We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service oriented hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

TENKI HOTEL IS SITUATED IN HEART OF THAMEL AN GOOD SHOPPING AREA ALL DANCEBARS,RESTAURANTS ARE IN WAQLKING DISTANCE.ROOMS ARE NEAT AND CLEAN WITH GOOD VENTILATIONS AND AIRY DIRECTIONS WITH WIFI EQUPPED ROOMS. LOVELY AND COOPERATIVE STAFF ALWAYS READY TO HELP YOU FOR ANY NEEDS FROM AN MOBILE SIMCARD TO ANY SMALL NESSECITY GOODS.

we travelled on group tour of 30 persons on company tour, we were taken care by entire staff of hotel from the security person to the bell boy and utmost care was taken by mr kiran pathak managing director of the hotel personally in each and every aspect from rooming to transportation and menu selection of food , as regard food , the menu was excellent and whatever we demanded was given on our demand with smile by cook and his team.

transport arrangments were excellent and we appreceated when mr pathak personaly accompanied us in sightseeing. our entire group was happy and felt like family at home.

roof top restaurant was good which i had rare time to visit, but just had a view of it.

i am rest assured that now my clients will be in safe hands when they are in katmandu.

Room Tip: all rooms are good and airy.ac are old but in good working condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kashmirathaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

552 - 558 of 753 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Tenki hotel is located in a great spot in khatmandu and has a lovely staff and also contains good shape rooms good wifi and lovely rooftop with an amazing view. For any
Concern you'll have there is always a person to help you with a great smile :))

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Noa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel was selected by my travel agent. It can be given just 2 stars.
As u come out you step on to the crowded road. No place to relax a little.It would have been better it there is a garden. Staff are friendly and helpful. The restaurant is gloomy.
The complimentary B/Fast is good.

Room Tip: No choice in selecting a room but ask for the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raj_Abel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This hotel is marked as 3 stars - in my European standers we are talking about a 2 stars hotel. I think in Nepal you cant expect too much so i am going to describe the hotel without compering it to the hotel levels in Nepal because i just dont know. its the only hotel that i stayed at in Kathmandu.
Rooms: basic but clean. Old furniture but maintained well. comfortable bed. i slept well and i have a bad back.The bed was clean but i would bring my own sheets. There was almost always hot water, the shower was ok but the toilet gets wet every time you shower. Some rooms have air conditioning, in my room it wasnt working. No elevator so if you are on the 5th floor you have some climbing. There are rooms with view to the city and rooms that have a window to an inner hotel grey wall that is like an air way, those rooms are a bit dark. On the fifth floor there is great view and air. I would ask for those rooms. The service was nice, welcoming and helpful. The food outside i think is better. The location in the Thamel is great, there are very nice restaurants and bars right outside of the hotel. Also i like that they lock the hotel at night for security reasons. They also have a small safe for money and passports by the lobby. Wifi on ground floor and on 2nd and 4th floor i think. So in conclusion, if this hotel is your budget its a great choice, if you have a larger budget i would go to a 5 stars hotel which would probably be like a European 4 stars.

Room Tip: ask for rooms with a view, working air condition, ask for a fan, i saw they put in new beds so you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCohenTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I highly recommend this hotel , it is very clean, neat, and beautiful. The staff go out of their way
to assist the visitors in any way. help with directions, help; to get a taxi, anything you need they are here to help us. The food is very good and they help with any special needs you may have.
I highly recommend this hotel and I will visit it again. ..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I'm from Mexico city, in a back pack trip in Nepal. I spent 5 days in Hotel Tenki and I realy enjoyed my stay. The staff is very kind, always have a smile and try to help you if you need something. Really a good location in the center of Thamel.
Shiva is the owner, a great guy who likes to talk and share always a different point of view about anything.
I recomend you write him if you need something in Thamel shivaharius@gmail.com

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alfonso J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

We came to the hotel with a big group of volunteers from Amics del Nepal. From the beginning the staff of the hotel (and the owner Shiwa) were very friendly and we felt very comfortable. The rooms are very clean according to the standards of Kathmandu and very good Dhalbat in the restaurant! We will be back for sure!!!
Über alles sehr gut!
Gràcies x tot

David & Marta

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#9 of 209 in Kathmandu
358 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oasis Kathmandu Hotel
Oasis Kathmandu Hotel
#2 of 209 in Kathmandu
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 209 in Kathmandu
493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#33 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 209 in Kathmandu
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Grand Hotel

Address: Chaksibari Marg | Thamel, Kathmandu 10866, Nepal (Formerly Hotel Tenki)
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: £23 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kathmandu Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kathmandu Grand Hotel has become one of the most renowned names in the hospitality industry. Ever since it has been established in 1995, this two star hotel in Nepal, Kathmandu has changed the way moderately priced hotels operated by providing amenities of international standard at affordable rates. Our hotel has been designed keeping in mind safety, hygiene and comfort. Elegantly designed rooms, excellent services and other modern amenities make us stand apart from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kathmandu Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing