We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying within means”
Review of Acme Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Acme Guest House
Ranked #45 of 433 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Staying within means”
Reviewed 28 April 2011

I spent one night here in April 2011. The room was quite neat and clean. The tariff was very low compared to many other guest houses in the Thamel area of Nepal. I was out most of the time, so just used it as a place to put your luggages and sleep at night. Observed that the hotel had a decent looking restaurant but did not use it due to my short stay there. Anyone with a shoe string budget looking for a cheap, decent accomodation could avail it.

Room Tip: Ask whether it has an attached bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bentig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    58
    32
    7
    5
See reviews for
20
28
43
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Good location hidden away in the Themel area. Very quiet. It is hard for drivers to find so take advantage of free airport pickup. Breakfast is pretty bad, but if you must eat it, enjoy it out in the sunshine on one of the tables in the garden. Hot showers and friendly staff. Pillows pretty bad, see if you can request another, if you arrive late there is no drinking water avail, so bring some with you. Close to bars with amazing live music cover bands each night.

Room Tip: Quiet retreat in heart of Themel area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mark_from_sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Agnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

The location is great, and the staff were friendly, the room was ok (if a little dark) and clean and it was great to have a tv with some english speaking channels , a rare luxury in backpacking! The only issue was the bathroom, the light pretty much never worked and I never had a hot shower. The more expensive rooms looked very nice(from what I saw) but for the budget rooms to represent good value they need to be a tad cheaper! Taxi pickup arrived as promised. Beware when I stayed , there were a large groups every night, who were particularly noisy and wasn't great for meeting other solo travellers, but I guess this can happen anywhere!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthwestRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We stayed in a garden facing room with balcony. It was a nice, bright, clean room. The downside was the unhelpful staff who consistently failed to help with the chronic lack of running water and non-flushing toilet for several days. Frustratingly, they seemed unwilling and unable to sort out the problem save for the increasingly fantastical stories that they spun us every day regarding the matter.
Paid wifi service was sporadic and often didn’t work, especially during load shedding.

Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Esquiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

I have stayed at ACME on 3 occasions and will be returning there in oct this year. The owner and staff are very helpful and friendly. For the price range this guesthouse cannot be beat. The location in heart of Thamel is perfect. There can be some noise from the club next door, but music stops early enough as to not interupt your sleep. The garden is a delight and a haven of peace in otherwise chaotic Thamel.

Jim Ince. Scotland.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim_Ince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2011

The most attractive thing about Acme is they have a Nice Garden where one can relax for a while. I'm not sure all other hotel, charging similar rent, has this. But, considering price and quality, it is better to eat in outside restaurants rather inside acme.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ehsanul_Haque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We stayed at the Acme Guesthouse in Thamel in April 2010 in garden facing rooms with our 3 teenaged kids. We stayed in one room with the kids in a triple room just down the hall. We found the service wonderful and loved the little garden. The location could not be better, right in the middle of Thamel. The rooms are simple but clean and comfortable. This place could not be beat for value - we looked at other more expensive places in Thamel but found that they were actually no better and sometimes even offered less for the higher price. On our next trip to Nepal I will definitely be booking the Acme guesthouse for our Kathmandu accomodation.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanyaplusfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#27 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#68 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Mountain Homestay
Blue Mountain Homestay
#6 of 433 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kathmandu Boutique Hotel
Kathmandu Boutique Hotel
#4 of 433 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Peace N Park
Hotel Peace N Park
#12 of 433 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acme Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acme Guest House

Property: Acme Guest House
Address: Thamel | PO Box 10506, Kathmandu 10506, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acme Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acme Guest House is in the green environment of central and has quite large rooms with an open lawn area .We have been in the tourism business since more than 20 years and Several clients have returned regularly over the years to stay with us and have become good friends.Best part of our Guest House is its location and Green garden which no other hotels can beat in Thamel.Banking, eating, shopping and nightlife are possible within easy reach of 2 minutes on foot. Its peaceful and relaxing environment lures anyone for pleasant stay being out of hustle and bustle of the touristic town. We offer a variety of attractive and reasonably priced rooms from Economy, Standard and Deluxe with air condition,Seasonal Pool, balcony and garden facing, shared or private baths, cold and hot shower, heating system, fan and cable LED TV. Other facilities include restaurant and bar, Internet access, Free WI-FI etc. One can enjoy a leisurely breakfast in our quiet and relaxing garden while sunbathing.Rooms are newly renovated in 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acme Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acme Guest House Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing