We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Hotel Silver Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Silver Home
Ranked #55 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

It is a lovely place yo stay and very lovely staff because they are always ready to help you for any case. I did langtang trekking with them for fourteen days and it was do wonderful and their guide is very nice with enough information. This is a place worth of staying longer also. I highly recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamalanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Dear Valued Guest


We thank you for sharing about your stay at Hotel Silver Home and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We the Silver Home Team are delighted that we have made you feel warm Nepalese hospitality and it has been a pleasure having you as our guest.
Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we will try our best to create unique experiences and fond memories with a difference.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit soon.


Warm Regards
Hotel Silver Home
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 717 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

I was sick in Thamel and was desperately looking for a hostel that actually had running hot water 24 hours. This was important for me. Silver Home was the only place that had this, despite me trying 3-4 other guesthouses in Thamel, which one being quite expensive. I had a double room for around USD11-12. The bedsheets are clean, so is toilet although it's very old and not so well maintained. Water smells quite iron-ey, but they really do have hot water throughout the day except for 1 or 2 exceptional times during my two week stay there. Staff are very friendly, sometimes I asked for hot water for my instant noodles at night and they were very willing to do it for me. The main guy, I forgot his name, he is only there in the mornings and afternoons is nice to talk to and very friendly. But so are the rest of the team.

They provide free breakfast from 7.30am to 10am which consists of milk coffee/milk tea, 2 toasts with jam and butter, and a one-egg omelette. The toast isn't exciting but it's something.

Location is central, in a quiet alley tucked away from the main road. Close to restaurants, and bus station is about a 10-15 minute walk.

The rooms are many, and some have more windows, and some have a little balcony, and some face some heavy-loud music that starts playing around 7-8pm, so be clear about what these things if you are particular about them.

We went away to Nagarkot one night and told them to keep a room for us, they said yes okay but when we came back the next day, there was not any room for us.

We booked a bus with them to Pokhara and it cost USD15. There was another option for USD10 and the difference we found out is really both are the same type of bus except that the USD15 one provides lunch. We know this because there were 2 Japanese guys who bought the ticket the last minute at the bus station and the bus conductor quoted them the two prices. It's fine to book the bus with them, it was a tourist bus and it's comfortable. The lunch provided is really just dhaal baat, and not really a 'buffet' as promised.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I went to this hotel during my one month stay in nepal. The service was magnificent and they made me feel at home. The staff is very friendly and accomodate to all of your needs. i highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diana1268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Dear Valued Guest


We thank you for sharing about your stay at Hotel Silver Home and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We the Silver Home Team are delighted that we have made you feel warm Nepalese hospitality and it has been a pleasure having you as our guest.
Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we will try our best to create unique experiences and fond memories with a difference.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit soon.


Warm Regards
Hotel Silver Home
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Location is good , from bus station only 10 min walk, from airport max 30 min by car. You can find many shops tracking shops around a area. They have a helpfull staff they always smille and there are very kind. They have a tour desk ,organaising any thing you need day trip or tracking around Himalaja.
Have a hot shower all the time and some of the rooms inclueding breakfast.
I was staying at dorm 2 nights but after my tracking i came back to Khatmandu and i stayd 5 more nights.
Price is diferent up to your budget ;) you get what you pay for ...
I can truly recomend the place
because i had great time.
Attila from
Hungary

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FabioCastello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Dear Valued Guest


We thank you for sharing about your stay at Hotel Silver Home and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We the Silver Home Team are delighted that we have made you feel warm Nepalese hospitality and it has been a pleasure having you as our guest.
Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we will try our best to create unique experiences and fond memories with a difference.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit soon.


Warm Regards
Hotel Silver Home
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

While checking the hotel in Kathmandu I check many hotels and lastly I reach this hotel silver home, I check the room and they were nice room. Finally I check in to this hotel after few days because they were always full. People love to stay here and I did also. They will help you whatever you need. They help me to get the bus also to pokhara and book hotel for me. This hotel is fantastic because they have enough hot water and free wifi always. I will come back and will stay at this hotel after a month again because my travel to Nepal is for few month. See you guys next month. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rui-liu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Dear Valued Guest


We thank you for sharing about your stay at Hotel Silver Home and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We the Silver Home Team are delighted that we have made you feel warm Nepalese hospitality and it has been a pleasure having you as our guest.
Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we will try our best to create unique experiences and fond memories with a difference.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit soon.


Warm Regards
Hotel Silver Home
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This hotel is little inside but good location for the one who want to stay cat quiet place. They have 24 hours hot water and free WiFi works very well. The staff at hotel are very friendly. Some staff of the hotel speak excellent english.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lian-qiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Dear Valued Guest


We thank you for sharing about your stay at Hotel Silver Home and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We the Silver Home Team are delighted that we have made you feel warm Nepalese hospitality and it has been a pleasure having you as our guest.
Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we will try our best to create unique experiences and fond memories with a difference.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit soon.


Warm Regards
Hotel Silver Home
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

位置很好,价格也便宜,出门就是泰米尔商业街,到杜巴广场走路大概10分钟吧,热水很足,房间也很干净,在阳台居然看到猴子哈哈,酒店员工也很热情,英文很好,还可以说基本汉语,对于第一次来加都的我真是太方便了,下次还会来的. All the room was pretty cool clean and tidy up according your budget. There you can use free wi fi and enough hot shower during morning and evening time. Great thups up for their helpful staff and excellent hospitality.thanks lot for managed my lovely stay with you guys. Fully recommend to all the budget travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elena1986travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Dear Valued Guest


We thank you for sharing about your stay at Hotel Silver Home and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We the Silver Home Team are delighted that we have made you feel warm Nepalese hospitality and it has been a pleasure having you as our guest.
Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we will try our best to create unique experiences and fond memories with a difference.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit soon.


Warm Regards
Hotel Silver Home
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#16 of 210 in Kathmandu
697 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
0 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#5 of 210 in Kathmandu
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0 mi away
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
OYO 115 Hotel Backyard
#25 of 210 in Kathmandu
617 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Discovery Inn
Hotel Discovery Inn
#90 of 210 in Kathmandu
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silver Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silver Home

Address: Thamel, Chibahal, Kathmandu 00977, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: £8 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Silver Home 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Silver Home is located right in the heart of Thamel district, Kathmandu but in an enviable alleyway location away from the bustling crowds so you can relax after a busy day’s sightseeing.In the hotel surrounds are many restaurants, pubs, shops, and businesses and we are within walking distance to the main sights of Kathmandu such as Durbar Square, Freak Street and a short walk to the Tourist Bus Stop for services to other parts of Nepal. We are only 25 minutes drive from Tribhuvan Kathmandu International airport from where we provide airport pick up and drop off service. We are also 25 minutes drive to surrounding Kathmandu areas such as Bauddha Nath, Pasupati Nath and Patan Durbar Square.From our rooftop terrace you can watch the sunrise and sunset over Kathmandu Valley as well as dine in our restaurant.We cater to travellers and backpackers on budgets and our accommodation is cheap, clean and our service is warm and friendly, 24 hours a day. Our hospitality exemplifies our nation’s philosophy ‘Athiti Devo Bhawa’, ‘Guests are like gods’.Our staff speak fluent English, and some speak Chinese, Japanese, Hindi, and of course, Nepali.Hotel Silver Home offers:• 4 Deluxe Rooms (single/double beds)• 5 Standard Suite Rooms (single/double/twin/triple beds) • 6 Normal Rooms (single/double/twin/triple beds)• 1 Dormitory with 10 bedsThe hotel’s restaurant serves a variety of continental, Nepali, Indian, Chinese as well as vegetarian dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Silver Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing