We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and awesome location”
Review of Hotel Potala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Potala
Ranked #70 of 442 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfy and awesome location”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Awesome price for where it is in Thamel. You have a great view of the busy street below. Really good people watching. The rooms are simple but nice. Hot showers!! Over all it enjoyed it. The staff is super helpful and they have an adventure office within it that are just as helpful.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    61
    22
    12
    8
See reviews for
2
39
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Clean, the beds are moderately comfortable,and the service is good, but the bars on either side do not shut down until very late and thus is only bar star friendly. Don't expect the wifi to reach your room, or to be able to sleep before midnight due to the extremely loud rock and roll bar next door.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sshield7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Extremely helpful, knowledgable and courtous staff-every single one of them makes you feel welcome and home. Rooms are average and please make sure that you ask for one far away from nightclubs- this is centrally located hotel and there are many around it that can make your night miserable!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank patcracow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Hotel Potala is one hotel that many budget travellers end up overlooking in their trip to kathmandu as in many travel guides it seems expensive compared to other budget places. This is a view that I also had, and in my edition of Lonely Planet Nepal it seemed fairly pricey.

However, I recently stayed there for a week as a friend I had been travelling with was leaving to go home and wanted something not too pricey but that was nicer than some of the places we had stayed, cue Hotel Potala. However, something we didn't take into account was that the Hotel actually saved us money in the long run, costing us 15,000 Nepali rupees for a triple room (with three singles, not a double and a single) for a week, and the cinche was that it included breakfast.

Our room was considered the deluxe and had a bathroom and a TV. It came with nice warm blankets and quilts and the pillows were soft and comfortable. Something that is not mentioned in my LP guide is that Potala also had incredibly fast Wifi, with a router on two out of three floors which allowed me to make good Skype calls and even load videos from YouTube with ease.

Breakfast is included in the price, and you can choose to have a few different set meals, most of which include 2 eggs any style, hash brown potatoes and toast/croissant with a choice of tea or coffee. It is served until 11.30am, and you can pay 80 rupees extra and get one of the special breakfasts which generally included juice, bacon or steak.

In other meals, the hotel food was good value and tasted good, we ate here for a few dinners and Dal Fry with rice came to about 200 rupees, whereas a restaurant would charge you 350. For those counting pennies the restaurant is a good option.

In terms of location it is smack bang in the middle of Thamel, being a stones throw away from Restaurants like OR2K and The Factory, as well as two minutes from nicer places such as Phat Kath and The Roadhouse Cafe. Our taxi driver got confused and took us to Potala guesthouse, but if this happens, just say Kathmandu guesthouse and it's 2 minutes down the road.

Like other reviews have mentioned, it is on top of a club called Purple haze, which plays covers of westerm songs til about 11pm most days, although I mamaged to sleep through it on the few early nights we had!

All in all we loved our stay at Hotel Potala and are planning on going back there in 2 weeks (I write this from Lumbini). For three people we paid £31/$51 each for a week which worked out at just over 700 rupees a night, including breakfast.

Room Tip: Anything on the fifth floor (rooms 501 - 505) has good wifi and is considered deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vincent1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPotala1, Owner at Hotel Potala, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Sir Namaste
Thank very much for taking a time to write splendid review about hotel potala on tripadvisor. We are pleased to know that you have had pleasant stay with us. We are trying to do much better always making your comfortable stay at hotel potala Thank you very much once again for appreciation about our amenities and foods. We would like to provide moreover pleasant and homely atmosphere. We are looking forward to staying with you again .
Regards,
Sudarshan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Our travelling group used this hotel before and after our Everest Base Camp trek. The staff were wonderful, helpful, cheerful and always attentive. I liked the lounge area near reception for free tea - it was a good area to meet and chat. Rooms were basic but very clean and well maintained. Felt like the most wonderful shower in the world after returning from the trek, however any shower would have felt like this! Thank you to the professional staff at Potala, I plan to return in a couple of months for my second trek and have asked my guide to arrange my base at Hotel Potala. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Well known by taxi drivers coming from the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CRose2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located In the heart of Thamel. This has it's pros and cons. If you're a light sleeper: bring earplugs! Breakfast is great. But outside breakfast hours, serving is slow and the food poor. Rooms are small but clean, and the bath is even smaller but stabil. The staff is very friendly and funny, always greeting you with a smiling "nameste". The hotel has an arranger who can put together any activity for you, such as trekking, rafting etc.
On top of it all, the hotel has a really nice rooftop, where you can relax and sunbath. We Can only recoment the place!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed here a few times when in Kathmandu. Love the place. Great friendly staff in a well run centrally located hotel in Thamel, KTM.

Clean room, with hot water. Good resturant with local and international food.

A home away from home. I will be back

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ade652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Api
Hotel Api
#106 of 203 in Kathmandu
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Potala Guest House
Potala Guest House
#84 of 203 in Kathmandu
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nepal Tara
Hotel Nepal Tara
#133 of 203 in Kathmandu
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#49 of 203 in Kathmandu
687 reviews
0.0 mi away
Karma Travellers Home
Karma Travellers Home
#46 of 442 in Kathmandu
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Garden House
Kathmandu Garden House
#43 of 442 in Kathmandu
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Potala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Potala

Property: Hotel Potala
Address: Thamal | PO Box 26182, Kathmandu 00977, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 442 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Potala 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Potala is a leading hotel in the heart of the Thamel neighborhood of Kathmandu.Run by a Nepali and Tibetan family, it is a perfect place for those who value time, convenience, and a safe place to stay. We've been in the hotel business since 1991 and know how to make our visitors feel like they are in our house rather than our hotel. We are close to many attractions in the city and provide a wide range of guest services and amenities. Our 27 rooms provide many lodging options, all with 24 hour a day hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Potala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing