We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”
Review of Hotel Karma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kathmandu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Karma
Ranked #105 of 440 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Cheap hotel with very very good facilities. It was really good hotel, a very nice staff, they are very kind to, they help us in so many things to make it easier to traveling in Kathmandu. Just say what you need, they will done it for you. They provide you with a taxi and picked up from the airport free. Also there is wi-fi in every floor and 1 computer in lobby, which will help you to find information to traveling in Nepal or to contact friends/family in your country. In front of the hotel you have the possibility to get money from a ATM. This hotel is situaded in the heart of the city. I will always choose this hotel, if I ever come back again to Kathmandu.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    18
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
1
15
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

This building, the decor and furnishings are all a bit dated and you may feel you've travelled back in time, however the rooms are spacious, airy and bright.
The helpfulness and enthusiasm of the staff is the most welcome thing. With hot water and decent wifi and prime location it's a good choice for Kathmandu.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoneFishing81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Karma Hotel is a very friendly and clean place to stay in Kathmandu. The manager and staff are very helpful and always smiling :) my friend and I, we stayed there for 5 nights between 22 Feb-21 March. There was never a problem to leave some bags behind and collect them whenever convenient..we were picked up from the airport..the toilet flush did not work, but there was a bucket ready to use :) hot shower was a treat (specially after Everest Base Camp trek!!)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apsik7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Karma Hotel was a very clean hotel right in Tamel district in Kathmandu. The staff were very helpful when it came to changing money, booking taxis, etc. Breakfast on the roof top was good although not excellent. For Kathmandu standards it is a quiet hotel apart from the generator that is needed during the winter when there is not enough water to generate energy for the entire city for 24h each day.

Room Tip: The higher up the better and the nicer the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodhpur, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Hotel Karma was nice, clean, in a nice area (plenty of restaurant and shops) and a nice and helpful staff. We were in Kathmandou in winter time (December) and it was freezing! Well, don't expect any kind of heating system in the rooms, you will be really cold (our window didn't seem to close pretty well.) There is hot water, but sometimes, you may be disappointed by the small or inexisting amout of real hot water you will get. But, we managed our way with the cold and the shower, and at the end, it didn't really bother us anymore (we stayed there total one week.) Free wi-fi access in our room. And if you go to Kathmandou expect electricity breaks twice a day for about 5 hours!

Room Tip: You should get a room upstairs. The first floor is really noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zak G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drunen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We stayed at Hotel Karma on and off during our travels in Nepal. We did several treks and sidetrips to Pokhara and Chitwan and every time we came back to Hotel Karma. The staff is very friendly and helpfull and the hotel is very quiet overall. The beds are OK, the bathrooms are just fine and have hot water as long there's electricity. The hotel doesn't have backup power which is inconvenient, but that's just how it is in Kathmandu. They have WiFi, but in your room only on the 3rd and 4th floor (the access point is on the 3rd). Probably not the best value for your money in Thamel, but overall just a nice place.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 3rd floor (less stairs and good WiFi). The 'deluxe' rooms are the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SquirrelAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telavi, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Karma Hotel, off and on, for the two weeks we were in Nepal. The staff was the best thing about the place -- very sweet and helpful. The manager arranged a very cheap excursion for us in Chitwan. We were shown several rooms and decided which one we liked, and they put us in the same room every time we came back to the city. Breakfast was included and always served warm -- we had perfect mornings out on the beautiful terrace on the 5th floor. The price was great and the location couldn't be better.

Room Tip: If you don't like the room you are shown, ask to see a different one -- they were very accommoda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ED1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Karma Travellers Home
Karma Travellers Home
#46 of 440 in Kathmandu
198 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,508 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#51 of 198 in Kathmandu
683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
2.1 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Karma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karma

Property: Hotel Karma
Address: Thamel, Bhagawati Marg, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Karma 3*
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing