We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel at midrange price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Khangsar Guest House
Ranked #11 of 439 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Budget hotel at midrange price”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Very basic, lots of mould in the shower and dirty room. The shower water was brown, but I think that's normal in Katmandu. Its a pretty standard 1 star place, but its a 2 star price. I don't recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank trekker582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    115
    37
    21
    16
See reviews for
18
96
156
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

In it in a great spot. Easy to walk to many areas. Helpful staff. Many good choices to eat all around. A little store downstairs has beers and waters. The rooms are very basic but the beds are decent and the comforters are great. They picked us up at the airport which is great after a long travel. I would recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mainegnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

very good price / quality, centrally located (Thamel and Cchetrapati) staff is very friendly and helpful. Tourist information and opportunities.When booking over the internet you will be picked up free at the airport

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter-bert r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solagna, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

It has been a pleasure to spend some days here in this guest house in Kathmandu, the staff is very nice and they could solve all the problems I had, they booked a nice and cheap trip for me in Chitwan, everything nice and good rooms with a nice terrace on top of the building to relax from the dusty and noisy (but so fascinating) roads of Thamel Some problems with the powercuts of course like in all Kath

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dario f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Khangsar, the staff were fantastic! Its located in a great part of Thamel, central yet away from the chaos. The rooms were relatively clean and the showers were fantastic! Another plus was the WI-FI connection, was working 95% of the time. The staff were helpful with directions to attractions and cafe/restaurants and there is a nice little selection of breakfast meals (some included in room, some not) They make a killer banana porridge.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashlyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I recently stayed at Khangsar Guest House before and after we did the EBC Trek with Budget Adventure Treks & Expeditions. Raj and his staff are incredibly friendly and are well connected to easily organise trips and tours around Nepal. The Guest House is clean, has a nice rooftop terrace and is perfectly situated in Thamel. I will definitely be back to stay and highly recommend this to any travellers in Kathmandu!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have stayed in Khangsar for three times. The owner Raj and his staff are friendly and always try to help me as much as possible. The room is clean and the bed is comfortable. One can travel to anywhere within the city very conveniently. Its hospitable staff and wonderful location are why it's my first choice whenever I'm in Nepal.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 198 in Kathmandu
626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#6 of 198 in Kathmandu
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#20 of 198 in Kathmandu
583 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#7 of 198 in Kathmandu
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#45 of 198 in Kathmandu
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khangsar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khangsar Guest House

Property: Khangsar Guest House
Address: PO Box 20976, Thamel | Chhetrapati, Kathmandu 25451, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 439 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Khangsar Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Thamel in a quiet area, rooftop garden restaurant, 24 hr hot & cold showers, friendly staff. You will find good hospitality and accommodation at a very affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Khangsar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khangsar Guest House Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing