We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shree Tibet Family Guest House, Kathmandu” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shree Tibet Family Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
Ranked #41 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shree Tibet Family Guest House, Kathmandu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Our family stayed at Shree Tibet family Hotel, and enjoyed very much the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The staff made a very tasty omelette for breakfast, They were always happy to help with queries and interested in our daily activities when we returned from the day's excursion. Our room was comfortable, recommend the back rooms away from the street. With load shedding, a hot shower is best had at the end of the period when electricity has been on. Would return to stay if we are ever able to return to Nepal. Shree Tibet is close to pleasant restaurants for eating. A short distance to Kanti Path to get a taxi at cheaper rates.

Room Tip: As above, rooms at the back and 3rd floor and above as buildings close on either side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaylene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    92
    34
    13
    3
See reviews for
20
59
141
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Central Location, Honest and Friendly Staff, Clean Rooms, Travel Agency, free Wi-Fi, Kitchen, Pick-up from the airport, Competitive prices. All you need before starting your trip to Himalayas is here. Thanks for everything. Chris

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surendra L, General Manager at Shree Tibet Family Guest House, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Cristian!
Greetings & Warm remembering from Shree Tibet Family Guest House!!!
Thank you so much for your nice review and you like our guest house, location, people etc..
We hope see you again in the future.
All the best and always have a great time.
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
Thamel Kathmandu Nepal.
www.hotelshreetibet.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

It wasn't our initial intention to stay at this hotel, but we ended up here after Festoon Hotel referred us over, claiming that both hotels shared the same management. We had initially made our booking online via booking.com, and we paid the same price as we would had at Festoon Hotel (I have no idea which was supposed to cost more). Both hotels were just about 1 min walk from each other.

Nevertheless, Shree Tibet did not disappoint. For the price, the hotel is probably one of the best in the Thamel area. The Thamel area is well connected with lots of supermarkets, cafes, bars and restaurants. On the hotel, the room was clean. The wifi was a little weak as we were staying on the 3rd floor (nearest to the street), but it still work fine. There is also a shared computer on the first floor available for public use.

The only negative was that hot shower did not work that night. The management claimed that it was because of the power cuts across Kathmandu (until 10pm), and hot shower would be restored together with the power eventually. We decided against taking another shower to prove their point though.

Stayed in April 2014 for 1 Night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l0nEr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my friend stayed there two times (in total probably 10 days). It is not the cheapest place, but you get good value for the money. We only stayed in the dorm (four beds). The beds and plankets are very comfortable! We met a lot of nice people in the dorm, which is also why we stayed in the dorm. The staff was nice and helpfull. They boiled water for us, we booked tours through them, they let us in in the middle of the night when we came nocking on the door drunk. The bathrooms were okay, and clean. We would stay there if we come to Nepal again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I Used the guest house on & off 3 times over a period of about 4 weeks between treks into the mountains. The guest house crew seamlessly organised the best guide I could ask for for a solo trek through their network of friends & businesses They kept the 3rd storey room I asked for when I returned both times, stored my gear with no dramas and were always up for a chat or advice whenever I needed something including drinking water or phone charging. The hot shower was the best I had in my whole time during my stay in Nepal & the beds so so comfortable! What blew my mind completely was the unconditional offer by Surendra (the boss) to lend me money after I arrived at night from a trek with only 200rupees & all the ATM machines were down due to the daily electricity "load-shedding". I needed cash for a coffee, a meal and a massage. The next day I went to pay him back and he almost seemed to have forgotten. Really close to the best places to eat & explore. Love this place. Thanx for the great stays.

Room Tip: Upstairs - 305/6 or 405/6 - overlooking the street. A little bit of night noise sometimes but if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The place provided with a great stay while in Kathmandu and for the price it came in, I would say it was the best we could have found. The hotel has great comfortable rooms well provided for and the place is well connected as well and has a lot of cafes and shops around. Staffs are really warm and welcoming and were helping all along our stay. I had stayed at the place with my friends and we had an amazing time at the house especially hanging around at their rooftop restaurant.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank tristanbryan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

After travelling around India for a month, the Shree Tibet was literally like Heaven! We had a standard double room and the bed was the best bed in the world. It was so comfy and the quilt was like a big marshmellow! The other facilities offered were all great, staff were friendly and helpful and the location was perfect. For the price of this hotel it is amazing value for money and i would 100% recommend to anyone visiting Kathmandu.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BECKYHEARTSNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#43 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pariwar B&B
Pariwar B&B
#62 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#3 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adventure Home
Adventure Home
#88 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shree Tibet Family Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shree Tibet Family Guest House

Property: Shree Tibet Family Guest House
Address: 133 Thamel Bhagwati Marg | P.O.Box: 9299, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shree Tibet Family Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Tibetan Family run hotel founded in 1992. We are proud that for the last 15 years we have made our guest always feel at home with our warm friendly Tibetan and Nepali hospitality. We are always ready to assist you and answer your every inquiry from meditation classes to rafting and trekking adventures. We are located at a quiet nook in the heart of Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal, a spot where you find exquisite taste of food, the colorful handicrafts shops and just about everything all in a few minutes walk from us. Get a perspective view of the natural beauty of surrounding Kathmandu Valley from our exotic roof top garden. The rooms are tastefully decorated at reasonable prices. Here you will always find the best of Tibetan and Nepali hospitality and we assure you of a peaceful night sleep. Recommended by major guide books such as Lonely Planet and Guide du Routard for more than 10 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Shree Tibet Family Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing