We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, dirty and bizzare service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pleasure Home
Ranked #79 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Noisy, dirty and bizzare service!”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Oh dear. What an interesting experience it was staying here before and after our trek in the LangTang Valley. On our first night the three of us shared a tiny room right at the front of the hotel which was incredibly noisy (to be expected to a certain extent in Kathmandu!) but made worse by the building work that strated at 6am the following morning. The bathroom was filthy but the shower was hot and powerful. We then moved to rooms towards the back of the building which were much nicer. However, the service was so odd it was hilarious!

Pros...
- Good location
- Cheap
- Free internet access (though very slow)

Cons...
- Small and dirty rooms
- Dead cockroaches on the stairs
- Prison style bathrooms
- Restaurant food awful and also dirty
- No cleaning carried our during our stay (four nights post trek, two nights before)
- Bathroom flood (due to drains) was blamed on us because our hair had blocked the drains even though there was a drain cover and absolutely no hair!
- Strange owner who paced the dining room and even followed us up to the roof, obviously to check we were behaving ourselves
- Unspeakable toilet full of previous owners erm, mess in our room

To be honest, it was so bad it became funny. I would not recommend Norling Guest House, or ever stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emily79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan T, Owner at Hotel Pleasure Home, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear, emily79

Dear Sir
We are very much sorry for all the inconvenience caused we will to work on all the possible places where we had mistaken . Our goal was to satisfy our guests but in this case knowingly unknowingly we could not satisfy you . Thank you for the suggestion.

Best Regards,
Milan Thapa
Norling Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    29
    10
    10
    4
See reviews for
7
22
34
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2011

This is our second time to ls live here , the boss Milan is very kind man with big smile . The Norling locat in the center of Teamel , offer 24 hour hot water , comfort room , staff serve also great ,of course with attractive room price . I am looking forwards to been here again !

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan T, Manager at Hotel Pleasure Home, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear, lu R

Thank you for taking your time, for writing this review ! we will make sure that in the coming future we will make the hotel more better then now and provide our guests more facilities and services. More and thank you for your feedback. we really feel great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.


Best Regards,
E-commerce Manager
Ram Parajuli
Norling Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Western Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

When we arrived we were told the hotel was over-booked as previous guests couldn't leave due to aircraft problems. We were put into a very noisy small room at the front of the hotel. There were three of us and this was not a room suitable for three beds. The lighting was dreadful. Heaps of globes were missing. Twice we asked if someone could look at the situation as we could barely see. No result. Twice we had to ask for a third towel. Lighting in the corridor outside our room was not working. There were bedroom windows opening into this very dark corridor. It was quite hazardous. Twice we asked for someone to attend to this. Of course nothing happened. We had our Everest flight early in the morning and staff were aware of this. We had to head down stairs in the dark to exit the hotel for this but it was difficult to see the steps down to the lobby as it was so dark at the bottom. These are major safety issues but they were ignored. Back from our Everest flight we went into the dining room for breakfast. Although breakfast was included in our tariff we were told we would have to pay for it. I had to go to Reception to complain and only after Reception checked with someone else were we able to eat of our meal.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeanmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed here for three nights. Nothing bad to say. Everything was perfect, from cleanliness to service passing through price. This hotel is situated in the old part of Katmandu,The property is beautiful, the room was spotless, and the staff is friendly and pleasant very kind and attentive. Highly recommended. It is conveniently located, close to everything in a hustling bustling place. I really enjoy the rooftop garden with all modern amenities.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zung_li_xem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan T, Manager at Hotel Pleasure Home, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear, zung,


Greeting from Norling Guest House!

Thank you for your feedback. We really feel great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are very happy to know that you like every aspect of our service we look forward to seeing you
again!

Ram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Milan, and the whole staff at Norling Guest house, made our trip to Kathmandu one to remember. Norling Guest house is extremely affordable and by far and away the best value versus other hostels/hotels we considered.

Norling has a great location, WIFI, no curfew, clean rooms, hot water, and plenty of places to read/work - this should be the de facto place to stay for backpackers in Kathmandu!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Norling Guest House is a great place in Thamel. It is quiet place in the middle of busy Thamel. Milan and his team are great hosts and you feel staying at a friend's place. They are very friendly people and help you that you have a great time in Kathmandu. The rooms are nice and have hot water 24/7.
It's the place to stay in Thamel.

Room Tip: Just ask to see the rooms before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globaltraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorlingGuestHouse, Manager at Hotel Pleasure Home, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
Thank you very much for your review and in the coming future we will make our hotel more comfortable and thank you again for taking your time for writing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The hotel is perfect for a stay in Kathmandu. Stayed there for a couple nights with 2 friends and we all enjoyed it. It's clean, has hot water, a restaurant downstairs, and the staff is great. The proprietor Milan was especially nice and very helpful in getting us flights. I would highly recommend Norling to anybody looking for a nice place at a good price in Kathmandu. Thanks for our stay Milan!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan T, Owner at Hotel Pleasure Home, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear Ryan,
Thanking you for your feedback. We really feel great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We always want's to know your feedback from you. We certainly look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Namaste Nepal Hotels and Apartment
0.1 mi away
Maya Boutique Hotel
Maya Boutique Hotel
#23 of 198 in Kathmandu
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buddha Garden Hotel
Buddha Garden Hotel
#168 of 198 in Kathmandu
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel The Sacred Valley Home
Hotel The Sacred Valley Home
#25 of 198 in Kathmandu
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Home Hotel
Kathmandu Home Hotel
#82 of 198 in Kathmandu
277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#6 of 198 in Kathmandu
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pleasure Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pleasure Home

Property: Hotel Pleasure Home
Address: Jyatha Street, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal (Formerly Hotel Norling Nepal)
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pleasure Home 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, Hotel in the very heart of Thamel District of Kathmandu. We offer 31 spacious rooms, with private bath and showers that feature 24 hours hot water, making us one of the few hotels in Thamel to offer such a service. Beautiful roof gardens for relaxant. Room service is available. The Hotel Pleasure Home makes the ideal location to work from for all of your sightseeing in the Kathmandu Valley. We offer a travel desk to help make arrangements for traveling and trekking into other parts of Nepal. Free wi-fi in all the rooms. Air-Conditioned rooms available. We have in our rooms from single beds to our luxurious king-size beds. All rooms come with view. Uniquely decorated in Tibetan theme, courtesy of Tibetan refugees who initially built our guest house. Enjoy our spa and business center as well as satellite TV in all of the rooms. Clean and comfortable. You'll sleep well here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pleasure Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing