We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best staff clean place”
Review of Hotel Potala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Potala
Ranked #75 of 458 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile


This is a great place to stay, not expensive, and sweet, sincerely friendly staff. The food was good, the place had a good feel to it, quaint, very relaxed. It has a character all of it's own. We had very hot good water Kathmandu, it's part of the experience. You can be a visitor or a voyeur but to those who want total, sterile convenience - try the Miami Hilton, or stay home! We loved it, and we'd go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryn25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2013

The staff is really helpfull, though they do try you to make you book your trekking, day trips, chitwan tours etc with you. Every question or conversation lead to this. Eventually, we didnt book any trip with this hotel.

The rooms are okay, had a hot shower, but the bathroom was full of mold which you smelled immediatly after turning on the shower.

The street is very very noisy, there's a bar with a live band nearby which plays every night untill 00:30am. It;s so loud you feel like your bed is in the bar. Earplugs won't manage.
Other than the noise the location is convenient, in the center of Thamel, surrounded by the nicest restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolene88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

Hotel Potala is in a great location in Thamel, Kathmandu.

I stayed in a deluxe single (so had a bathroom and a TV) - it might be better value to just get a standard with a bathroom, as the electricity in the hotel doesn't seem to follow the load shedding grid timetable (they have emergency lighting on 24-7 though) so I rarely had use of the TV (it was post trek where all I wanted to do was go to bed early and watch movies...most people aren't in that phase when they come to Kathmandu though).

The showers were wonderful! Hot with great pressure, and the bathroom was clean (I found a tiny cockroach on my last day - but with open windows it is to be expected).

The main problem I had was the windows. To be fair it was an unexpected cold spell in Kathmandu, but it was very difficult to stay warm when the windows don't close all the way in the room. I ended up putting up newspaper to keep the cold out, and we were given extra blankets too as it was so cold.

As other people have said, it's very loud up until about 11:30-12:00 - there's a very loud bar next door, but I quite enjoyed sitting in my room listening to bands as the sound is crystal clear in the room.

Brekky was included and very tasty!

Generally a fairly good budget hotel. The hotel people were friendly and helpful - in warmer months I can see this hotel being slightly more pleasant, but overall I enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tashy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Good simple cheap hotel right smack bang in the middle of Thamel. Stayed here on and off for about three weeks. Staff are very friendly and can give you all sorts of advice. It is rather noisy at night but its in the heart of Thamel so you can't really expect otherwise. The rooms and shower are clean for the most part. Security guard is really nice and even goes on late night munchie runs for you. Free breakfast is also a plus. All in all good value for money and a primo location if you don't mind a bit of noise.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dubs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I stayed at Hotel Potala off and on for two weeks while traveling in Nepal and Bhutan. It was so nice to receive a welcome e-mail after I had booked my first night at the hotel through Lonely Planet. I was picked up at the airport. The staff were very friendly and so helpful. I learned a lot about Nepal through the friendship of the staff. It was delightful to have Jagadish introduce me to his family and village through photos and conversation while I was waiting to be picked up. I stored my luggage while I went on short trips with no problem. They helped arrange transportation or travel as well. The hotel is conveniently located. It shows it's age but that can have a charm of its own. The breakfasts hit the spot and started the day out well. The rooftop tables could use a coat of paint but it's a nice place to sit during the day.

Room Tip: Ask for in-suite bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linneakb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Hotel Potala is right in the centre of Thamel and a nice place to stay. It is, of course, noisy with bars all around. But after 11pm almost everything is quiet. Some of the simplest rooms are a bit dark and small but the ones in the corners are big and light. It is a cheap place and the staff is friendly and helpful. There is a nice rooftop garden to oversee Thamel. A good place to stay for the budget traveling backpacker. Last but not least: the shared bathrooms are very clean!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

In this hotel you will find a very friendly welcoming staff after a long trip. For 600 rupee only you get a very basic but good enough double room with shared bathroom, for the average backpacker. The hotel provides a travelservice, internetservice (against a rate 100 NPR) and laundryservice. The bathroom is very clean and gets cleaned everyday. When you're looking for a good hot shower in the morning, you're in the right place at potala hotel. The hotel is located in the very middle of Thamel, so very close to everything you need, negative factor is that it's very noisy untill 11 pm because of the loud live music coming from the surrounding bars.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ro12ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Potala Guest House
Potala Guest House
#94 of 207 in Kathmandu
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Api
Hotel Api
#110 of 207 in Kathmandu
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#50 of 207 in Kathmandu
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#15 of 207 in Kathmandu
656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Yala Peak
Hotel Yala Peak
#48 of 207 in Kathmandu
140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Access Nepal
Hotel Access Nepal
#35 of 207 in Kathmandu
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Potala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Potala

Address: Thamal | PO Box 26182, Kathmandu 00977, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 458 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: £8 - £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Potala 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Potala is a leading hotel in the heart of the Thamel neighborhood of Kathmandu.Run by a Nepali and Tibetan family, it is a perfect place for those who value time, convenience, and a safe place to stay. We've been in the hotel business since 1991 and know how to make our visitors feel like they are in our house rather than our hotel. We are close to many attractions in the city and provide a wide range of guest services and amenities. Our 27 rooms provide many lodging options, all with 24 hour a day hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Potala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing