We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful oasis in Thamel”
Review of Hotel Potala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Potala
Ranked #70 of 438 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful oasis in Thamel”
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

Great service! Rooms are small but shower and bed is ok-what else you want for these money? Ask for room with garden view-quite to sleep,fresh air and looking good. Breakfast is simple-eggs and coffee,but its in the garden-which is great for that part of Kathmandu! :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulietKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    60
    22
    12
    8
See reviews for
2
39
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

Clean, straightforward, excellent service and value for money.
Pleasant garden to sit out in.

If looking for a no nonsense place at good Nepali standard this is it.
Used by a number of NGOs and University groups.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Simple, clean room. Good food, reasonably priced. Hard to find, but everything is in this city of alleys. Just keep looking and asking and you'll get there, and then you'll wonder how you missed it. When I was there the entrance was across a narrow alley from a modern art water sculpture. Or maybe it was an ancient water pump design being used in the construction going on at the time. Good luck!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aummua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

It's not the newest or nicest Hotel but absolute class for what you pay for. What ever it lacks in style and age it definitely makes up for in customer service! The Hotel is run by amazing people who make sure you enjoy your stay. FREE BREAKFAST and plenty of choice from yogurts to omelets and pancakes. We payed 13$ US for a double w/ no bathroom and on our earlier stay 18$ for a double with bathroom and a TV. Hotel is kept well clean and the front balcony on the second floor just makes the place. Rooftop garden is quite nice also. Ear plugs might be a good buy from the corner store as it is a little bit noisy. The bars close around midnight though so the music won't last all night. I will definitely come back to Hotel Potala when back in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiltsu-182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Depending on what side of the hotel you get will determine how easy getting to sleep is. Rooms on the right and nice and certainly quieter than those on the left. They are cleans and tidy though and the hotel is run by a great team who can't do enough for you. It's also in the heart of Thamel and surround by some good restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevtherev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile


This is a great place to stay, not expensive, and sweet, sincerely friendly staff. The food was good, the place had a good feel to it, quaint, very relaxed. It has a character all of it's own. We had very hot good water Kathmandu, it's part of the experience. You can be a visitor or a voyeur but to those who want total, sterile convenience - try the Miami Hilton, or stay home! We loved it, and we'd go back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryn25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

The staff is really helpfull, though they do try you to make you book your trekking, day trips, chitwan tours etc with you. Every question or conversation lead to this. Eventually, we didnt book any trip with this hotel.

The rooms are okay, had a hot shower, but the bathroom was full of mold which you smelled immediatly after turning on the shower.

The street is very very noisy, there's a bar with a live band nearby which plays every night untill 00:30am. It;s so loud you feel like your bed is in the bar. Earplugs won't manage.
Other than the noise the location is convenient, in the center of Thamel, surrounded by the nicest restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolene88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Potala Guest House
Potala Guest House
#86 of 201 in Kathmandu
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Api
Hotel Api
#102 of 201 in Kathmandu
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nepal Tara
Hotel Nepal Tara
#133 of 201 in Kathmandu
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
0.1 mi away
Pariwar B&B
Pariwar B&B
#83 of 201 in Kathmandu
334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Karma Travellers Home
Karma Travellers Home
#47 of 438 in Kathmandu
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Potala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Potala

Property: Hotel Potala
Address: Thamal | PO Box 26182, Kathmandu 00977, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 438 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Potala 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Potala is a leading hotel in the heart of the Thamel neighborhood of Kathmandu.Run by a Nepali and Tibetan family, it is a perfect place for those who value time, convenience, and a safe place to stay. We've been in the hotel business since 1991 and know how to make our visitors feel like they are in our house rather than our hotel. We are close to many attractions in the city and provide a wide range of guest services and amenities. Our 27 rooms provide many lodging options, all with 24 hour a day hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Potala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing