We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be very careful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Khangsar Guest House
Ranked #12 of 433 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Be very careful”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

I choosed to stay here due to nice comments about nice and friendly enviroment. The guest house location is very central , yes there is similing service but rooms are not clean, running water is brown. Manager can arranged everything you would like however in my case;
1-) I was asked to pay double in USD for the trip to Bhaktapur compared to travel agent which was at downstair
2-) when you need taxi for airport, a kind of private car comes and you end up paying 50% more.
So be careful with smile and all advertise chairty work in guest house , there is a bit fake and cheating part of it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Bengikoksaloglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    114
    37
    21
    14
See reviews for
18
94
156
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Latacunga, Ecuador
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have stayed here three times now and booked a trek with the owner. The rooms are basic but clean and have (most of the time) hot water and a fan. The staff are always smiling and willing to help in anyway they can. The breakfast is also great value and the location is perfect, not noisy but centrally located so you can get around Thamel easily by foot. The airport pick up is vital but they never hold up a sign so make sure you ask around and you will find your driver! We also took the Kathmandu valley tour with them which was a tiring but great day if you do not have long in Kathmandu.

Room Tip: Top rooms are quiet but quite a walk up those stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishikesh, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

waw i have found one of the best place in Kathmandu . the supporting staff was great and always help full . and all the things was on time .i stayed about 3 nights . it was very good experience in Kathmandu .if you are visiting around in Kathmandu .so Khangsar Guest House could be a good choice .

a great than x to management ☺

Room Tip: i suggests people roof top can be a good nice choice .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saurav121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelty, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed here for two nights and days,22/09-24/09, and found the staff friendly and helpful. They helped arrange a couple of trips for me at very short notice. The rooms were clean and there was always hot water for washing and showering.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

As i am regular nepal visitor i used khangsar guest house few times.. Had comfortable stay and didnt have any problem what they have promised. Really friendly staff makes my stay happy and comfortable, Mukhya who works at night he was happy to open door at middle of night with smile and we became like friend and he even took us at boudhnath after his duty.

Its so cheap and they had new thick matress and i love it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

In my opinion, the hotel has a great atmosphere. The rooftop sitting area brings you to a relaxed and peaceful area where you can chill with your friends and new backpackers.
Rooms are cosy but they lack of cleaningness. Water from the water basin appears to come out brown...
Bed linen is provided but not very clean though.
Service is excellent and educated.
Its most valuable good is its location. In the heart of Thamel and Chhetrapati, where you can find awesome shops and awesome restaurants near-by.
I totally recommend this place to budget travellers in special, although prices aren't very cheap...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jorviz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

After searching a place to stay in Kathmandu I came across this great guest house. It is an affordable, clean hostel and it is in the middle of Thamel. The staff are very friendly and they are willing to help with anything, you just gotta ask. I became really good friends with Mukhiya, really funny and friendly, Raj, the manager, is here to help you in case you dont have any plans in Nepal, he can arrange anything according to your time. I strongly suggest this place to stay.

Room Tip: All room are about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iJonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#6 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#51 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#7 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#10 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khangsar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khangsar Guest House

Property: Khangsar Guest House
Address: PO Box 20976, Thamel | Chhetrapati, Kathmandu 25451, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Khangsar Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Thamel in a quiet area, rooftop garden restaurant, 24 hr hot & cold showers, friendly staff. You will find good hospitality and accommodation at a very affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Khangsar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khangsar Guest House Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing