We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambassador Garden Home
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Kathmandu Home Hotel(Kathmandu)(Great Value!)
US$35
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$24
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Annapurna(Kathmandu)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dwarika's Hotel(Kathmandu)
US$365
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$354
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Tibet(Kathmandu)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$39
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (687)
Filter reviews
687 results
Traveller rating
446
195
29
14
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
446
195
29
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelthe hustle and bustlehot watercentral thamelno elevatoran oasislocation is greatinternet connectionrooms are cleanpeaceful placewelcome drinkkathmandu guest housedeluxe roomtourist areaaghheartbinny
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
246 - 251 of 687 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We decided to stay here after reading the positive reviews, but frankly speaking, it left us underwhelmed. The positives were the friendly, attentive staff, the excellent location, the comfy bed, the cleanliness of the hotel and everything in general worked well, despite frequent power cuts. But we were generally dissatisfied with our room. It was small and dark, and the bathroom was so tiny the basin couldn't even fit, and had to be placed in the bedroom. The bathroom was a source of discontent for us; two of us could barely fit in the shower, and despite the shower curtain, everything got wet in the bathroom, including the toilet seat (adjacent to the shower). For what we paid, it could hv been better value. Go elsewhere for a better stay; practically all proper hotels, even some guesthouses, have generators as backup in case of power cuts.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sayang11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, yes you have stayed at superior room , you can see all the things including bathroom's photo before reservation. yes we do have superior (standard room) 3 rooms, deluxe rooms 9 & super deluxe 6 = total 18 rooms.

what you paid for superior single cost usd 43 plus 10% service charges & 13% vat
cost includes :

Ambassador breakfast
Tea/coffee in room
2 bottles water in rooms everyday.
Daily news paper in rooms
Free wifi facility with computers in lobby & wifi in rooms
AC room (both heating & cooling 24 hours) with attached bathroom & mini bar

At Check in Time:
seasonal Fruits
Mini Bar complementary item as follows:
2 can beers
2 can juices

if you would like to come in Nepal again, please try our deluxe or super deluxe if you need more space & big bathroom of course, it will cost little bit more.

Thank you once again,

warm regards,
Prakash
AGH Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

great friendly staff (everyone) - good sized room but a bit dark because there is no view so curtains stay closed. Aircon and toilet was good/worked (which we heard horror stories of other Kathmandu hotels). Power failures are common in the city but the back-up in the hotel always worked instantly. Internet access no problem and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nzbased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review , we all are happy to know that you had a wonderful time at AGH.


Hope to have a chance to serve you in future too.


thank you once again

warm regards,

AGH family
prakash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

You got to love this place.
Me and my partner stayed there for 9 days.
A home away from home, the staff are so nice and service minded and they treat you like a family member.
The rooms are very clean, and the building are very well maintained.
Nice garden with a small romantic restaurant.
And the food.....delicious, big nice breakfast and the Nepali thali tasted wonderfull. And they taught us how to make momo.....all in all a very nice place to stay.
We will bee back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden a more quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank neena297667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review , we all are happy to know that you had wonderful stay with us , hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

thank you once again

warm Regards,

AGH Team
Prakash Lamichhane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

All aspects of the hotel are outstanding. These guys take personal interest and really make you 'at home' (though I don't to feel at home while traveling!). Location is terrific, in centre of Thamel. Highly recommend for a true Nepal/Kathmandu experience. They give complementary beer & juices in room ! Its on the busiest street of Thamel - if you are a light sleeper then avoid this hotel (however, we were ok with it as the sound proofing is good enough)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LazyoneBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your nice review, we all are happy to know, yes you are very much right we are centrally located , if somebody needs very much pin drop silent then they should choose the hotel which is out side of thamel or city, since we are very much centrally located , 3 rooms at front side & balance 15 rooms are back side. as you mentioned in your review , our front rooms have sound proof windows.

Thank you once again for your nice review & hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

warm Regards,

Prakash Lamichhane
AGH Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Constant renovations has made the place a warm guesthouse for weary travelers. Friendly staff greet you and say hello on your return - this is everyone - from the breakfast person, the door guard, and general workers. Room very clean and well presented. Staff member Mr R was very friendly and nice - I called ahead to AGH to notify of possible delays as I was stuck in Lukla with no flights out, and Mr R thanked me for calling and assured me that the booking was fine. When we met, he was like a long lost old friend. While the room can be noisy from the bar just outside; the stay was comfortable and a good retreat from the busy & dusty streets outside.

Room Tip: The rooms that are to the North side are less likely to hear the noisy bar.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 598saml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review , we all are happy to know that you had wonderful stay with us .
yes as you told hotel is in centrally located at thamel so our 3 rooms are in city side ( which have sound proof window , as you said only outside could hear sound, if you closed the windows properly then no problem ). & balance all 15 rooms are backside .

Hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

Thank you once again

warm Regards,
Prakash & AGH family
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews