We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the time”

Dwight D. Eisenhower Library and Museum
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Abilene
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well worth the time”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We arrived with only an hour to spend at the Museum on a Friday and did get through the family home but didn't have enough time to go through both the museum and library. We were staying in town overnight so came back on Saturday morning. It was well worth taking the time and seeing all of the museum and library. If you are interested in history and WWII this is a good museum for you and your family. The museum staff were so kind and said they would validate our ticket from the previous day if we had them so we didn't have to pay again. How thoughtful. We enjoyed all of the Eisenhower Library and Museum and think that it was done very well. The staff were very informed and helpful. Time well spent.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank tripgab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    131
    43
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We had just visited the Truman library near KC and found out we were not far from the Eisenhower so we decided to drive to Abilene to check it out. Also, had read a story about 20 small towns you should visit this year and Abilene was on that list. The tour of their house lasted less than 15 minutes as it is very small. The museum was not well organized. A good portion at the beginning is a history of how WWII began but not necessarily about Ike's part in it. There is also a lot on display from local people who served, such as uniforms, letters, etc. All of which, involves a lot of verbiage that takes too much time to read. We are all history buffs and my family had high hopes for this museum but after seeing the Truman Complex, Ike's left a lot to be desired. If you're in the area and have extra time, it is fine but making a special trip over from Kansas City to see it, is not what I would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Ana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very educational and inspiring”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

the grounds and buildings provide a very inspirational setting for a great American hero from the family home to the Place of Meditation, to the statue of Gen Eisehower and the wonderful museum

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank DSCrayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delano, California
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“So glad we were able to see this very interesting Museum”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I enjoyed the pretty grounds & was really pleased to be able to tour the Eisenhower Family home. Felt it gave me a much better understanding of this President
The exhibits in the museum were varied and covered many issues both before and during the Presidency. I loved seeing clothing & hats of Mamie Eisenhower

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“After Dark”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Tasteful homage to the great man which we visited at sunset when the place comes alive with lighting. Small town - Worth a look.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vegas_Fisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dwight D. Eisenhower Library and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Dwight D. Eisenhower Library and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing