We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing breakfast !”

Pumpernickel Bakery
Ranked #1 of 11 Bakeries in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast !”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I was here twice with my foreign friends for breakfast as suggested by my other native friends. Restaurant is clean and service is excellent. Just woke up ? Want to be fresh for the day ? Go to Pumpernickel for fresh breakfast...you will love it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danielshr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    141
    46
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good lunch spot”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

You know the felling - it's lunchtime and whilst you are a little bit hungry, you don't really want to go for the full restaurant experience. Pumpernickel serve a range of soups and toasted sandwiches [on great brown bread rolls] that are yummy and relatively cheap, along with good [but not great] coffee. The perfect solution for a snack lunch.
Recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Busta62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I've visited Pumpernickel Bakery for more than a few times for breakfast and lunch. This little restaurant has a wide diversity on European bread and cakes. Sandwiches, cakes, curd with fresh fruit and muesli, it was simply delightful. The restaurant is located in the center of Thamel and has a small garden where you can relax. They provide free wifi and the service is excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“not sure why people rave about this place”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We recently had lunch at this restaurant. The breads looked nice but were crawling with flies. The waitress forgot my order but pretended it was on its way. By the time it arrived my husband had finished his sandwich. My toasted sandwich arrived un-toasted and was rather dry. Friendly but lethargic service. Disappointing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank headingforretirement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best bakery and coffee shop in Thamel”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Good place, their menu is good (taste) for kathmandu standard.
The best ambience in Thamel.
My favorite place to have a relax chat with friends while watching people walking down the street.
They have Wi-Fi (another good value for them)

The server is nice and pleasant.
But they still have to taking a good care of their toilet to achieve an excelent review from me

Helpful?
Thank Marcella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pumpernickel Bakery also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu Valley, Bagmati Zone
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Pumpernickel Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing