We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Star in Thamel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Khangsar Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Khangsar Guest House
Ranked #11 of 436 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Star in Thamel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Guys,
there are many places to stay in Thamel, and if your schedule allows you to spend days in a hotel without venturing out, there are lots of other options here, but if you're looking for a place that puts you in the center of Thamel, free wifi and barely touches your pocketbook in the process, this is your place. The helpful, always present staff catered to my needs immediately, from getting the right power adaptor for my US netbook to an ever full cup of tea. This is more than just a inexpensive roost, this is a base-camp.

Room Tip: try to get on the 2nd floor, less stairs but further from rooftop
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    112
    34
    18
    13
See reviews for
18
90
150
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kenya
Level Contributor
241 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

The staff at Khangsar is golden; they're willing to do anything to help -- they even picked up my hiking boots (which I mailed to Kathmandu ahead of time) from the post office for me! They set up plane tickets and a porter for my trekking trip. Breakfast is included and the price is good; however, the rooms are really dirty. I saw cockroaches in my room both days I stayed there, and the water coming from the tap and in the toilet was brown. The location is good and there are hot water showers -- luckily not brown water.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We loved about this hostel is close enough to get anywhere on foot. Being even in one of the world's crowdest city, experienced less traffic noise inside the room and got chance to see 'life' around . The staff was extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. We were especially thrilled with the man who runs the travel desk as he had fantastic suggestions on places to see and ways to get the most out of your visit.
We were able to see so much more because of him. We had a room on the top floor and enjoyed the roof garden as well as ever-lasting hot water. The main lounge with tibeten style was a great place to use the wifi and meet other guests. I would most definitely stay here the next time I am in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Rosemerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thimphu, Bhutan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

The hospitality is nice there...... and food is nice too. The service is very good. The Khangsar Guest House in located in the middle of town, in proper Thamel, at Chetrapati.

Room Tip: It has rooftop garden....n fast free wi-fi internet service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TandinSparx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
århus, denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

I can recommend Khangsar Guest House in the heart of Thamel - very nice and helpfull staff - wonderfull roof-garden and fine room with hot shower :-)
See you again in september 2011

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kar0line
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

I booked Khangsar Guest House with Hostelworld.com. I am an experienced traveler and I have to say there is only one thing that is important to me wherever I go: trust. Can I have faith in the staff and management? I comfortably placed a high amount of trust with the staff at Khangsar. Their attitude and generosity was simply overwhelming. A beautiful reflection of the local culture. Plus, competitive pricing. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank DrewUSA1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guesthousekathmandu, Public Relations Manager at Khangsar Guest House, responded to this review, 23 July 2011
Hello Drew! Thank you so much for your few lines about us in tripadvisor. Appericiate very much and hoping to see you next time in my country!
Manager !
Rajendra Bhatta!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merzouga, Morocco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

I stayed in Khagsar for almost 2 weeks, so I really got to know the staff and the location. Yes, the rooms could use a little update, but for a budget hotel, this is usually the case. The location is prime, quietest street in Thamel area. Two great & super affordable restaurants really close. I used the office phone for local calls a bunch, free wifi in my room, & the rooftop has great views. My room was apparently the loudest in the hotel, but it didn't bother me, I had a great vantage point for watching street life. I booked bus tickets, rafting, taxi's, anything right in the hotel, Raj was very helpful, he even helped me sell my bicycle. If your looking for simple and cheap, this place is a great choice.

Room Tip: Free wifi is in the front of the hotel, ask for a view, its not that loud in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank themissinglinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tantra2011, General Manager at Khangsar Guest House, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Thank-you for taking the time to review. We will soon be updating our guest rooms and provide more good services in coming days. we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you soon again!
Kind Regards,
Raj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#3 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#22 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#43 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Boutique Hotel
Kathmandu Boutique Hotel
#3 of 436 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khangsar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khangsar Guest House

Property: Khangsar Guest House
Address: PO Box 20976, Thamel | Chhetrapati, Kathmandu 25451, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 436 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Khangsar Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Thamel in a quiet area, rooftop garden restaurant, 24 hr hot & cold showers, friendly staff. You will find good hospitality and accommodation at a very affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Khangsar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khangsar Guest House Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing