We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home in Kathmandu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-la Boutique Hotel
Ranked #36 of 469 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2012

One of the most brilliant place to stay. Very friendly staffs + clean & comfortable room. All of the staffs speak quite good English and one of the manager even speaks JAPANESE very fluently so no worries about the language ;) Though this hotel is located in Thamel and takes only a few minutes walk to the main street, the place is very quiet and calm.
Lots of guests and the staffs here really love music which I'm also into. Sitting together and drinking tea and playing guitars with them on the rooftop is one of my most precious memory in Nepal. If you are looking forward to a hotel that really makes you feel like at home, this is definitely the place to go.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
Thank Miuk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2012

Shangri-la - a hostel with a heavenly experience where the staff and management are excellent. You can chill on the rooftop and get great food and drinks from the cook Neresh. Amit the Owner gives sound advice on all trekking trips and has good local knowledge of Nepal. Relaxed atmosphere with good ambiance be sure to check out the chill out room. Musicians are most welcome to jam with talented artists of Kathmandu. Location 2 mins just off the main junction of Thamel easy to catch a tourist bus to Pokhra and Chitwan. Be sure to visit and say Hi from Izzy to Amit..

Izzy - London, UK.

Room Tip: Different room for different price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izzy786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The customers service in this guesthouse is quite terrible. They dont have any respect or loyalty towards old clients...The bookings you do in this Guesthouse are not guaranteed because often they forget or if they sell the room to someone else for more money they can forget your booking. They often have problems with the backup for electricity. I also had a problem because they accused us of checking out without paying because apparently one of the employers stole the money we paid for the room...do yourself a favor a book somewhere else...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zen777_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We were made to feel part of the family, and immediately felt at home and comfortable with the wonderful friendly staff. It was a real haven in amongst the hustle and bustle of busy Kathmandu. The accommodation is perfectly adequate with a lovely rooftop restaurant and great food. The associated tour company Corsa Nepal Adventures, run by Nakul Devkota, quickly and efficiently organised a great tour for us to Chitwan National Park and on to Pokhara for some trekking. Everything went extremely smoothly and was professionally arranged with Nakul keeping in touch throughout the tour to make sure we were all OK. I thoroughly recommend the Shangri-la and Corsa Nepal Adventures.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleFish0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

I spent 14 days in Shangri-La guest house. Very good quality-price. I felt myself in secure and I could meet very nice people. I was there during the Dipavali festival and the employers of Shangri-La have become friends. They discuss with you, and they are helpful,
Clara, France.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c_thiersbis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Bomdelmaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank yiancc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Potala Guest House
Potala Guest House
#84 of 210 in Kathmandu
151 reviews
1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#93 of 210 in Kathmandu
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#19 of 210 in Kathmandu
648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oasis Kathmandu Hotel
Oasis Kathmandu Hotel
#1 of 210 in Kathmandu
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Oasis
Hotel Himalayan Oasis
#115 of 469 in Kathmandu
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-la Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-la Boutique Hotel

Address: Jyatha Thamel | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 469 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: £10 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shangri-la Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Boutique Hotel is a unique fusion of classical paintings amidst an urban atmosphere that perfectly captures the essence of Kathmandu, hosting guests from all around the world to share a space and indulge in conversations about their homelands as well as of their travels around Nepal. Located very centrally in the tourist hub that Thamel is, our hotel is tucked well inside, giving our guests a quiet sanctuary from the buzzing streets, where they can breathe fresh air from the surrounding greenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-la Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing