We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“classy breakfast balcony”
Review of Hotel Potala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Potala
Ranked #70 of 433 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“classy breakfast balcony”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Lots of surrounding music, great atmosphere, very friendly. highly recommended. Centrally located in the middle of Thamel. There are lots of bars nearby with load music but all the music dies down around 11pm. The back rooms are a bit quieter. Rooms are comfortable. Helpful staff with wake up calls and tour booking. Happy to recommend it to friends and others

Room Tip: some beds are harder/firmer than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    60
    22
    12
    8
See reviews for
2
39
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I wouldn't describe Hotel Potala as outstanding by any stretch, but I do give them full points for effort. I paid less in Nepal for much nicer rooms, but I understand that it is Thamel, so was happy with the price I was charged.

Positives:
Responsive and friendly staff
Decent breakfast (was included in my room charge)
Location
Wifi (although intermittent)

Negatives:
Noise and light (Bar next door, and my room was at the back of the building - unfortunately the next door neighbour's backdoor light shone into my room all night)
Uncomfortable bed/ pillows

I think it's unfair to expect 24/7 power in budget accommodation - everyone in Kathmandu is subject to power saving measures, thus the power goes off at certain times. There's an app called BattiGayo that you can download that will tell you when... so you can be prepared. That said, at Potala there were back up power point available for charging phone/ laptop/ camera etc.

Overall... decent. Just bring your earplugs!

Room Tip: Ask to see a few rooms, and look outside the window... is it on the bar side of the building?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoingPlaces1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

Great service! Rooms are small but shower and bed is ok-what else you want for these money? Ask for room with garden view-quite to sleep,fresh air and looking good. Breakfast is simple-eggs and coffee,but its in the garden-which is great for that part of Kathmandu! :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulietKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

Clean, straightforward, excellent service and value for money.
Pleasant garden to sit out in.

If looking for a no nonsense place at good Nepali standard this is it.
Used by a number of NGOs and University groups.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Simple, clean room. Good food, reasonably priced. Hard to find, but everything is in this city of alleys. Just keep looking and asking and you'll get there, and then you'll wonder how you missed it. When I was there the entrance was across a narrow alley from a modern art water sculpture. Or maybe it was an ancient water pump design being used in the construction going on at the time. Good luck!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aummua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

It's not the newest or nicest Hotel but absolute class for what you pay for. What ever it lacks in style and age it definitely makes up for in customer service! The Hotel is run by amazing people who make sure you enjoy your stay. FREE BREAKFAST and plenty of choice from yogurts to omelets and pancakes. We payed 13$ US for a double w/ no bathroom and on our earlier stay 18$ for a double with bathroom and a TV. Hotel is kept well clean and the front balcony on the second floor just makes the place. Rooftop garden is quite nice also. Ear plugs might be a good buy from the corner store as it is a little bit noisy. The bars close around midnight though so the music won't last all night. I will definitely come back to Hotel Potala when back in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiltsu-182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Depending on what side of the hotel you get will determine how easy getting to sleep is. Rooms on the right and nice and certainly quieter than those on the left. They are cleans and tidy though and the hotel is run by a great team who can't do enough for you. It's also in the heart of Thamel and surround by some good restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevtherev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Potala Guest House
Potala Guest House
#88 of 196 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Api
Hotel Api
#101 of 196 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 196 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Access Nepal
Hotel Access Nepal
#43 of 196 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.0 mi away
Karma Travellers Home
Karma Travellers Home
#49 of 433 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alobar1000 Hostel
Alobar1000 Hostel
#40 of 433 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Potala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Potala

Property: Hotel Potala
Address: Thamal | PO Box 26182, Kathmandu 00977, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Potala 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Potala is a leading hotel in the heart of the Thamel neighborhood of Kathmandu.Run by a Nepali and Tibetan family, it is a perfect place for those who value time, convenience, and a safe place to stay. We've been in the hotel business since 1991 and know how to make our visitors feel like they are in our house rather than our hotel. We are close to many attractions in the city and provide a wide range of guest services and amenities. Our 27 rooms provide many lodging options, all with 24 hour a day hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Potala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing