We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like going to Grandma's”

Brookville Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Abilene
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
136 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Like going to Grandma's”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

If your looking for a menu on the internet there isn't one. Just a statement that dinner is in the oven! They serve one thing and serve it with all the fixn's you could want - Fried Chicken. We sat in amazement as we took in the precision of the operation, the variety of sides, and of course the hot juicy chicken! This was our first time but we were treated as family. Service was efficient and done with a smile for every table. The restaurant is nothing special but the aroma's, great food, and friendliness is something we talked about the remainder of our trip and continue to talk about with our friends. Oh yes, you'll be licking your fingers with a smile afterwords.
If you want Southern Home Cooking I urge you to visit Brookville Hotel. Should we head in that direction again it will be a required stop over.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    69
    35
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MO
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“If you like fried chicken...”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

One menu choice - fried chicken and all the sides served family style. A lot of food with free refills on the sides. stop serving lunch at 2 pm so keep this in mind.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank dr_mucus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzogenrath, Germany
Level Contributor
169 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere, Good Fried Chicken”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

There is no meue, the restaurant serves only family style fried chicken meals comming with coleslaw, mashed potatoes, gravy, corn, cottage cheese, relishes, biscuit and an ice cream in the end.The food was excellent and the service very friendly. Been there a couple of times before and it was allways a great experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gheorghe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Consistent and excellent!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I'd heard of this restaurant for years and thought people must be exaggerating; they just have to be. Oh, was I wrong!

My daughter-in-law took us here after a day spent in Abilene revisiting places her favorite Aunt had taken her. They do one thing; fried chicken. That first meal was perfect; the chicken, the potatoes, the gravy, the corn, the relish tray.

Her husband was so sad to have missed out that we drove back that weekend, did some other things in town, then dinner. The 2nd time was as perfect as the first.

Today my wife and I went back to finish our sight-seeing and couldn't miss the opportunity to eat here again. Again, absolutely perfect meal!

I have to come up with another excuse to drive two hours each way again soon!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleair, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Big meal at Brookville”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have been to the Brookville Hotel in Abilene a number of times now, which is a replica of what was in Brookville many years ago. The meal is just like your grandma used to make on Sundays - fried chicken, mashed potatoes and gravy, cole slaw, creamed corn, rolls, cottage cheese and other relishes, and ice cream to top it all in the end. It is served family style, and you can have refills. The staff is attentive to this, and you just keep eating! If you have someone who is celiac/gluten intolerant with you, you can request a baked chicken for that person. Be sure to make reservations and tell them in advance of the need for baked chicken (they need at least two hours notice).

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneManhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brookville Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Brookville Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing