We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience the night jungle”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kathmandu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chitwan Riverside Resort
Ranked #109 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Experience the night jungle”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

The only reason we chose this hotel was its outdoors- and that was a right choice! They have several seating areas and the best ones are next to the river. We enjoyed our beers and night views and sounds of the jungle on the opposite side of the river. With our flashlight we were able to spot animals staring at us:) it was amazing together with all kinds of weird sounds. Also, welcoming and warm staff.
And that was all. On the other hand, for $15 per night, we got and average room and company of loud but cheering Japanese.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank patcracow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    18
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
16
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altorf, France
Level Contributor
290 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Hotel Riverside in Chitwan National Park are among my best roadtrips and Souvenirs from Nepal and Gopal the Tour Guide that led us in the Jungle drives my memories to its kind words. I am here to make your journey Exceptional and Happy. He is the one to guide your Birdwatching or supporting you while taking Elephants Shower on the river...

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank frederic s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We absolutely loved staying here
We were a bit put off at first by the hectic itinerary but there was lots and lots of time available to sit by the river, watching the elephants bathe, and to have a very relaxing time
Our guide was excellent. Very informative but not controlling - lets us do things at our pace
The restaurant staff were amazing and catered for our dietary needs
The hotel is being refurbished
We had one of the little cottages
The bathrooms had been updates with new taps, loo and basin - all very clean
The rooms were fairly clean and the beds were clean and comfy
The room had a fan and air-con
The gardens were immaculate and lots of staff were working very hard planting new plants and weeding
The chairs done by the river were our favourite place.... we could have easily have sat there for a whole week!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rachelsmithtorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Hi, my name is Oscar Tirado from Colombia. Me and my wife stayed at this lovely hotel. Everything was good, but the best thing was the outdoor walking through the Jungle with the best guide I´ve ever met. His name is Gopal !
If you have the opportunity to visit the hotel, don´t miss the jungle walk with him.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oscar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

We had a really great time from start to finish. Arrived in Chitwan and were a but nervous since you realize it's mostly just independent resorts, but after a short rest we were greeted by our guide that helped us each day. Arranged all activities for us and made sure we were enjoying everything! Clean rooms, well kept grounds. husband loved he food and I could handle it. Also, the hottest shower I had in Nepal, so automatically a big plus there!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhaktapur, Nepal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I found the place clean and peaceful. on band of river was more attraction. personnel there were helpful and arranged for all the activities for by 3 days trip. They arranged for my transportation to and fro the resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bipeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Their riverside location helps loads in making this a good place to stay. The food was average, but then again they do try really hard to make it, so you can't but enjoy it. The view over the river is to die for. Rooms were well appointed and clean, though hot water was something of a scarcity (other reviewers haven't experienced any shortage so it could've been just our luck).

If you want a package arrangement for the elephant safari and the jungle walk and canoeing, they'll handle it all for you impeccably. For independent travelers, you're probably better off sorting yourself out as all the information you need is available online.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amhelmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kathmandu
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parkside
Hotel Parkside
#1 of 10 in Sauraha
415 reviews
0.9 mi away
Landmark Forest Park
Landmark Forest Park
#1 of 6 in Chitwan National Park
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#2 of 10 in Sauraha
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riverside
Hotel Riverside
#17 of 31 in Sauraha
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eden Jungle Resort
Eden Jungle Resort
#4 of 10 in Sauraha
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gorkha Hamlet Resort
Gorkha Hamlet Resort
#18 of 31 in Sauraha
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chitwan Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chitwan Riverside Resort

Property: Chitwan Riverside Resort
Address: Chitwan National Park, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Chitwan Riverside Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing