We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, nice people”
Review of Hotel Mountain

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mountain
Ranked #172 of 201 Hotels in Kathmandu
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
1 review
“Great stay, nice people”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Been there before and this time again but a few things has changed and it's way better now that it's being ran by a new management team that knows what they're doing.

Great value for money- buffet breakfast, neat and nice room, stable supply of hot water and electricity and also decent wifi signal that comes with great speed-didn't expect that in Kathmandu : P

It's very close to Thamel but not exactly there, so it's still very convenient but without so much noise.

Reception was nice and helpful when I asked for directions and recommendations-he even told me some tricks to skip admission tickets :P

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Renee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    3
    14
    15
    6
See reviews for
4
7
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jodhpur, India
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I stay here a few times a year. The hotel is in a good location and the staff very helpful and kind. The breakfast is average. The lift seems always to be not working due to load sharing. The bathrooms have plenty of hot water although in need of some repairs and upgrading.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wongFong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

The staff is helpful and very prompt to deliver your requests.
The kitchen is very dirty. From the steam extractor on top of the stove grease drips down to the food as one can see the drops of grease forming from the edge of the steam extractor. So I only ate at the restaurant the first night.
The bathroom in our bedroom lacked hygiene as it clearly smelled of old urine. The bathroom curtains are yellow and moldy and with a strange cat pee smell.
The rate was 80 USD per night as we were a group of 15 people and someone in the trade helped us to get this cheap rate.
We had power load shed for 4 to 5 hours per day. Their power back up was rather inefficient.
The hotel is having their rooms slowly remodeled I hope the hotel becomes better in the near future.
It is close to an area called Thamel which caters for tourists and it has some pubs with live music. from he hotel it can be reached by walk.
If you have the chance to stay in another place do so.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Isabel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kathmandu hotels

New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The first feel I got after entering Hotel Mountain was that of business hotel, though WiFi is chargeable (sad). The rooms look was fine but realized that it reflects poor maintenance. So was the washroom with problematic water flow from the shower. This hotel was constructed with a lot of high hopes, but I guess that the hotel became a victim of those expectations which it could not maintain at all. Breakfast was decent but I will not came back to this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pratik_bhaumik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Had been top Kathmandu and I had booked the hotel online. Sad to say,this is a tired looking hotel but the employees are courteous and service was good. The water that came through the pipes in the hotel are dirty. The power cuts are terrible. The lifts do not work at that time and the notice that was put with regard to timings were all wrong. The rains had been another deterrent.

Room Tip: The rooms are claen and because of glass on one side, the rooms had sufficient light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venoovasudevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed at the Mountain Hotel before and after a trek to Everest Base camp. I was not expecting a very good standard of hotel but this was worse than I expected. It would appear that the standard of hotel being booked by the UK company Explore are slipping as this was not first time that Explore booked us into poor hotel.

The room was functionable I guess, but linen was grubby, bathroom very grubby, windows didn't close properly and the hotel looks out onto a very busy road.

One advantage is its location, 10 min walk to heart of Thamel.

I visited in May 2012, clearly from reviews since Explore need to change there hotel choice.

Room Tip: Ask fro ones away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kph100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Recently i had a friend from Romania who was here for some conference,i suggested him to this hotel and found it superb overall service and management all the side,i would like people to visit this hotel if they want to stay here in Kathmandu...

Room Tip: Every rooms are good to stay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrrijan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Yellow Pagoda Hotel
Yellow Pagoda Hotel
#124 of 201 in Kathmandu
60 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Manang
Hotel Manang
#49 of 201 in Kathmandu
408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Singi Hotel
Royal Singi Hotel
#99 of 201 in Kathmandu
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#16 of 201 in Kathmandu
774 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vaishali
Hotel Vaishali
#107 of 201 in Kathmandu
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#9 of 201 in Kathmandu
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain

Property: Hotel Mountain
Address: Kantipath, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 201 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mountain 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing