We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”
Review of Hotel Silver Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Silver Home
Ranked #48 of 196 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
185 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here for our final night in Nepal after 3wks in Pokhara. At the start of our trip we stayed 4 nights in Kathmandu at another hotel and were disappointed with our US16 room. Finding Hotel Silver Home online and booking it for US9 inc breakfast (start of low season) our expectations were very low...............
However, what a pleasant surprise. Once the taxi driver finally found the hotel tucked away in one of the narrow streets of Thamel (advise you to bring ph number of hotel for directions). It was in the heart of Thamel but tucked away from the hustle and bustle and was extremely quiet. The room we had was large fan room with queen bed which was the comfiest we had in our month in Nepal. It was clean, yes of course it is a little tired, but had a great big window so was light and airy. For the price we paid we weren't expecting much for brekki but were served a full plate of omlette, toast, and fried mixed vege along with tea/coffee/juice, so once again impressed.
the staff were incredibly friendly, and with out a doubt we would stay here again. Like most jotels in a thamel you have to walk a few steps up to your room. Thanks for making our last night in Nepal enjoyable.

Room Tip: Web stayed room 301, had private bathroom, but there are also dorm rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nomadicnevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GapTraveler86, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Nothing can be more better than getting to read such fantastic reviews about our hotel, and to realize that the hard work we are doing to provide our guests a good stay in our hotel, have been beneficial for you. Sadly, there are several hotels, who fail to satisfy their guests, and meet their expectations, but unlike them, we give our best to provide our guests the best service, and reach beyond their expectations.

Deeply honored by your fabulous review !

Regards,
Hotel Silver Home,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    136
    50
    23
    20
See reviews for
27
86
258
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kanto, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Love to stay more night but my visa run out little pity at because of visa case. This place Amazing to spend night and most comfort beds and service in cheap price .
I had one single room about two nights was lovely experience with them. My room was clean and tidy up with free wi fi an hot shower every night and morning time.
I paid 800 rupees per night it's seems good price for me. Thanks for manage my service and last night room.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kellywan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GapTraveler86, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Kellywan76,

We really wish you stayed with us some more time, if it wasn't about visa issues. Nevertheless, we are very humbled that you took your valuable time, to write an honest review about our hotel. Our main goal, is to provide our guests with fantastic services, and reach beyond their expectations, in an affordable price. And as i can see, we have been able to do that, and it brings a smile on our face.

Cheers for your fantastic review!

Regards,
Hotel Silver Home,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kunming, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have been stayed about three nights at hotel silver home was nothing problem . We all are traveling from china for ten days holiday so we found this place most valuable for money and most helpful guys give you local information .
We have got room for three girls separate beds in triple was clean and hot shower in our room. Thank you very much for your help and arranging our room.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greenlady190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GapTraveler86, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

On behalf of our Hotel Management Team, we would like to express our sincere gratitude, and showers of thankfulness for your review. honest reviews, like this, help us move on, and continue working hard, in order to meet , or reach beyond the expectations of our valuable guests.

Thanking you,
Hotel Silver Home,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A quick search for cheap hostel style accommodation in Thamel Kathmandu turned up this beauty. Super Cheap, clean, central location and amazing hospitality. The dorm room is clean and the typical ware and tear you would expect in a hostel in Kathmandu. The beds are comfy and I actually had a HOT shower. That I didn't get at the much more expensive hotel that I stayed at with my tour. I highly recommend this hostel for the budget traveller. I will be returning for a few days before I fly home.

Room Tip: the budget rooms are dorms and cost a measly $3.00 AUD. Budget travel at its best!!!! Book online wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank MyKombiandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GapTraveler86, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Our management team is on the peak of joy, after reading this fantastic review. We have always ben trying to provide our guests, with fantastic services, and meet their expectations. Reviews like this, make us feel that our hard work has worked out pretty well. More services, in cheap price, is our main motto.

Applause to you for taking your time to write this review.

Regards,
Hotel Silver Home,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gangtok, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Came to nepal on a visit with my friends for 2 days.We chose this hotel for our stay, and we were very much impressed. Good food, hygienic environment, and extremely comfortable beds. Good hotel, in cheap price. A must visit !

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank xalorancorex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, 2 February 2015
Dear Valued Guest


We thank you for sharing about your stay at Hotel Silver Home and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We the Silver Home Team are delighted that we have made you feel warm Nepalese hospitality and it has been a pleasure having you as our guest.
Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we will try our best to create unique experiences and fond memories with a difference.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit soon.


Warm Regards
Hotel Silver Home
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quetta, Pakistan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

stayed here on a trip from pakistan and gotta say, better than any hotel we have in Pakistan! great place!! beds are incredibly comfortable and food - amazing! highly recommended to travellers and tourists!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hassen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, 2 February 2015
Dear Valued Guest


We thank you for sharing about your stay at Hotel Silver Home and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We the Silver Home Team are delighted that we have made you feel warm Nepalese hospitality and it has been a pleasure having you as our guest.
Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we will try our best to create unique experiences and fond memories with a difference.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit soon.


Warm Regards
Hotel Silver Home
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

What a fantastic staff in this hotel. They will never make you feel lonely here. Good wifi,plenty of hot water and they have very delecious breakfast. Thank you guys very much for your help. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FelixMch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thinair85, Manager at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, 2 February 2015
Dear Valued Guest


We thank you for sharing about your stay at Hotel Silver Home and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We the Silver Home Team are delighted that we have made you feel warm Nepalese hospitality and it has been a pleasure having you as our guest.
Our guest's satisfaction is our main concern and we will try our best to create unique experiences and fond memories with a difference.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit soon.


Warm Regards
Hotel Silver Home
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 196 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
0.1 mi away
Pariwar B&B
Pariwar B&B
#81 of 196 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.1 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#68 of 196 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#17 of 196 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silver Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silver Home

Property: Hotel Silver Home
Address: Thamel, Chibahal, Kathmandu 00977, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 196 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Silver Home 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Silver Home is located right in the heart of Thamel district, Kathmandu but in an enviable alleyway location away from the bustling crowds so you can relax after a busy day’s sightseeing.In the hotel surrounds are many restaurants, pubs, shops, and businesses and we are within walking distance to the main sights of Kathmandu such as Durbar Square, Freak Street and a short walk to the Tourist Bus Stop for services to other parts of Nepal. We are only 25 minutes drive from Tribhuvan Kathmandu International airport from where we provide airport pick up and drop off service. We are also 25 minutes drive to surrounding Kathmandu areas such as Bauddha Nath, Pasupati Nath and Patan Durbar Square.From our rooftop terrace you can watch the sunrise and sunset over Kathmandu Valley as well as dine in our restaurant.We cater to travellers and backpackers on budgets and our accommodation is cheap, clean and our service is warm and friendly, 24 hours a day. Our hospitality exemplifies our nation’s philosophy ‘Athiti Devo Bhawa’, ‘Guests are like gods’.Our staff speak fluent English, and some speak Chinese, Japanese, Hindi, and of course, Nepali.Hotel Silver Home offers:• 4 Deluxe Rooms (single/double beds)• 5 Standard Suite Rooms (single/double/twin/triple beds) • 6 Normal Rooms (single/double/twin/triple beds)• 1 Dormitory with 10 bedsThe hotel’s restaurant serves a variety of continental, Nepali, Indian, Chinese as well as vegetarian dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Silver Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing