We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent of Kathmandu”
Review of Hotel Silver Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Silver Home
Ranked #49 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Foshan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magnificent of Kathmandu”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed in July 2014 myself solo traveling over abroad south part of Asia. I found Nepal is fantastic place to spend holiday for backpackers and other tourist too. But most attraction things was my first night stayed hotel silver home awesome.
This place located in hub street is this unassuming beautiful historical hotel.
All works well condition during my stay. Anyway all were excellent service thank you very much for take care me.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Musiccookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GapTraveler86, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Our ultimate motto is the satisfaction of our guests, and we are extremely happy to realize that we are able in doing that. Feedbacks, such as this, help motivate us to improve our services, our management and provide even better services in near future.

Thank you for your honest review!

Regards,
Hotel Silver Home Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    140
    51
    23
    20
See reviews for
30
87
263
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chengdu, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

great hospitality of traditional introduce in central of kathmandu.been recently couple of nights with friends,they made me member of nepali family its love to be round the world with me.they do have free wi fi ,hot shower with tidy room .enough big space for three person.
for sure this must visit once you travel to nepal.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luzhau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GapTraveler86, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Luzhau,

It is our great pleasure to know that you are happy with our services, and you returned back safe, with all the good memories from Nepal. Nothing is more gratifying than knowing that our services benefited you, and we were able to reach your expectations.

Your feedback is a motivational factor for our hotel, for which we would like to send our sincere appreciation.

Regards,
Hotel Silver Home Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beromunster, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I spent all together more than a week at Hotel Silver Home. I appreciated the atmosphere and the friendly, uncomplicated staff. Cleanliness in the rooms could be improved. The big plus for a budget hotel is, that there was always hot water for a shower available. All in all, my favorite hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudiaSaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GapTraveler86, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Claudia,

We are truly humbled by your review, and we are on the heights of joy after knowing that you were benefited by our services, and warm hospitality. Customer satisfaction in cheap and affordable price is our motto. It gives us immense pleasure to know that we have met the expectations of our valuable guests. We would like to bring it to your notice,that your review, has awaken the new zeal in us, to work more harder and provide better services in near future.

Sincere thanks for your wonderful review !

Regards,
Hotel Silver Home Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xian
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

many many thanks for all of you team according our experience we love the hotel silver home.
we have got excellent hot shower wi fi and clean room during the summer time. front desk man always helpful and always attention on duty time.
specially love the kathmandu mess and busy feel like my back home.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sannmeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GapTraveler86, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Our management team is extremely gratified by your review regarding our hotel, as well our services. Applause for your honest opinions as well as the precious time you took to write such a review.

Honored to provide you with great services and reach beyond your expectations.

Regards,
Hotel Silver Home,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kep, Cambodia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I've stayed at Silver Home a few times now and I must say the staff there are extremely helpful and accommodating. The hotel is in a central location, has a great travel desk and most importantly a good vibe! Also if you stay in the dorm you get to warm up for your trek climbing the staircase a few times each day.
Again my thanks to the lads on reception making my stay so enjoyable and for your advice on well.. everything!

See you a.s.a.p

Paul

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 37Lavelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GapTraveler86, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Traveller,

We express our sincere thankfulness to you for choosing us, as well as taking your precious time to write this honest review. We are extremely honored to read your review, which made our hearts fill with joy and motivation to provide even better services and reach beyond the expectations of our beloved guests.

Applause from us, to you, for writing an honest review, and giving your opinions.

Regards,
Hotel Silver Home,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

we have been stayed hotel silver home about one week with my group friends.we enjoyed our stay there.there was good room with wi fi and cheap too.everything was excellent in budget price thank you very much see you next time.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wan87travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GapTraveler86, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

On behalf of our team here at Hotel Silver Home, i send our sincere appreciate of you and the time you share to write this review. Feedbacks such as this, make us proud, to strive to offer exceptional services and memorable experience. Thank you for your honest review!

Regards,
Hotel Silver Home Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrace, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Hotel Silver Home is an excellent budget-friendly choice for staying in Kathmandu. Centrally located in the chaotic backpacker district of Thamel, it provides easy access to all the shops and restaurants of Thamel. The rooms are decent and clean, the wifi is so-so (all the wifi in Nepal is less than spectacular), and the reception manager's exceptional English is a huge plus. Also, the man who owns and operates a trekking/travel agency in the bottom floor, Alex (Dipendra), is an absolute genius when it comes down to organizing treks in Nepal. He will set up all your permits, give ideas where to go, what to expect, what to pack, organize a guide, all for a very minimal 10% fee. Honestly, I couldn't imagine organizing this trek without the expertise of Alex. He is also a wealth of knowledge when it comes to all things Nepal - he organized our trip to Chitwan National Park as well and set us up with an excellent hotel to stay there. Can't recommend Alex's services, nor the friendly staff and accomodation of Silver Home Hotel high enough! I'll definitely be staying there again when I come back to Nepal.

From the Canadians - Pat, Cam, Laura, Anthony, and Courtney

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GapTraveler86, Owner at Hotel Silver Home, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

We would like to express our sincere gratitude for your honest review, and the valuable time you spent to write this review. We are very happy to provide you with exceptional services in affordable price, and we it makes us very proud to be able to make your trip memorable. It gives us immense pleasure that our efforts to provide exceptional services to our guests benefited you.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Regards,
Hotel Silver Home,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
0.2 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 203 in Kathmandu
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#4 of 203 in Kathmandu
541 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Discovery Inn
Hotel Discovery Inn
#122 of 203 in Kathmandu
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pariwar B&B
Pariwar B&B
#88 of 203 in Kathmandu
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silver Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silver Home

Property: Hotel Silver Home
Address: Thamel, Chibahal, Kathmandu 00977, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Silver Home 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Silver Home is located right in the heart of Thamel district, Kathmandu but in an enviable alleyway location away from the bustling crowds so you can relax after a busy day’s sightseeing.In the hotel surrounds are many restaurants, pubs, shops, and businesses and we are within walking distance to the main sights of Kathmandu such as Durbar Square, Freak Street and a short walk to the Tourist Bus Stop for services to other parts of Nepal. We are only 25 minutes drive from Tribhuvan Kathmandu International airport from where we provide airport pick up and drop off service. We are also 25 minutes drive to surrounding Kathmandu areas such as Bauddha Nath, Pasupati Nath and Patan Durbar Square.From our rooftop terrace you can watch the sunrise and sunset over Kathmandu Valley as well as dine in our restaurant.We cater to travellers and backpackers on budgets and our accommodation is cheap, clean and our service is warm and friendly, 24 hours a day. Our hospitality exemplifies our nation’s philosophy ‘Athiti Devo Bhawa’, ‘Guests are like gods’.Our staff speak fluent English, and some speak Chinese, Japanese, Hindi, and of course, Nepali.Hotel Silver Home offers:• 4 Deluxe Rooms (single/double beds)• 5 Standard Suite Rooms (single/double/twin/triple beds) • 6 Normal Rooms (single/double/twin/triple beds)• 1 Dormitory with 10 bedsThe hotel’s restaurant serves a variety of continental, Nepali, Indian, Chinese as well as vegetarian dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Silver Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing