We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Kathmandu View
Ranked #276 of 458 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 May 2013

My friend and I stayed one week in this hotel KathmanduView Hotel in a clean double room with hot shower and tv, and we have a very nice time, the staff is very helpful and the hotel is in the center of Thamel definitely a very good location

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013

My friend and I stayed at Kathmandu View Hotel during our last 2 nights in Nepal, the hotel is located in Thamel street, convenient is definitely number one here, we especially love the bakery shop next to the hotel, bread are on 50% off starting 8pm daily. All other shopping are also within 5 mins walk.
We love the hot shower here, it's available all day! I also especially remembered the boy who help us carry our knapsack when we first checked in, every time we bump into him, he would give us a big smile which make us feel so hospitable during our short stay here. Free wifi available in the hotel lobby, those big comfy couch will makes you want stay on them forever.
Overall pleasant and worth the money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Angietgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I stayed in this hotel for about seven days. The staff are friendly and helpful. They helped me find a hat and a jumper I left there weeks ago. The hotel has hot water just takes a little time to come through. I never eat there I always went to the bakery two places up the road for breaky (with 45 rupee croissants) and the Roadhouse (by far my favourite restaurant in Thamel) is just up the road. They do shut the gate of the hotel late at night. If you are locked out just yell down the corridor, behind the gate, to get the gate unlocked.

Room Tip: Third floor and second floor rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

This is a lovely hotel situated bang in the heart of Thamel. It is 1 minute to Helena's and the Roadhouse restaurants and no more than 2-3 minutes to Hot Bread/Curry Kitchen and K-Too Steakhouse restaurants. It is also near the bars/clubs of Thamel with Tom And Jerries only 2mins away, 3 mins to Sams Bar and 1 min to Fire Club. The rooms themselves are adequate and clean enough and get cleaned daily.There is free wi-fi for laptops and an open indoor courtyard for sitting in. They also have the hottest and most powerful showers i have had in my times in Nepal!! Upstairs there is a lovely restaurant too.Nothing is too much trouble for Bishnu the owner and Deepak his manager,they were great guys with us and organised anything that was needed.Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Re commanded hotel to stay in the heart of Kathmandu, in middle of thamel , great night life. Great food. free WiFi with good excellent speed. rooms were equiped with blowers which helped us to fight the cold. Anirudra was good at service being a manager of hotel, he arranged all the required things like transportation and currency of nepal. Laxman was good chauffeur at his service, he guided us through whole trip and helped us to translate the languages when needed. over all a good and secured place to stay.

Thanks to Anirudra and Laxman

Room Tip: all rooms are good with equal facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ninexus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

This hotel is good value with a central location. The staff are very friendly and helpful. One problem was the water for showering was almost always brown. I was given a room with a balcony which was great, nice to sit out and enjoy the cool air. I found all the staff to be always helpful and would always ask if everything was ok. Like all the hotels in Kathmandu the power was a problem going off for hours at a time . However you can not blame the property for that.
Brian

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This place has it all. Whatever you want to do, ask the Manager who can help with anything you need. It is centrally located in Thamel section. It also has it's own restaurant with excellent dishes from India and Nepal. There's a Travel Agency in-house, as well as a Cyber-Cafe that attracts many people. The rooms are Air Conditioning, clean, and hot and cold waters. I'm sure I'm missing more, like they have Laundry and so much more.
Everything was here, just as if like in the U.S.
Internet available throughout the hotel.

I give this Hotel 5 Stars. Contact them today.

Room Tip: Every room has good location, but see if street-view room is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#34 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,243 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#49 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#41 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,603 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#54 of 207 in Kathmandu
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kathmandu View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kathmandu View

Address: Thamel | P.O. Box: 4429, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 458 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: £23 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kathmandu View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing