We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Time with really good People in a peaceful Place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-la Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shangri-la Boutique Hotel
Ranked #48 of 431 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“Great Time with really good People in a peaceful Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

First i want to say: Thank you!!! I had a really good time with 2 Friends in Shangria!
The Food and the Service in the Restaurant is 5-Star!!! Thumbs up to all my Friends there! The Rooftop is also a nice Place to stay in the Daytime. But nothing overdoes the People in the Hotel!! Thank you Keke, Manoj and all the other good People in Shangria. The Dorm-Room is really nice for staying with your Friends in a cheap but Amazing Place. I will come back for sure!

I miss this Place! Thank You Again for the Great Time and see you all again !

To all the other Bagpackers, Traveller`s, Trekking guys, Couples and Familys....here you can find what you want.

I hope this Hotel will stay there for a long long Time!


Namaste <3


Greeets - JOJO ! :)

Room Tip: The Dorm Rooms are near to the Computers, the restaurant and near to the Rooftop!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johannes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keshab K, Manager at Shangri-la Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2015
thank you for choosing shangrila boutique hotel in kathmandu we are very happy to serve youb during your stay in our hotel we will be very happy to see you again again !!!

we will be very happy to welcome you with your friends and family in the near future !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    36
    15
    3
    10
See reviews for
7
29
52
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed in this hotel for 8 nights.

Pros:
Great location in thamel but first timer may need to spend a little time to find it. However, the hotel free transportation for their guest from airport to the hotel. So it saves the hassle of taking taxi from airport.
Friendly staff. The room is acceptable for the price we paid. Hot water supply was good in this cold season.

Cons:
Electricity supply was not stable. Being a frequent traveller to Kathmandu, we understand that the electricity supply in Nepal is not stable. However, the hotel can improve on their own generator as the current one is not working well. The hotel looks dark n basically there are no lights outside the hotel when short of electricity. The electric socket in the wall is not sufficient. There is only a single socket in the whole room and we have to fight for it when the electric supply is back. Our room is next to the common toilet provided to dorm guests and it was so noisy in the middle of the night as the dorm guests going in and out from the toilet and slamming the door. Though it was caused by the inconsiderate ppl but the hotel could do something to the door like adding door stopper etc to minimize the noise.

Overall you get what you paid for and honestly I will find another hotel for my next trip as I would like to explore other hotels with similar prices.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Yoga_Yong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keshab K, Manager at Shangri-la Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2015
thank you for your kind words to all shangrila boutique hotel family in kathmandu we are very happy to serve you during your stay in our hotel we will be very happy to see you again and again !!!

we will be very happy to welcome you with your more friends and family in the near future !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

I will highly recommend Shangri-la!
I stayed there my 4 first nights before i went tracking.
They have good knowledge about the different tracks and the things you should check out while you are in Nepal. The restaurant had a lot of good variety of food, i specially liked the napalese food they had.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forsater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keshab K, Manager at Shangri-la Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2015
thank you for choosing shangrila boutique hotel in kathmandu we are very happy to serve during your stay in our hotel we will be very happy to see you again again !!!

we will be very happy to welcome you with your friends and family in the near future !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Shangri-La Boutique hotel is wonderful with its paintings and orthodox architect .After we booked , we get an E-mail of airport picked up from airport .Owner greet us with a smile and asked us a welcome drinks Nice Masala Tea .Room of the hotel is warm which is wonderful designed with the different colours and wall painting of Nepali Mountain and faces.Bed is comfortable and relax full.Water is hot during shower and the breakfast is unique .We get fruits and fresh juice as well in the breakfast.What ever we want there we get quick from the staff with the smile .Wifi of the hotel is fast , I was really surprised as I get fastest internet in developing country.

Hotel had arranged our tour which was really nice and memorable . I will highly recommend this hotel .

Room Tip: Room which faced south is nice and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikolay z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keshab K, Manager at Shangri-la Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2015
thank you for choosing shangrila boutique hotel in kathmandu we are very happy to serve during your stay in our hotel we will be very happy to see you again again !!!

we will be very happy to welcome you with your friends and family in the near future !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonakilty, Ireland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I wanted to book a bit of a fancier of a hotel for our last night on our two-month trip. We found the Shangri-la online and went to go look at it shortly after. When we saw the room, it looked very nice, they offered a television, good WiFi, hot water and a rooftop restaurant with free breakfast. A couple days later, we checked in. The room they gave us was a different one. It still looked nice, but it had no television, the so called hot water was barely warm, and the WiFi only worked for part of the day. The next morning, we had our free breakfast, which was also a great disappointment. Boring white bread, orange juice from a can, and an unripe banana. The good thing I will say about this hotel is there is a really cozy bed, but that's about it.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

This newly renovated hotel is a travellers' delight. It is situated away from the busy Kathmandu streets but only a couple of minutes from the heart of Thamel. The service is excellent with everyone from the cleaning staff to the owner brightening your day with a happy "Namaste". The restaurant staff are very competent and provide lovely fresh meals from an extensive menu. It is easy to relax here and the friendly atmosphere encourages interaction between the visitors and the staff. The decor is bright and the rooms are clean and well-furnished. We will certainly return to the Shangril-La Boutique Hotel when next in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zanette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keshab K, Manager at Shangri-la Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2015
thank you for choosing shangrila boutique hotel in kathmandu we are very happy to serve during your stay in our hotel we will be very happy to see you again again !!!

we will be very happy to welcome you with your friends and family in the near future !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Me and my husband have stayed in this beautiful hotel and absolutely loved it! It's very new and clean. People are extremely nice, food is fresh and delicious, location is just right, very central!!
It's also cheap which is very good for many international backpackers. We met a lot of cool people from all over the world. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaLotlikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keshab K, Manager at Shangri-la Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2015
thank you for choosing shangrila boutique hotel in kathmandu we are very happy to serve during your stay in our hotel we will be very happy to see you again again !!!

we will be very happy to welcome you with your friends and family in the near future !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#64 of 190 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mustang Holiday Inn
Hotel Mustang Holiday Inn
#122 of 190 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dream Nepal Hotel and Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#3 of 190 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#38 of 190 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#20 of 190 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-la Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-la Boutique Hotel

Property: Shangri-la Boutique Hotel
Address: Jyatha Thamel | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 431 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shangri-la Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Boutique Hotel is a unique fusion of classical paintings amidst an urban atmosphere that perfectly captures the essence of Kathmandu, hosting guests from all around the world to share a space and indulge in conversations about their homelands as well as of their travels around Nepal. Located very centrally in the tourist hub that Thamel is, our hotel is tucked well inside, giving our guests a quiet sanctuary from the buzzing streets, where they can breathe fresh air from the surrounding greenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Shangri-la Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing