We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambience; pity about the food”
Review of Northfield Cafe

Northfield Cafe
Ranked #98 of 744 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice ambience; pity about the food”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband had a nice meal here the last time he was in Kathmandu with friends so he took me with him when we returned together in May. Unfortunately we both had an awful meal this time. He had the steak and chicken fajitas and the meat was really tough, overcooked and dry. I ordered a mexican dish which was supposed to be steak but which turned out to be minced gristle- really fatty and greasy. It was horrible. This restaurant gets some excellent reviews so it is difficult to work out what is going on here. Maybe they have a good chef and a bad chef so you get good food some days and awful food on other days. Who knows? But what is clear is that is that they are unable to provide consistently good food which is a pity because the ambience is nice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank headingforretirement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    158
    84
    45
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Oh my goodness!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stopped by because I saw advertised Mexican food. Having found only one other place (outside of Thamel) that serves any thing remotely close to Mexican, I decided to check this place out. I was pleasantly surprised. And caution...the servings are huge!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank moandrieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The chorizo is not chorizo”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

This place has nice ambience and the wait staff were good enough but the price is high for just OK food. What is worse though is I ordered chorizo enchiladas but got beef mince enchilada, when I asked the waiter if there was a mistake the answer was "that is how we serve chorizo". After trying in vain to explain that that chorizo is a spanish pork sausage and I didn't get what I expected, and requested to change order (which the waiter agreed to) the manager then came out in a bad mood and refused to cancel the enchiladas. So I ended up paying even higher bill for an extra meal I didn't eat. This was our last night so I let it go to avoid ruining the night further but I'm certainly not impressed.

Helpful?
Thank Naomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Vibe ..good food and live music”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Great location in the heart of Thamel near Kathmandu Guest House .

Nice big open layout well decorated. Whether breakfast lunch dinner or just cocktails it is great
Food is good and wide choice including great steak .

Great atmosphere with live music. Price mid range ,
While you are there check out the little charity place that makes a range of items woven fro recycled food wrappers

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“poor food poor service”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

not gething whats written on the menu
it takes much time
even we asked in porpuse not to open the beers in advance
they bring the beers opened
seems no original
we asked for greeled fish and we get pane fish
more bread than fish
the athmosphere is nice

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank sara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northfield Cafe also viewed

 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Northfield Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing