We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service.”
Review of Hotel Silver Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Silver Home
Ranked #47 of 201 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Malda, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service.”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We visited Nepal when there was so many political problems all around Nepal(Strike, Violence Etc.). In spite of that the staffs of the hotel especially Mr. Yogesh made our tour possible and beautiful. He arranged almost all for us like hotels, car etc. and we visited all the country very peacefully. Thanks Mr. Yogesh for all of the services you and your helping hands provide us. And I must apologies for one thing that my sister found her ear ring in her bag after reaching home, so please tell that boy(I forgot his name) who cleaned the room that day that WE ARE VERY VERY SORRY.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoumenBhowmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HimalayanYeti, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear Sir,

Thanks again for your value comments on tripadvisor.com we still remember your experience with us and glad to show you all around nepal organize by our own tour company so according your saying if you missing in room don't worry about it you will get it hundred percent but we are sorry for out of hotel.

Regards
Yogesh
Hotel Silver Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    139
    51
    23
    20
See reviews for
28
87
262
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The staff is very nice, the staff is knowledgeable and helpful. and, something extremely rare for Kathmandu, they do not try to sell you something all the time. They provide you with genuinely good advice (for instance I enquired about Chinese visas, and they did not offered me to orgnaise the visa but straight away directed me to the Chinese embassy which is reasonably close to Thamel. Same thing on transport etc...). It is really nice to be able to trust the advice given by the owner, especially after toing two other guesthouses which have agencies and always ask you what you do next then try to sell you an organised, to book at the hotel they recommend in Pokhara, etc.... It is very refreshing.
Also loved the free access to the computers for internet ! (2 computers for the guests to access internet, of course when Kathmandu has electricity. also free WiFi).
Also a great vibe / atmosphere
(Note: I stayed in the dormitory, and I noticed the price could be triple on some websites like Agoda, so be careful which ones you book through).

What I liked less: I would not recommend eating at the restaurant as the dining area is quite dreary , and the prices for drinks (and even food) are a bit 'high' for that environment (versus other places you can find - eg Hotel Ganesh Himal has a cheap breakfast in an nice garden or nearby HI Peace Garden restaurant is cheap in a quiet place).

Can be very noisy for some rooms that have windows opening towards a bar nearby that plays live music.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoneTraveller173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HimalayanYeti, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear Guest,



Great to see you again here on tripadvisor.com well according your comments we will keep it up more excellent service and all the time try our best.

Regards
Yogesh
Hotel Silver Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kunming, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I m chinese traveler i have been travel in nepal first time stayed at Silver Home was briellient service with pefect location in down town of thamel. Owner Yogesh is so nice man all the time good smily and try to give me excellent while i m with them since morning time breakfast and my wi fi connection at lobby.Room is nice with hot shower,qute,clean base by budget travelers ,they have nice terrace just front by dorm room first day they arrange me tour in kathmandu valley and little hiking up by beautiful place pokhara in budgt price.
Thanks dear Silver Hom team for your great service and nice stay with you guys.For sure i will recommend to all my friend.just go silver home for great experience.

Room Tip: Back room with nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liuxiu q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HimalayanYeti, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear liu,



Thanks again for your sharing experience with Silver Home and showing your nice comment for our clients we always keep your lovely stay in our hotel.

Yogi
Hotel Silver Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I m glad to be with you guys in your hotel acccording your great service that pretty sure my correct choise by internet at Silver Home.Thanks for manage me with hot shower free internet wi fi front room with sunny large enough space room also still in main center of hub tourist are thamel.
Highly recommended to backpackers.

Room Tip: front site Rooms are sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HimalayanYeti, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Bryan,


Thanks you very much for your great stay with at silver home and one more thanks for your recommendation to other travelers. See you in next holiday trip to nepal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Great place where we got picked up from the Kathmandu airport by driver Jeetu.. he was super friendly and helpful.. we arrived and was shown our room. The room was cheap, clean and large enough for what we needed.. and a very good location right in the middle of Thamel. which is what we wanted before heading off on our trekking adventure. Its great for the anyone is looking for a cheap and central place to stay.. Highly recommend to anyone travelling to Thamel

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn7319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HimalayanYeti, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear Katherine,

Thank you so much again see you again here on tripadvisor after long time that you remind me our sharing all about trip plan and service while you stayed with us. According your review i m sure definitely you will back again here at Silver Home. See you on next holiday in Nepal have a nice day.

Regards
Yogi
Hotel Silver Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOVE U.K.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I really enjoyed my stay with Yogesh snd his team. Always very polite and helpful. Lovely rooms in a quiet street yet only yards from the action of thamel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GETSID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HimalayanYeti, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Glad to see you again wel come back to Silver Home again we are sure you are happy with us but one thing is we really sorry for strike in all over in Nepal it will be for couples days.


Thanks
Yogesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Cheap, clean, hospitable hotel with all the basic accommodation facilities, plus free Internet... Located in the very center of Thamel (main touristic district of Kathmandu) it is, at the same time, pretty isolated from hustle and bustle of the Nepali capital. What else needed for a budget traveler?!
Oh, almost forgot it... Yogesh, a great dude and the manager of the Hotel, can organize any kind of tour across the country.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sergi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HimalayanYeti, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear Sergi,


So many thanks for your great stay with us and also we saw your express on tripadvisor how did you feel with us about our hospitality and service.

Regards
Yogesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 201 in Kathmandu
633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pariwar B&B
Pariwar B&B
#83 of 201 in Kathmandu
334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Discovery Inn
Hotel Discovery Inn
#118 of 201 in Kathmandu
161 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Visit Nepal
Hotel Visit Nepal
#137 of 201 in Kathmandu
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silver Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silver Home

Property: Hotel Silver Home
Address: Thamel, Chibahal, Kathmandu 00977, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 201 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Silver Home 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Silver Home is located right in the heart of Thamel district, Kathmandu but in an enviable alleyway location away from the bustling crowds so you can relax after a busy day’s sightseeing.In the hotel surrounds are many restaurants, pubs, shops, and businesses and we are within walking distance to the main sights of Kathmandu such as Durbar Square, Freak Street and a short walk to the Tourist Bus Stop for services to other parts of Nepal. We are only 25 minutes drive from Tribhuvan Kathmandu International airport from where we provide airport pick up and drop off service. We are also 25 minutes drive to surrounding Kathmandu areas such as Bauddha Nath, Pasupati Nath and Patan Durbar Square.From our rooftop terrace you can watch the sunrise and sunset over Kathmandu Valley as well as dine in our restaurant.We cater to travellers and backpackers on budgets and our accommodation is cheap, clean and our service is warm and friendly, 24 hours a day. Our hospitality exemplifies our nation’s philosophy ‘Athiti Devo Bhawa’, ‘Guests are like gods’.Our staff speak fluent English, and some speak Chinese, Japanese, Hindi, and of course, Nepali.Hotel Silver Home offers:• 4 Deluxe Rooms (single/double beds)• 5 Standard Suite Rooms (single/double/twin/triple beds) • 6 Normal Rooms (single/double/twin/triple beds)• 1 Dormitory with 10 bedsThe hotel’s restaurant serves a variety of continental, Nepali, Indian, Chinese as well as vegetarian dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Silver Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing