We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-la Boutique Hotel
Ranked #34 of 476 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Had a great stay here! I travelled with two friends (all girls) and we stayed in Shangri-la the first 3 days of our trip. Before we went to Nepal I already had contact with Sabin (the owner) by mail, he arranged the most wonderfull trekking for us! In total we spent 18 days in Nepal and he also was our guide in the mountains. Best host ever! Helpfull, friendly. Everything was super well organized! For the hotel, the rooms were quite big. Everything was nice and clean and the breakfast was very good!
If I ever come back to Nepal I will for sure come back here!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anoukvoorburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keshab K, Manager at Shangri-la Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012

I have been in Nepal for about a month, and stayed at the Shangri-la guest house for a little over a week. They were great in helping me to organize some Himalayan trekking and the staff is also very friendly. The rooms are quite basic so it's great if you are traveling on a budget. It is also in a (rare) quiet part of Thamel, tucked away from the main street. Overall, I highly recommend this guesthouse if you are a traveler on a budget!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keshab K, Manager at Shangri-la Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

Thank you for your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I really enjoyed my time in the Shangri-La Guest House. The owners are really friendly and open minded. They told me a lot about their life and how life in Nepal is. I learned a lot about the culture and the religion.
The hostel is a perfect place for backpackers between 18 and 35 and is definitely worth the money. They have a nice rooftop with a lot of plants, which is the perfect place for breakfast or taking a rest from the busy Kathmandu.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ursula112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I stayed for some weeks in Nepal and also spent some days in Kathmandu. I stayed in Shangri-la guesthouse before trekking, returned after the first trekking and spent some nights before I left Nepal. It was always very nice to come back to this place. The owners are really friendly, helped a lot to find my way through Nepal and tried their best to make me feel comfortable. The hostel is located in central Thamel (everything you need is in walking distance) but still very peaceful and quiet. The rooms are nothing fancy but you get everything you need including hot shower. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicOle9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Thamel is generally the place to stay in Kathmandu and I can't argue with that - it has everything a traveller wants and needs, but it can be a bot noisy, Luckily, on returning to Kathmandu after a trek in Pokhara we found this guest house located close enough to the amenities and buzz of Thamel but at enough of distance that it's quiet enough at night to get a good nights sleep. Rooms are spacious and clean and bathrooms have hot shower (we stayed in a room with attached bathroom - there are some without). The rooftop terrace is pleasant and the menu prices for food and drinks are reasonable although the standard is basic. Amit and his staff are extremely friendly and the travel services are worth using for a good price - shop around and get the best price and chances are the guys at Shangri-la will match whatever price you get. We did the mountain flight for cheaper than any of the travel agents on the streets of Thamel were quoting, All in all I would definitely recommend this place to any travellers. The price is very good. They have free wifi but this does go down with the power outages which last for many hours of EVERY day (not the fault of the guest house but something to bear in mind as the wifi isn't kept alive by the generator).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iammmattdoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

I stayed in Shangri la on two different occasions when in Kathmandu. I really loved the time I spent there. The areas really quite which is such a relief in hectic Thamel! Rooms are spacious and clean. The best thing here is the staff. Amit, Sabin and their crew do their very best fire you and create a lovely homely atmosphere. We spent many night on the roof top garden taking and having drinks. Would absolutely recommend staying here

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

by chance i booked a shared bathroom accommodation. the rooms are pretty small and dark, the smoke of the past years is in all the materials. the bathroom was rusty and awful... the staff friendly and helpful, yet charged the full night fee for earlier check out. too expensive for what they offer. area however is pretty quiet, what is rare in thamel, kathmandu. just opposite one can find a lovely guest house, imperial, for far less money. small, simple, yet super tidy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Violeta1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Potala Guest House
Potala Guest House
#85 of 210 in Kathmandu
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,295 reviews
1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#97 of 210 in Kathmandu
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oasis Kathmandu Hotel
Oasis Kathmandu Hotel
#2 of 210 in Kathmandu
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Oasis
Hotel Himalayan Oasis
#110 of 476 in Kathmandu
27 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kathmandu Boutique Hotel
Kathmandu Boutique Hotel
#3 of 476 in Kathmandu
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-la Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-la Boutique Hotel

Address: Jyatha Thamel | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: £12 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shangri-la Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Boutique Hotel is a unique fusion of classical paintings amidst an urban atmosphere that perfectly captures the essence of Kathmandu, hosting guests from all around the world to share a space and indulge in conversations about their homelands as well as of their travels around Nepal. Located very centrally in the tourist hub that Thamel is, our hotel is tucked well inside, giving our guests a quiet sanctuary from the buzzing streets, where they can breathe fresh air from the surrounding greenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-la Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing