We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good price / quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Khangsar Guest House
Ranked #9 of 432 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“very good price / quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

very good price / quality, centrally located (Thamel and Cchetrapati) staff is very friendly and helpful. Tourist information and opportunities.When booking over the internet you will be picked up free at the airport

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter-bert r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    114
    36
    18
    13
See reviews for
18
93
151
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Solagna, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

It has been a pleasure to spend some days here in this guest house in Kathmandu, the staff is very nice and they could solve all the problems I had, they booked a nice and cheap trip for me in Chitwan, everything nice and good rooms with a nice terrace on top of the building to relax from the dusty and noisy (but so fascinating) roads of Thamel Some problems with the powercuts of course like in all Kath

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dario f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Khangsar, the staff were fantastic! Its located in a great part of Thamel, central yet away from the chaos. The rooms were relatively clean and the showers were fantastic! Another plus was the WI-FI connection, was working 95% of the time. The staff were helpful with directions to attractions and cafe/restaurants and there is a nice little selection of breakfast meals (some included in room, some not) They make a killer banana porridge.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashlyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I recently stayed at Khangsar Guest House before and after we did the EBC Trek with Budget Adventure Treks & Expeditions. Raj and his staff are incredibly friendly and are well connected to easily organise trips and tours around Nepal. The Guest House is clean, has a nice rooftop terrace and is perfectly situated in Thamel. I will definitely be back to stay and highly recommend this to any travellers in Kathmandu!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have stayed in Khangsar for three times. The owner Raj and his staff are friendly and always try to help me as much as possible. The room is clean and the bed is comfortable. One can travel to anywhere within the city very conveniently. Its hospitable staff and wonderful location are why it's my first choice whenever I'm in Nepal.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Highly recommended budget hotel, Rajendra and his team will look after you and offer plenty of advice , lovely pink marble floors and a sun terrace. The hotel is on a traffic free alley , nice and quiet.
Pat

Room Tip: Higher up rooms get more sun warmth in Winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taoyüan, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

It's my third time stay this guest house when visit Nepal.
Of course the room and service is good.
Especially,the location is best.
It's very convenient from here to any place in Kathmandu.
No matter u want hopping in Thamel or u like to visit Patan , Swayambhu..any places in KTM.
it's easy from here to bus stand.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank san0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#1 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#48 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#9 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#8 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khangsar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khangsar Guest House

Property: Khangsar Guest House
Address: PO Box 20976, Thamel | Chhetrapati, Kathmandu 25451, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 432 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Khangsar Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Thamel in a quiet area, rooftop garden restaurant, 24 hr hot & cold showers, friendly staff. You will find good hospitality and accommodation at a very affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Khangsar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khangsar Guest House Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing