We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Garden Home
Ranked #28 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely little hotel”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and were really impressed. The rooms were beautifully decorated, the food was excellent (we had dinner and breakfast in the lovely courtyard - breakfast was amazing) and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laylajc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review, it is always indeed when you work as a team.

we all are happy to know you had wonderful stay at Ambassador garden home,

Hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

warm Regards,

Prakash Lamichhane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    192
    29
    14
    3
See reviews for
64
248
117
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The hotel is nice with friendly staff. The room was a little small and dark. Breakfast was good. We asked to stay another night but we told they were booked out. So we looked elsewhere and found hotels in the same location for less than half the price. The hotel we ended up at was much quieter and much larger brighter room for half the price. I would recommend staying somewhere else that is better value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room up high so it is brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damos66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, sorry we could not accommodate you for another night, as we are 18 rooms small hotel , we were fully booked on that time, as you were pointing that our price is little bit high , you have booked superior double which you have paid for usd 50 before taxes:

cost includes:

Ambassador breakfast
Tea/coffee in room
2 bottles water in rooms everyday.
Daily news paper in rooms
Free wifi facility with computers in lobby & wifi in rooms
AC room (24 hours both heating & cooling )with attached bathroom & mini bar

At Check in Time:
seasonal Fruits
Mini Bar complementary item as follows:
2 can beers
2 can juices

24 hours electricity with ac , you hardly get in kathmandu

i hope according to our service our price is very much reasonable.

Thank you once again for your time,

warm Regards,

Ambassador Garden Home Team
Prakash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The first time we stayed in this wonderful bijou, 'family' run hotel was when it had just opened in 2009. It was an oasis of calm in chaotic Thamel. Whilst it is true that all around has grown somewhat noisier, the Ambassador Garden Home hotel still retains an air of tranquility, the 'lounge' area is cool and calming even with the 2 free to use computers - and the staff are brilliant at making everyone feel they are 'at home' ensuring their ease and comfort.

Over the 5 years since we have returned to Kathmandu 6 times and every time we have returned to 'our home' and friends at the Ambassador - we would not stay anywhere else.
Over the 5 years the hotel has been improved and upgraded in many caring and helpful ways by its owner Prakash. This small, characterful hotel is clean, well run and the service by the staff is excellent. It serves the best breakfast in Kathmandu and the quality of the food, all made fresh to order, is way above the price tag. We have eaten in the garden in all weathers, when it is cold we put on our hooded fleeces and the shelter of the blinds and the heaters keep the chill at bay.

Unfortunately this time I arrived in Kathmandu not well and spent many days in and out of bed ..the concern and care of the staff could not have been better ...

I would recommend this hotel to all , no matter what their age or group - I have seen happy toddlers here with their parents as well as very 'seasoned' travellers.

My only complaint is that now it is so popular that sometimes it is hard to get in ...
my tip is don't take it for granted you will be able to have a room when you want -
make sure - book it ahead.

Room Tip: we have stayed in virtually all the rooms apart from the single rooms and fond them all comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilldoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review, we all are happy to know that you had wonderful stay as before,
hope to see you in future too.

Thank you once again for your time.

warm Regards,

Prakash lamichhane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed in Nepal for almost three weeks, travelling from one part to another and had Ambassador Garden Home as our main hotel, They were kind to store our additional luggage during our trips.
The breakfast are very filling and delicious. Good start for the day.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
Generally good hotel, in center of Thamel. One detail Wifi worked well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lila V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review, we all are happy to know that you had wonderful stay with us , hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

thank you once again for your time

warm regards,

Ambassador Garden Home
Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Me and my wife spent 8 days and we really enjoyed.
The hotel is located in the best area in Kathmandu, the room was quite clean, the breakfast is great, also the food from their restaurant is amazing! The staff is really helpful, very nice and they make the difference.
Ps. I've got sick due to a food contamination from an outside restaurant and Bic and their staff looked after me very well like I was from their family.
We really had a good time at Ambassador Garden Home!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demetrios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review , it is all indeed when you work as a team,we do hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

Thank you once again,

warm regards,

Ambassador garden home
team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Our first trip to Kathmandu so have nothing to compare it with, that said, it is a very nice centrally located hotel in Thamel. The room was clean, nice bathroom, comfy beds and a very nice outside restaurant with a delicious breakfast.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful.
The only thing whilst we were there was the building work going on next door,it was right outside our window and while it was outside the hotels control, it did mar our stay slightly.
I would recommend this hotel, IF the building work has stopped. we did stay there early March so hopefully it has finished.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taxigirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feed back, yes the next small store building has been already completed, sorry for that, hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

warm regards,

AGh Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Located in the hearth of Kathmandu, this very clean little hotel is maybe on of the best place to stay in Thamel. It's my second stay in less than 7 months and I will surely come back again before the end of this year. Thank you Nabin (the G.M.) for your hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feed back, hope to have chance to serve you in future too.
warm regards,

AGh Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#17 of 198 in Kathmandu
771 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#7 of 198 in Kathmandu
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#15 of 198 in Kathmandu
481 reviews
3.5 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 198 in Kathmandu
435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#1 of 198 in Kathmandu
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Garden Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Garden Home

Property: Ambassador Garden Home
Address: Thamel, Kathmandu 9681, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#11 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Garden Home 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have attached bathroom ,LG FHD LED TV & AC (24 hours back up through generator for both heating & cooling )with mini bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Garden Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Garden Home Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing