We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a shame about the manager”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pilgrims Guest House
Ranked #8 of 438 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pokhara, Nepal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It's a shame about the manager”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

As a frequent guest to KTM I used to use this guest house, but then I understood what the Indian manager says about the guests behind their backs. It's a shame because the staff like all others in Nepal are so friendly.

The rooms on the ground floor give them a big miss and other rooms are old and nasty, there are some nice rooms but you need to pay over a 1000NRP for these.

A big plus point is the garden restaurant attached to it, great for meeting other travellers.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank blinkyblink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    99
    23
    14
    12
See reviews for
30
58
128
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We were picked up by Summit at the airport when we landed in Kathmandu and were offered to check out the Pilgrim House before committing to stay. We got there and the rooms were nice and rates were reasonable so we stayed. They also have a nice garden area to relax in, free wifi/internet, and a place to store your bags while you're trekking for free. We stayed for a week before and after our trek and were taken care of every step of the way. Great friendly service. We reccommend the Pilgrim Guest House anytime you're in Kathmandu/Thamel!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

stayed here for ten days in April 2013 and felt very comfortable. The room was very small and pretty shabby but very clean, all facilities working twentyfour hours. Never had a complaint in this guest house. The room rate is pretty steep compared to other accommodation at first glance but although the room is not so pretty, you get hotwater, a comfortable clean bed, a tv with all the channels, even if not needed very nice when you are alone and tired of reading. The wifi is free and works very well. I did not need a flashlight or candle in this facility, they always ran their generator and there were continuous power cuts. I found all the staff friendly, helpful and more than willing to provide services from carrying my bag, weighing it for me, information on tours.The room seems a little expensive for the quality but they never let me down for service . I would go again and recommend this guesthouse.

Room Tip: The first week of april was great without ac or fan, the second week of april it started to get hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easygoingtraveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed at three different budget Hotels in Thamel, and this was by far the best. Conveniently located at one end of the main drag (Thamel Marg), we came across this Hotel while strolling and wanted to change from our first Hotel. We liked it so much we extended our first stay from a planned 2 nites to 5 nites, and came back again for another 3 nites on our return from Pokhara. The better rooms on Floors 3 & 4, have balconies, and some overlook the nice garden restaurant. Rooms are well-maintained -- owner seems to be doing some remodeling one room at a time including new wood floors, and they the rooms are clean. Beds are comfortable, the rooms have TV with Cable that works -- including english language news channels (CNN and BBC) and some other english programming. The WIFI internet can be slow at times, but you can always go into the garden and use the cafe WIFI which seems faster. Best of all, this place has its own electric Generator, so even during the usual lengthy scheduled power outages, the rooms have full power -- including TV, lights, plugs, internet. Also, good hot water almost all the time. The Staff and Owner seem nice, though the Owner definately is a 'hard negotiator' on room rates, so be prepared to look at more than one room choice and negotiate rates, and to avoid any misunderstandings at checkout confirm the rates (and details like whether it includes all tax and service fees). No doubt after this review it will gain in popularity and rates will go up (along with harder 'negotiations') but C'est La Vie. The only other criticism, sometimes you may hear a dog barking at night, but that's probably true most everywhere. The garden restaurant is also nice. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrjustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

i travel nepal and stay this gust house . i paid 8 doller single at night boss of hotel Gunja and other man force to go treakking with his company but i already deceided to go my self i calceled his offer it was so expensive his offer then Mr gunga told me room charge 20 doller and airport taxi 800 or check out mid night. room was so dark no hot water bad smile romm have crokros i had bad experence that day if any body go to nepal be carefull this hotel and mostly people who work in airport

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I was in Nepal for a few months, and each and every time I went back to the hectic streets of Kathmandu, I was happy to have Pilgrims to escape the hustle-and-bustle in.

The hotel is popular, so two of the five times I stayed here, I had to start with a delux room (only $10 extra) and wait for a cheaper room to free up, but the hotel management always accommodated where they could.

It's in an awesome location in Thamel. Close in enough to be two or three minutes walk from all the action, but far enough away from the action to be quiet enough to sleep.

The Wifi is split between the hotel's top floors and bottom floors, so sometimes if you're on floor two or three your wireless device will confuse itself with which network to connect with, but that was the only issue I could find.

Rooms are clean and there is a wide range - from budget to mid-range, so this place can suit most people's needs.

It's not glamorous, but it is warm and welcoming and I look forward to staying there again when I visit Nepal in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theshineline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

The first week we were in Kathmandu, somebody we knew stayed in Pilgrims Guest House. The room she stayed in looked decent and clean, so when we came back to Kathmandu at the end of our vacation, we decided to stay at Pilgrims. Unfortunately, the guest house was full, and there were only ground floor rooms left. These 10 dollar rooms are covered in humidity-fungus, are dirty and thus overpriced. An hour after we checked in, we discovered that rats were moving and scratching on the roof. A horrible noise. We decided to check out. The staff first wanted us to pay the 10 dollar anyway, acting very 'surprised' when we told them about the rats. Of course we did not pay anything, and went for another guest house.

If you want to stay at Pilgrims, make sure that you don't end up in a ground floor room..

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelKv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#48 of 201 in Kathmandu
685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#5 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#21 of 201 in Kathmandu
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.3 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 201 in Kathmandu
633 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilgrims Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrims Guest House

Property: Pilgrims Guest House
Address: Thamel, Lekhnath Marg | Kathmandu, Nepal, Kathmandu 19549, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 438 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pilgrims Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pilgrims Guest House is one of the finest guest house in Thamel, Kathmandu. For more than 10 years Pilgrims Guest House has been offering a warm welcome to travellers from all over the world. More than three-quarters of our guests return and many have done so for several years. We are proud that for last 10 years we have made our guest feel like they are staying at home with our warm and friendly hospitality. Pilgrims Guest House is located in the northern part of Thamel. We assure you for the clean, safe and free from traffic noise accommodation. Pilgrims guest house has 26 comfortable neat and clean rooms with facilities offering Standard, Deluxe and Budget rooms .Each of our rooms comes with private bathroom with hot shower and cold shower all the time, LED TV in every rooms of our guest house and providing free Wifi internet services in all the rooms. Our staff is efficient and well trained .They will be ready 24 hrs to provide you the services or assistance you need. The garden is the heart of the guest house. We invite you to join conversations with interesting people and relax with a glass of wine or a local imported beer. We also offer for your pleasure traditional Nepali, Chinese, Continental and Indian Cuisine. Pilgrims is conveniently located and is walking distance to the Royal Palace Museum, Bhagwati Bahal Durbar, the Garden of Dreams, Durbar Square and Basantapur. Or wander through the streets of Thamel to find exquisite teak carvings, hand-hammered Tibetan singing bowls, mountain tea blends, fragrant incense, hand-knitted sweaters, or elaborate Khukari knives. To help make this dream come true, we will even pick you up at the airport. Look for our sign (Pilgrims) just outside the airport exit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Pilgrims Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing