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lanyard77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    72
    35
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chisinau, Moldova
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good American restaurant”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Very good chicken restaurant in Abilene. As for my opinion American food isn't very tasty, but this restaurant was pretty good.

Helpful?
Thank denisorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous Restaurant”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The food here is amazing. I have actually found copy cat recipes of some of their best dishes online just so I can make them at home. Love their cream style corn and coleslaw. We love this place. I think over time we've been here three times. The food is served family style and is honestly one of the best places I have ever eaten out at. The atmosphere is fantastic. The staff is very nice. We just love coming here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannah520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salina, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch after church”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The legendary menu is simple and always the same... fried chicken, mashed potatoes and gravy, biscuits and cream corn. A dish of vanilla ice cream comes at the end. The servers are sweet and polite, and atmosphere mid-western gingham. A great place to take out-of-towners, and good for lunch after church!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merriam, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Chicken Ever”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

What a wonderful place. I would eat here at least once a month if didn't live 200 miles away. The service was great and the value is well worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hometowngirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brookville Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Brookville Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing