We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely staying there again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shivapuri Heights Cottages
Ranked #7 of 432 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitely staying there again!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed there, and it was a perfect getaway from the city. The cottages are beautiful and cozy, the food is amazing, and the view is perfect. It is fairly inexpensive and the owners are very hospitable. Hot showers, rooms are a good temperature, and there are plenty of things to do inside and outside.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Trish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    29
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
79
86
35
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The cottages are charming and cozy. There are many things to explore in and around the property. People were friendly and the staff provided quality service. There's an excellent view of the the city, especially at night and in the early morning. The food was delicious and majority of the produce was home-grown. We enjoyed our stay and will return for more relaxing days.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our honeymoon right before leaving Nepal for home. It was quite a relaxing stay and so comfortable. Highly recommended if you would like to escape from the hustle and bustle of Kathmandu. The owners of the cottage are warm and friendly.

We regretted not being able to stay for one or two more days to explore the area around the cottage and to get more sleep at this beautiful cottage. It's a perfect place to have intimate and peaceful time with your loved ones.

Some tips:
- Our driver had a lot of trouble finding the place so I'd suggest to print out the directions given by the owners via email before heading to the cottage. Also, save their contact number into your phones. We actually did printed all these information out but somehow misplaced it.

- The scenery of the city from the cottage would have been very nice without all the fog but that was true even for Pokhara and Chitwan. Our guide suggested to come during the winter period instead when the sky is clearer.

- be prepared for the climb up to the cottage (depends which cottage you stay at though as they're at different levels). It's not so bad but if you had been hiking the day before and your legs are all cramped up, it'll be a struggle. The cottage is worth the trouble though. Our driver managed to go most of the way up (kudos to him, he was driving a very battered old car!). You can request for a staff to help with your luggage.

- only cash is accepted for all services provided in the cottage, either in Nepalese Rupees or USD

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1,119 reviews
223 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 515 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We walked up past temple, through villages on outskirts of KTM, and then enjoyed this resort for the full day, including snacks, lunch, and more snacks. Thoroughly enjoyable retreat and place for our team to discuss. Very kind people managing and providing meals/drinks. Lovely view of the KTM valley, especially as a storm came in, and the rain was so incredibly relaxing! They have cottages and tents---and several places to eat/relax around the property. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenabaindelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Shivapuri Heights Cottage was, as advertised, a perfect week-end “escape from the hustle and bustle of the city” and a true “home away from home.” Surrounded by lush terraced gardens, the charming cottages and multi-level main house are very comfortable with a variety of spaces designed for rest and relaxation. Delicious wake-up coffee was served every morning on our private deck, followed by breakfast on the upper terrace with lovely views of Kathmandu valley. Indoors in the evening over delicious family-style meals, we enjoyed wide ranging conversation with our hosts and other guests. And during the day the hiking options were equally varied, from a jaunt to the valley to see the icon of BudhaNilkantha (Vishnu-Shiva) sleeping on a cobra bed in the temple pool, to birding treks through the adjacent Shivapuri National Park. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGKampala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed with Steve and Neeru prior to our trip to Bhutan with Steve and then had the chance to return prior to our return home from Nepal.

The cottages are on the hills overlooking Kathmandu and a beautiful peaceful space, a contrast to the noise and bustle of the city and a great start and end to our time in Nepal.
The accommodation was excellent, the rooms homely and comfortable, the staff amazing and friendly, and the food superb. We all ate together with other guests and it was a lovely atmosphere, great conversation, and very relaxed, Shivapuri clearly attracts some lovely and interesting people.
Steve and Neeru were such good hosts, and are so helpful; anything you need they will do their best to help with advice, ideas and recommendations.

Steve's tour to Bhutan was outstanding, again a great bunch of people, a well thought out and planned tour, involving festivals, walks, camping, hotels, all so well thought out and a great chance to see this fascinating rapidly changing country. Lovely Bhutanese guides, the 12 days were superb. I would strongly recommend it if you would like to see Bhutan. ( escape2nepal )

Thank you Steve and Neeru

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We booked a family adventure through Steve Webster at Escape 2 Nepal and Shivapuri Heights Cottages is his family home (which includes guest accommodation). Steve arranged all aspects of our holiday: transfers, accommodation trekking, rafting and Chitwan safaris and after all this we stayed at Shivapuri Heights Cottages (and actually met Steve and his family).

Kathmandu has grown since we last visited and it was a delight to withdraw to the tranquility of Shivapuri which felt much like visiting 'friends of friends'. The risk of staying with unknown hosts is that you can be left feeling as though you're invading their space. However, we always felt comfortable and welcome (which is saying something with two young boys!). Their home is beautiful, the location stunning and the food delicious.

As well as recommending Shivapuri Heights Cottages, I can highly recommend booking a family adventure through Escape 2 Nepal. Everything - and I mean everything - was perfect. Although we've travelled in Nepal previously, this time we brought along two children aged six and eight and wanted it to be easy for us and pleasurable for them. We were provided with an itinerary, told what to pack and, from the moment we left the Kathmandu airport, we didn't have to give any further thought to our trip because it all just worked. We were collected, transferred and accompanied by knowledgable guides with good English and the trip was pitched just right for the ages of our children. When we returned to Kathmandu and didn't require a guide we still received a courtesy call to see if we needed any assistance.

Another bonus was meeting with other families with similar aged children. One such family were finishing their trekking with a visit to Kailash Children's Home to meet a child they had begun sponsoring. We were so inspired that we arranged a visit and now sponsor a child too. We expected Kailash to be crammed with sad children but instead we found a happy 'family' of 100 children and dedicated staff. Kailash offers these children opportunities they would not otherwise have; it is secular yet encourages each child's religious beliefs and supports their cultural identities, and it caters for the different abilities and aptitudes of the children.

We ended our holiday all agreeing that it was our best yet. If you're like us and don't want to do Disney, then do Escape 2 Nepal!

Room Tip: At Sanctuary Lodge one end is closer to the waterfall. You may like to be closer or further away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kathmandu
3.3 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#21 of 193 in Kathmandu
342 reviews
11.2 mi away
Club Himalaya
Club Himalaya
#1 of 17 in Nagarkot
721 reviews
5.7 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#10 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#4 of 193 in Kathmandu
415 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,129 reviews
10.5 mi away
Pataleban Vineyard Resort
Pataleban Vineyard Resort
#224 of 432 in Kathmandu
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shivapuri Heights Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shivapuri Heights Cottages

Property: Shivapuri Heights Cottages
Address: Shivapuri Hills, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 432 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shivapuri Heights consist of two Cottages perched on the hillside above Budhanilkantha, with stunning views over the valley. They are a million miles from Kathmandu, but luckily only 30 minutes by taxi and a short uphill walk. As a secret getaway for families, romantic couples, or a relaxing break from Kathmandu, they're hard to beat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Shivapuri Heights Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shivapuri Heights Cottages Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing