We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neat Exhibit - Plan to Spend Some Time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dwight D. Eisenhower Library and Museum

Dwight D. Eisenhower Library and Museum
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Abilene
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Neat Exhibit - Plan to Spend Some Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed in Abilene, KS, on a recent trip to Colorado so we could visit this museum. I've been to a few presidential library/museums and this one compares nicely. The museum has a nice collection of period pieces. Allow several hours if you want to read the exhaustive information provided on the walls. Allow at least an hour just to view the artifacts. We didn't make it inside the boyhood home or library but did visit the little chapel with the graves.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dewclaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    121
    41
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This Presidential Museum is well worth the stop. We were interested in all the wonderful historical items in the museum. World War II is being highlighted since this is the 70th anniversary of D-Day. This will continue throughout the next few years. I found viewing German, Japanese, British, and American artifacts brought the War to life. The special display of Holocaust Art work was moving. My husband and I spent 2 hours and could have spent more if time allowed. Yes there is a fee for the movie and museums, but to continue to keep alive the history of the United States and this great man ,it was an easy $18. The grounds are lovely. My only suggestion is to check hours. We were fortunate to stop during their summer hours-June thru July, but did not know from reading brochures. . Also, museum staff are looking for WW II vets stories & items to keep/display/borrow for the museum. Any WWII veteran would enjoy visiting. Let the museum know in advance, since I was told they will roll out the red carpet.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debby5480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The museum is a great place to explore American history during the Eisenhower era. World War II exhibits and artifacts, Eisenhowers childhood home are among the must see's when traveling through Abilene.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jpfvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
330 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Museum--interesting, but overloaded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Abilene is a tiny town and this is the main attraction. The site is a wide piece of land with many buildings surrounding a large grassy area similar to a military drill field. There is the Welcome Center, a chapel (closed when we were there), Ike's family home (brief tour for a small separate charge), an archives building and the museum building. The museum had wonderful exhibits, but it felt cramped partly due to dark lighting and low ceilings.

Luckily it wasn't busy the day we were there, because each window exhibit was packed with items and there were long pages of text to read. I saw a West Point hat and thought it was Ike's, but it belonged to his son, John, who graduated on June 6, 1944 (so obviously Ike was busy with other matters and couldn't attend).

Eisenhower had a big life. It's just too bad that all the memorabilia is crammed into too small a space.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salina, Kansas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Out of town guests”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We had some family in from out of town, and looking for something that a family that included a couple of teens could do. After a 30 minute drive, we arrived and watched an intro movie- well worth the time, especially for some kiddos born long after Ike. The house tour was small and hardly worth the wait, but historic... the museum was outstanding- much larger than we expected. My wife and I have already decided we plan to go back when we can spend more time. All agreed that the visit gave us a richer appreciation of a president who did his service before we aware of his contributions.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dwight D. Eisenhower Library and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Dwight D. Eisenhower Library and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing