We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Cheap Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Kathmandu View
Ranked #267 of 439 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Forster, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fine Cheap Hotel”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I stayed in this hotel for about seven days. The staff are friendly and helpful. They helped me find a hat and a jumper I left there weeks ago. The hotel has hot water just takes a little time to come through. I never eat there I always went to the bakery two places up the road for breaky (with 45 rupee croissants) and the Roadhouse (by far my favourite restaurant in Thamel) is just up the road. They do shut the gate of the hotel late at night. If you are locked out just yell down the corridor, behind the gate, to get the gate unlocked.

Room Tip: Third floor and second floor rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    5
    3
    5
    5
See reviews for
1
11
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

This is a lovely hotel situated bang in the heart of Thamel. It is 1 minute to Helena's and the Roadhouse restaurants and no more than 2-3 minutes to Hot Bread/Curry Kitchen and K-Too Steakhouse restaurants. It is also near the bars/clubs of Thamel with Tom And Jerries only 2mins away, 3 mins to Sams Bar and 1 min to Fire Club. The rooms themselves are adequate and clean enough and get cleaned daily.There is free wi-fi for laptops and an open indoor courtyard for sitting in. They also have the hottest and most powerful showers i have had in my times in Nepal!! Upstairs there is a lovely restaurant too.Nothing is too much trouble for Bishnu the owner and Deepak his manager,they were great guys with us and organised anything that was needed.Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shimla, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Re commanded hotel to stay in the heart of Kathmandu, in middle of thamel , great night life. Great food. free WiFi with good excellent speed. rooms were equiped with blowers which helped us to fight the cold. Anirudra was good at service being a manager of hotel, he arranged all the required things like transportation and currency of nepal. Laxman was good chauffeur at his service, he guided us through whole trip and helped us to translate the languages when needed. over all a good and secured place to stay.

Thanks to Anirudra and Laxman

Room Tip: all rooms are good with equal facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ninexus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

This hotel is good value with a central location. The staff are very friendly and helpful. One problem was the water for showering was almost always brown. I was given a room with a balcony which was great, nice to sit out and enjoy the cool air. I found all the staff to be always helpful and would always ask if everything was ok. Like all the hotels in Kathmandu the power was a problem going off for hours at a time . However you can not blame the property for that.
Brian

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This place has it all. Whatever you want to do, ask the Manager who can help with anything you need. It is centrally located in Thamel section. It also has it's own restaurant with excellent dishes from India and Nepal. There's a Travel Agency in-house, as well as a Cyber-Cafe that attracts many people. The rooms are Air Conditioning, clean, and hot and cold waters. I'm sure I'm missing more, like they have Laundry and so much more.
Everything was here, just as if like in the U.S.
Internet available throughout the hotel.

I give this Hotel 5 Stars. Contact them today.

Room Tip: Every room has good location, but see if street-view room is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warmsunny
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We should have read what is written here ... We booked in advance and arrived late, otherwise I would have checked out for sure!
The location is good - that's the only positive thing I can say about this place. But there are so many other guesthouses in the same area, there is really no need to stay here.

We booked a suite to have a bit more space. The room was cramped with 3 beds - we only booked and needed one. The sheets were dirty and everything felt like I would rather not touch it. The bathroom was stained, the toilet seat loose, no light and open wires.

The hotel calls itself a business hotel but we did not find a single accessible power outlet in the complete room and the hotel did not have a power generator, so around 8 hours every day there's no power. That's normal for a cheap guesthouse but not for a business hotel. The promised wireless network was non-existent. The phone was dead.

The lights in the room are neon bright and noisy.

We had trouble to get food in time - though we booked with a breakfast buffet which should have started an hour earlier.

The staff can't help the situation much but they are not especially friendly and helpful either.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hightech-nomade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kathmandu hotels

New York Mills, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This is my friend's hotel and OK for low-budget travellers. Service is nice and the hotel is located to Thamel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Kathmandu View Hotel
Kathmandu View Hotel
#90 of 439 in Kathmandu
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#31 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,506 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#45 of 198 in Kathmandu
683 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.0 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kathmandu View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kathmandu View

Property: Hotel Kathmandu View
Address: Thamel | P.O. Box: 4429, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 439 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kathmandu View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing