We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pleasure Home
Ranked #79 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Homely”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Large comfy beds and free wifi, however unfortunately they don't have a generator to pick up the slack of the rolling blackouts. I stayed twice, and the second time there was power for less than 2 hours in the first 28 hours of being there. Which means no hot shower! And the second time I stayed they had no heater despite it being freezing in the rooms.
I really enjoyed the people and the food though, they were really friendly, service was great. The location is right on the outskirts of Thamel which I found perfect, good shops just outside the door. Can recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacMBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan T, Manager at Hotel Pleasure Home, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear JacM,

Greetings From Norling Guest House!
Thank your for your time to write review in TripAdvisor. We really feel great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. For lights we don't put the big generator for back up because big generator make sound pollution in surroundings so it creat the problem during night time. Thank you for you feed back we will defiantly slove this problem. Norling Guest House always wants to give best service to our customer we always appreciated your feed back and we will give best service.

Best Regards,
E-commerce Manager
Ram Sundar Parajuli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    29
    10
    10
    4
See reviews for
6
22
34
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rishikesh, Uttarakhand, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2013

I just spent 3 nights at the Norling. My first visit to Nepal (a short trip) and I appreciated all their helpful suggestions on places to go, gave good directions, made phone calls for me, etc. Was great being picked up at the airport, as i arrived very late but driver was there waiting with my name card. Rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet (I was on the back side). Nice breakfast is included....and they make great masala chai. The only thing that I think could be improved is when the power goes out (which it does about 16 hours a day in Nepal) that their backup generator accommodate the heaters in the room, as it was very cold...maybe this is not possible,I don't know, just a suggestion. The location is good, right in the heart of Thamel, easy walking to all the little shops, if that's what you want to do!

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan T, Manager at Hotel Pleasure Home, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Dear Lalita,

Greetings From Norling Guest House !

Thank you for high rating in tripadvisor . Thank you for your feed back. We really feel great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are doing our best to give best service to our customer.

Best Regards,
Ram Parajuli (E-commerce Manager)
Norling Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indore, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We stayed in Kathmandu for 2 days, we selected Norling after extensive search. The price they offered for services they have was quite reasonable. Rooms and toilet were very clean and they have prompt service. One thing which we didn't liked was one morning we have to bath from cold water , but having said that it could be sorted out after talking to manager. They were ever helping.
Thanks.

Room Tip: Negotiate with the manager regarding room tariff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vaibhavpandey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan T, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Pleasure Home, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Dear,vaibhav

Thanking you for your feed back. We really feel great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
we are very sorry for the cold shower because the power cuts that time . We certainly look forward to give best service to the our guest.

Best Regards
Ram Sundar Parajuli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

nice location. cost effective. but the restaurant service time is unacceptable. it took 45 to 60 mitutes to serve food.
rooms are pretty good for price. hotel lounge is good enough. has internet cafe.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErfanOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan T, Manager at Hotel Pleasure Home, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Dear Erfan,

thank you for your feed back. we really feel great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us .
We certainly look forward to see you again.


Best Regards,
E-commerce manager
Ram
Norling Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We really had good time at the Norling, the Staff was very kind with us and the service too.Also we enjoy the food at the restourant very nice and good. So I can suggest to anyone that want to spend sometime in Kathmandu to go to the Norling, a vey quiet and friendly place and also not expensive at all. From the Norling you can easily walk all over the center city and the staff is very helpful in any request you need. Probably this year we will go back to Kathmandu and I will go again to the Norling. Namaste to everybody, peace, Patrizio Casadei

Room Tip: We just took a room that was free becouse the others were full, but anyway everything was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrizio_pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan T, Owner at Hotel Pleasure Home, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear Patrizio,

Thank you for your feedback. we realy feel great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us .
we certainly look forward to see you again.

E-commerce manager
ram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Nice, central hotel in Thamel district. Wifi, power generator. Everything you need for your first few days in town. Staff is very helful and friendly, makes you feel at home ;-).

We tried the hotel's restaurant food few times, it was good. We loved the Milk Tea they serve.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan T, Owner at Hotel Pleasure Home, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear, Vera,

Thank you for your feed back. We really feel great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We certainly look forward to see you again.


Best reagards,
Ram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed at Norling hotel 3 nights. Stuff was really nice and polite altough they started with triple price before we made a deal. Clean and nice room compare to India"s experience. Rooms to the street are noisy but where is silence in this area? Breakfast ok, other food we didnot have. Altough check out is at 12 they let us stay till 15 which i appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomjorss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan T, Owner at Hotel Pleasure Home, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Thank you for choosing Norling Guest House for your recent stay in Kathmandu.
Would you review us on TripAdvisor? Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' comments before booking their own visits. And we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve.
Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Norling Guest House the next time you're in Kathmandu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tayoma
Hotel Tayoma
#115 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blue Horizon
Hotel Blue Horizon
#86 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#68 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Discovery Inn
Hotel Discovery Inn
#117 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Potala Guest House
Potala Guest House
#89 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#6 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pleasure Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pleasure Home

Property: Hotel Pleasure Home
Address: Jyatha Street, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal (Formerly Hotel Norling Nepal)
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pleasure Home 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, Hotel in the very heart of Thamel District of Kathmandu. We offer 31 spacious rooms, with private bath and showers that feature 24 hours hot water, making us one of the few hotels in Thamel to offer such a service. Beautiful roof gardens for relaxant. Room service is available. The Hotel Pleasure Home makes the ideal location to work from for all of your sightseeing in the Kathmandu Valley. We offer a travel desk to help make arrangements for traveling and trekking into other parts of Nepal. Free wi-fi in all the rooms. Air-Conditioned rooms available. We have in our rooms from single beds to our luxurious king-size beds. All rooms come with view. Uniquely decorated in Tibetan theme, courtesy of Tibetan refugees who initially built our guest house. Enjoy our spa and business center as well as satellite TV in all of the rooms. Clean and comfortable. You'll sleep well here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Pleasure Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing