We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Incredible Hotel of our Trip!”
Review of Hotel Visit Nepal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Visit Nepal
Ranked #139 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Hotel Visit Nepal gave us an incredible experience. Myself and three others from the US stayed for a total of 6 or 7 nights and were treated like family. All staff were helpful, accommodating, and friendly. They had accurate answers to all questions and gave great references when we needed help with our travel plans. When we returned from other adventures, we were greeted with smiling faces and a sense of home, which was refreshing after the bustling streets of Kathmandu. We left gear behind in a locker and never had to worry about our things. The rooms are simple, cheap, and clean, and the hotel is in convenient and safe Thamel. I highly recommend Hotel Visit Nepal :)

Room Tip: If you want to get in shape for your trek, ask for a room on the top floor.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Visit Nepal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

The staff and Owner give misleading quotes on travel and site seeing costs. The experience of staying for a day was bad and we had to shift to another Hotel due to a non understanding and non helpful attitude of staff.

Room Tip: There are Numerous Hotels in Katmandu in Budget category to stay there.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anshghosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This place is awesome! I was a solo female traveler and felt super safe. It's basic room for super cheap, clean and on a quiet street in Thamel which is awesome. Everytime I come to Katmandu I will stay here. The staffy is super great with nice car for airport dropoff or any sort of tour. Like I said Thamel is over whelMing at times and z street is my home!
I would recommend 150 percent!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildflower831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I stayed at Hotel Visit Nepal for 3 nights before and after a yoga retreat. The rooms are cheap, I payed 500rs for a big bed, fan and a TV with many english movie channels. The location is in the hearth of Thamel and close to shopping and great restaurants.

What really made my stay here though was the absolutely excellent service by the manager. He helped me get in touch with a voluteer organization in Pokhara and arranged my travels there. Besides that he helped me find specific restaurants and even went shopping with me! I am amazed by the service here.

If you are looking for a budget hotel with excellent service then this is your place.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AntonSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Last year, we visited Hotel Visit Nepal for the first time. This hotel is located in a small peaceful street in Thamel, and as it is a blind alley this street is not overwhelmed by taxis and rickshaws. The owners and the employees are very friendly, the rooms are very clean, there are several facilities like hot water, internet, and a teashop with pastry and tasty doughnuts next to the hotel.

This year, I am back in Kathmandu for volunteer work. As the price is very reasonable (one of the cheapest places in Thamel) and as I find everything I need here, I decided to stay here for a long time. I have my room on the rooftop, fast internet, attached bathroom and last but not least: plenty of room on the rooftop with excellent view!

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lies82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

The best thing about Hotel Visit Nepal is the price. We paid 500 Rupees per night which is relatively cheap in Thamel. It's also close to everything in Thamel. However, these are the only good points.

The rooms are very small, not filthy (but not clean either) and the bathroom was nasty. Although it wasn't the worst we saw, it was filthy and hadn't seen bleach since the day it was built. Being next to Thamel made it noisy, but the fact that the windows were built to a different size frame meant it was cold and noisier than necessary. When we also had 10 rabid stray dogs on the street outside as well, sleep was impossible. When we left the next day, the desk didn't have any change, so I demanded to pay 500 rather than his choice of taking 1,000 and giving none back (having originally agreed a rate of 550). Arguing on the way put wasn't really preferable!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JolyonBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I stayed in this guest house on and off for about 2 weeks! I was very wary of it first as I followed one of the hotel touts in Thamel to this place. However, I have to say it was one of the best places I stayed in Thamel and I did try out quite a few. The rooms are nice and clean and of good value and the owner helped me to sort out my flight to Lukla for a really good price.
I also left my luggage there while trekking which was no problem at all.
Overall, I can highly recommend this place!

Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VerenaHil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Discovery Inn
Hotel Discovery Inn
#122 of 207 in Kathmandu
162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#49 of 207 in Kathmandu
698 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kathmandu Friendly Home
Kathmandu Friendly Home
#111 of 207 in Kathmandu
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Yala Peak
Hotel Yala Peak
#50 of 207 in Kathmandu
135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 207 in Kathmandu
653 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Visit Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Visit Nepal

Address: Z Street, Thamel, Kathmandu 13570, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: £7 - £9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Visit Nepal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Visit Nepal is located in Thamel, Kathmandu, one of the popular and major tourist hubs of the city, a short drive from the International Airport. In spite of being advantageously surrounded by banks, shopping centers, restaurant and bars, internet café, taxi stands, tourist bus facilities, it is situated in a calm and cozy place in Thamel. We do not only provide the comfortable accommodation, but also friendly service and correct information to enjoy a safe and comfortable journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Visit Nepal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing