We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“good choice in thamel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kathmandu Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“good choice in thamel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

i stayed for 9 nights in a deluxe room in hotel tenki in february 2014. the room was clean and housekeeping insisted on daily cleaning and changed the towels daily. a breakfast buffet (toast, butter/jam, porridge, potatoes, eggs, sausage, banana, apple, juice) was included in the room price. staff was very friendly and helpful. the location is very good because its in the thamel but you can get out of it within 1 minute and then find cheaper shops and restaurants as well. wifi is available in the room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielawy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    80
    24
    2
    2
See reviews for
48
101
114
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We visited 27th Dec., 2013. Our tour operator Rahul Sharma booked this hotel for us. This hotel Tenki is located in a busy market area (Thamel Road, Kathmandu) but you can not hear any noise or outside disturbance from inside the hotel. Old hotel but clean enough. Comfortable rooms, hot water (only in morning). From the reception desk I got information booklet about Kathmandu tourist spots. With their help we chalked out our local tour plan earlier.

We stayed only one night in this hotel. Our impression about the restaurant of Tenki was good.
You can also have alternative choices for dinning outside.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinaki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We booked hotel tenki through online hotel booking portal just for one night but when we enter hotel we feel like our home. next day we start our trek. after trek back same hotel and four more days. we find this hotel very comfortable, under the very good location for shopping, restaurant, and other market, all the staff and owner of this hotel are very friendly and help full. we highly recommend this hotel for budget traveler.

devid

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Following a friend's recommendation, I stayed at Tenki for a few days during the month of Sep 2013 and again in Jan 2014. The hotel is perfectly situated in the buzzing tourists' hub of Thamel close to great dining and entertainment and yet further away from the noise and traffic congestion. Rooms are exceptionally clean, comfortable, reasonably equipped and affordable. The hotel restaurant serves tasty Nepali dishes if you don't wish to step out (as was my case during my first few days in Nepal ....jet lag...). The staff is most helpful, friendly and accommodating - especially Shiva, the hotel manager.
I would recommend this hotel to all my friends in a heart beat. Check in out and don't forget to ask Shiva about his interesting enterprise "Social Tourism Development and Research Foundation (STDRF)" integrating sight-seeing and tourism in Nepal with community work benefiting local communities in Nepal while providing tourists with an exceptional point of view, and interesting opportunities for exploration and contribution.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leah13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel T, Front Office Manager at Kathmandu Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear valuable guest

Warm Greeting from Hotel Tenki Nepal. Thank you very much for your time to write great review of Hotel tenki. It was our great pleasure to have you at our Hotel. We are pleased to know that you liked our services and had a comfortable stay in our hotel. We wish to welcome you again and again. We will always do our best for all our clients and our main goal will be to offer our best service to our guest.
Once again thank you for your review.

Thanks & Regards

Ganesh Giri
Hotel Tenki P. ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I came to volunteer in Nepal, and when the volunteer was over i was looking for a room in the main street of Nepal called "Thamel" to spend a few nights. I didn't have much money(but I had a friend who stayed there and recommended me about Kenti) and so I wrote the hotel an email asking for a price for the room and wrote that my budget is low. Shiva(the hotel manager) answered to me that I will come and we will find a solution. and so it happened. Shiva was touched by the willing to help his country and decided to help me too.

the hotel is in perfect location, a minute walk from the center of the restaurants and bars but just far enough so the noise of the street wont bother.
when I came to the hotel we met and he said to me something that I will never forget "you cant help other people if you're not good".


The room was amazing and clean, and above all my expectations. The bed was super comfortable, maybe the most comfortable Ive had since I started traveling in Asia. The shower was incredible. The staff is super nice and was smiling always.

Talking to Shiva was very interesting too, he told me about his non-profit organization called "Social Tourism Development & Research Foundation" which is also nurturing the tourism but also developing communities. Before reaching a certain community he aspires to research about them and first understand deeply about the community his trying to help to.
he encourages groups from all over the world and corporate with them so together they create a strong basic for helping people from needed communities.

If I loved Nepali people before, I adored them after this experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austrian Alps, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel Tenki looks very simple from outside but when you get into the hotel as a individual traveler you will get complete suggestions for your all tour or travel or trekking packages. Rooms are clean. Staffs are so friendly. Welcome always with tea or coffee. If you have a short time ask to Shiva for real experience of Nepal. His members from Social Tourism Development and Research Foundation, Nepal help you. It is not only a hotel you will get to learn whole Nepal even from a short visit.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Fansesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed in Hotel Tenki which is owned by a very lovely, kind and down to earth person called "SHIVA". The service we got from him and his staff was absolutely fabulous. Rooms were so clean and comfortable. The hotel is located in the heart of the city called Thamel and very easy access to the shops, cafes and restaurants. The hotel food was really yummy and believe it or not I miss the vegetarian thali. Oh also if you are a coffee person then please ask for "Shiva Coffee". That coffee is the best coffee you will ever experience in Nepal. The owner of the hotel - Shiva & Kiran are very helpful and literally spend a lot of time managing and organising the Itinerary which made our trip really smooth and enjoyable. Main thing I like about Shiva is, he started his organisation called "Social Tourism Development & Research Foundation (STDRF) which is absolutely non-profit organisation. Basically this organisation is set up for developing the social tourism in Nepal and the profit goes to very good cause. Good cause means, this STDRF organisation allows the tourists to experience Nepal in it's truest of forms while assisting those communities in need. Shiva's passion for social tourism is infectious as it promotes a healthy growth of true nepalese site scenes that benefits both the foreigner and the local people. I would love to go back to the hotel if I get a chance in my life.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#2 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#7 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#18 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#5 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#8 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Grand Hotel

Property: Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Address: Chaksibari Marg | Thamel, Kathmandu 10866, Nepal (Formerly Hotel Tenki)
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kathmandu Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kathmandu Grand Hotel has become one of the most renowned names in the hospitality industry. Ever since it has been established in 1995, this two star hotel in Nepal, Kathmandu has changed the way moderately priced hotels operated by providing amenities of international standard at affordable rates. Our hotel has been designed keeping in mind safety, hygiene and comfort. Elegantly designed rooms, excellent services and other modern amenities make us stand apart from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and HostelWorld so you can book your Kathmandu Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing